We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL worth the drive...”
Review of The Hacienda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jolon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hacienda
Ranked #1 of 1 Jolon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2013

To be honest, the drive is AMAZING to the hacienda...however if someone else was not doing the drive I never would have made it there...It is a serious white knuckle experience...beautiful but dangerous in spots. The Hacienda is a great piece of history. The breakfast provided is basic continental and the coffee is not great, but it is free. And the eggs are fresh hardboiled vs the bagged ones kept in a preservative solution that other hotels are using these days. The drive takes you through ocean views, the woods full of deer and then the peak that is flat and dry, but very beautiful. This time of year it was very peaceful and quiet. We loved our night stop. I recommend bringing your dinner with you, we did and it was perfect and convenient. There are spots of outdoor seating if your prefer to not eat in your room. Make sure you bring the code they email you in case you arrive on the weekend when staff is not around...you need it to get the key to the room.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I love one-of-a-kind historic places, and this lodge has it all. In the Tower Room with the Hearst/Julia Morgan features of hand carved shutters and doors, flower shaped windows, and giant wooden beams, I feel as if Errol Flynn or Jean Harlowe could be in the room next door. It really takes you back to another time. A ranch house with guest rooms, Hearst never finished the second wing, and didn't allow hunting on his property. Look for the historic Talavara tile art work at one hallway end. It is really an away from it all setting that has remained natural since it became part of the Hunter-Liggett military base.
There are only a few rooms with bathrooms-the tower rooms are spacious, with soft new bedding on a comfortable queen bed, table, wide screen tv, fridge and microwave, so bring your own food and drink. The cowboy rooms have bathrooms down the hallway. Breakfast is included and is in the main dining room. The giant hall has no food available but serves beer and wine, and was very quiet on this Friday night. A few military stopped in.
The views of the pastoral area are amazing, and the Mission San Antonio is just down the road and worth a visit, even if you do have to pass through security point again to access the mission.
The road is in the process of being repaved, and circles around the military base to a different gate. Call for reservations since there are few rooms, and if the office isn't open, you will be left a key in a lockbox. Details will be emailed to you. Cell service works great, but since the walls are poured cement, the free wifi didn't work very well in the room. Make sure you book in at the Historic Hacienda and ask for a Tower Room. 831-386-2900.

Room Tip: Tower Room D would be the quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Recently I have had an influx of people who have thought they had made a reservation at the Hacienda and apparently the number that is given on this webpage is incorrect. The number that is given is for IHG hotels on the Fort Hunter Liggett army base but is not for the Hacienda Hotel. The correct number for reservations for the Hacienda Is 831-386-2900. I am sorry for any of the confusion. There has been many disappointed people whom had thought that they were staying at the Hacienda and called for a reservation and ended up having a reservation at the hotel across street. Thank you -Suzanne Troupe, Hacienda Manager

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a great way to relax, it's simple, quiet and clean. We stayed two nights. During the day we drove to the coast and went to the beaches. We brought our food back to our mini-suite (had a refrigerator) and had our picnic there. The staff was friendly. The breakfasts are very simple at the Hacienda, but good enough to start your day.

Room Tip: Ask for the mini-suite or the larger apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yasubec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night during our California mission trip. Mission San Antonio de Padua is located on the army base (you don't need to go through security). The mission is beautiful and one of the best examples of the expansive property in which missions were built. The Hacienda was built for William Randolph Hearst in 1930 as ranch house. He commissioned Julia Morgan to design it in the California mission style. It is so well done that when we first drove up, we thought The Hacienda was Mission San Antonio de Padua! You will need to go through a security checkpoint to go to the lodge. Rooms include cowboy rooms (public restroom/shower), garden rooms (private bathroom), tower rooms, DVQ's , and mini-suites. All rooms include stove, oven, microwave, small refrigerator, kitchenettes and internet access. Complimentary "express breakfast" is included. Pets welcome with $25.00 deposit and a fee of 5.00 per day. Owners must have shot records for the animal.

Room Tip: Stay in a Tower room or one of the suites. The cowboy rooms have shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed for one night at the Hacienda, in a "cowboy" room (shared bathroom a few doors down). It was my first stay at the Hacienda, and my travel companion's second time there.

Overall, the lodge was as expected. Pretty and interesting to look at from the outside. Guest rooms are bare bones, but comfortable. There's a good enough breakfast spread included iwth the room, but other than that, there's no access to any satisfying food on the base, and my understanding is that it's many miles to drive to a place to get food elsewhere. Knowing this, I prepared food at home to be heated in the microwave for dinner, and we ate it in the bar -- we were happy with that arrangement.

The room was comfortable, but the facilities could have been a bit cleaner (coffee maker was not clean, and the bathroom was not as clean and well stocked as it was on my companion's prior stay.)

We stayed in early June, and it was HOT -- 108 degrees in the mid-afternoon. The rooms don't have air conditioning, but were surprisingly cool enough with the door open. At night, the temperature dropped into the 60s or so, so it was pretty pleasant.

There's a bar in the lodge, and the night we were there, there were some rowdy (non-military) folks in the bar. Around 2AM we were awakened by drunken shouting, which we weren't thrilled with, and since there's no on-site management of the facility, we had no recourse but to wait out the noise.

The army base is very quiet, and there's nothing really to do there. The men and women stationed at the base were all friendly and polite.

The only food we were allowed to access on the base was from the bowling alley -- they offer sandwiches for $5, pizza for $12-14, soda and beer. Not good if you're following a cardiac diet (as we were), so we were glad to have brought in our own dinner.

I'm not sure I'd stay there again, but I'm glad to have tried it once.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

One suggestion--make sure you are clear about the army base facilities available before you arrive. We misunderstood what was available to us and were ill-prepared. Otherwise, this is a unique property with historic ambiance, friendly staff, updated, beautifully furnished rooms with comfortable beds. It is also pet-friendly. The views of the Valley of the Oaks, and the proximity to a lovely California mission helped to make this a truly one-of-a-kind experience for us. If so desired, you can travel the Naciamento-Ferguson Road to the ocean, which is a narrow, 2-lane road filled with hairpin turns, rock slide areas and spectacular views. You drop down in the middle of the Big Sur Coast area. If you like scenic drives, this one is definitely a must-do to add to your bucket list! We stayed in Tower Room B and were very happy with the decor, and the space. In addition to the great bed...there was a sleeper couch and there were 2 closets.

Room Tip: Since the rooms are reasonable, I would suggest a tower room, or even a suite. Talk to the office in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adelaidetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda

Address: Building 101 Infantry Rd, Jolon, CA 93928
Region: United States > California > Jolon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jolon
Price Range: £34 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Hacienda Hotel Jolon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing