We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable layout, casual decor, secluded”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Joshua Tree, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jeb b
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
“Comfortable layout, casual decor, secluded”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in September 2011

The property is very secluded and fully fenced and gated. The house has a nice flow and good acess to the prive back yard with pool and hot tub. Very onvienent with two full bath rooms. Love the front porch and out door fire place - great place to watch the beautiful sunrises.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: kitchen aplliances
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRY38017
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed at Desert Palms and absolutely loved it. It's very private and so relaxing. We especially enjoyed sitting on the patio and gazing at the stars. If we ever visit Joshua Tree again, we will certainly stay at Desert Palms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaFor...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unique bungalows in the desert”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Joshua Tree Desert Retreats are perfect for spending time with friends and family when visiting Joshua Tree. I've stayed in Witt's End and Jackalope with groups of friends and family and both were really neat, thoughtfully decorated gems in the desert. It's like visiting a friend's place when they're out of town. Both houses have really nice outdoors areas for social gatherings. You feel like you're on your own private compound miles from civilization and it's so dark at night that you can see the milky way. Again, a great way to spend time with those you love. The people who run the reservations are also really nice and the organization seems really well run. After you make the reservations they send keys and directions directly to you.

The only potential downside is the distance. Note that both are off a dirt road (Jackalope is 2 miles off a dirt road, but Witt's End is a shorter distance), but such is the price of seclusion. They're great places to stay if you're visiting Joshua Tree, but you still have at least a 20 minute drive into the park entrance. But it's a nice drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice design in Jackalope and especially Witt's End. Fun art!
Liked least: No wifi.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2travelle...
la habra heights ca
1 review
“JDR Retreats, totally perfect desert hideaways”
Reviewed 10 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We have stayed several times at JDR retreats and the experience combines the best of both worlds. The opportunity to stay IN the desert with miles of incredible vistas right outside your door, complete privacy and immersion in the desert without all the hassle of camping. We looked for years for this combo and now only stay in these imaginative, completely and thoughtfully equipped houses. Each has terrific outdoor areas to BBQ, lounge, swim, and in the case of Zen-Go, play ping-pong and horseshoes.
The management is terrific and very helpful. I cannot say enough positive about our experiences. We are already planning our next trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Contrast of comfort and desert
Liked least: loved everything
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 27 October 2010 for a stay in May 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Reviewed 12 October 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Reviewed 17 August 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing