We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Fun, Serene & Altogether Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mojave Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mojave Sands
Ranked #3 of 3 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Fun, Serene & Altogether Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I'll echo some of the other reviewers and say I was torn about writing this review: with just 5 awesome rooms, my first instinct was to want to keep this place a secret! If you're looking for a beautiful, serene and altogether meaningful desert experience in Joshua Tree, look no further. Our suite had so many fun decoration details that we couldn't stop looking around. Did i mention the steam shower and the old record player? But i saved the best for last: the fun, passionate owner Blake, who'll make sure you know where to go if you know what you've come to find.. Blake is awesome, and so is the Mojave Sands Motel. Don't go anywhere else if you go to Joshua Tree, but please, don't go with your friends when I'm going, there are only 5 rooms! :)

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoatsAreForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

with almost no planning, our stay went exactly as planned. the design of the place was extraordinary. an artist's conception of a motel.
we barbecued in the large courtyard (with blake's charcoal). lit the large brazier and kept warm while drinking beers and staring at the stars.
later enjoyed hot showers and listened to old cowboy records, cuban music, and hawaiian songs on the scratchy turntable.
like Ira Ono's Volcano Cottage near Kilauea, the Mojave Sands is situated right near the entrance of a national park, allowing you to explore it, and come back to crash somewhere that's the equal of the park.
all the perks of camping (we watched the sun rise through our open windows from bed), but with comforts i'd associate with house-sitting for a tasteful and well-to-do friend.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank subaquatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

No corporate chain motel here. Perfect match to our JT experience! From the warm heater next to the toilet to the creative lighting, everything inside and out had a unique feel. Clean and affordable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We loved the big master suite. Worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCTexasTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were shooting a small art film in the desert. Blake let us use one of the rooms to relax in and change in, while shooting in the trailer behind the property. It was amazing! We also got the tour of the place. His attention to the smallest architectural and design details is unparalleled! I have never see anything quite like it! Each room is a true work of art, and each has artwork inside. My favorite room had a great painting by California artist Jesse Wiedel. I look forward to coming back and staying sometime for a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Mojave Sands is magical. I spent 4 days playing records non-stop, writing, and taking photos. The space is an incredibly detailed and a truly inspired / inspiring environment! The owner Blake Simpson is so generous and welcoming, he upgraded us to a beautiful suite where we enjoyed cooking and pretending to live in a different era, sometime between the 50's - 70's. I can't recommend this place enough, and wish it great prosperity. A pool is on it's way and will make it above and beyond perfection. I recommend waking up a little early to watch the sunrise play with all the glass figures and objects, so beautiful. Each room comes with good good coffee too :)

LOVE MOJAVE SANDS!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARISSA-MACIAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Mojave Sands Inn is an unassuming, unexpected taste of heaven in the desert. My friend and I drove in and was greeted by one of the very friendly staff, John. He was super helpful as was Dustin. Blake has had the property for 8 years working on it and it shows! Every part of the inn is well thought out and comfortable. The decor, tapestries, bathrooms are all elegant but fits perfectly in this setting. The furniture is chic, everything from the mid century pieces to the mojave theme. The dogs were a special touch as they were really friendly and loved to chill with us. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Mojave Sands is such a special place and I am so great-ful to have stumbled upon it... Everything about this oasis is magical and unique... The Mojave is located off the highway, and looks modest from the outside. Once inside the grounds, it is unlike any other place. Blake, the owner, has been working on this labor of love for 8 years and it shows in every detail of the place... from the curated curious objects decorating the grounds and constant sound of running water throughout to the unique decor of industrial- clean mixed with retro chic. The amenities were also top notch with a steam shower, kitchen stocked with german appliances and comfortable beds and beautifully designed rooms. Everywhere you look at the Mojave you will see something beautiful and unique.

Blake and his awesome staff (John and Dustin) made us feel totally at home.... Me and my friend loved it so much we decided to stay another night!! And I wish we could've stayed even longer.

I am already dreaming of the next time I can stay at the Mojave Sands!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grace1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
12.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mojave Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Sands

Property: Mojave Sands
Address: 62121 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-2319
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mojave Sands Motel is a 1940's motel that was taken apart and reconstructed. The doors, windows, bed frames, hardware and some of the furniture, were created either on-site or by local crafts people. Reclaimed wood, steel and other materials were used wherever possible. There are two large suites with kitchens and steam showers and three unique, comfortable single rooms with queen beds. Each room has a private patio and water fountain. Located right in the middle of town and only minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park, Mojave Sands provides a peaceful escape from the hectic pace of modern life, where one can come to recharge and enjoy the unique beauty of Joshua Tree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mojave Sands Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing