We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Pizza's by the slice or whole pie!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pie for the People

Pie for the People
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique Pizza's by the slice or whole pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice pizza and great location for grabbing a slice before going in/out of the park. By the piece or by the whole pie be prepared to open your change purse as this is not your $5 grab and dash. Let it be noted that their ingredients are fresh and unique. Do big box joints have fresh garlic, white sauces, sun-dried tomatoes.....???? I think not.

Their ovens and ingredients make for a wonderful pie, they chose Joshua Tree to home base so I'm happy to chose them for my next slice............ which is tonight!

Pros: Fresh Ingredients, nice menu, unique pies, custom configurations & wonderfully designed dining room.
Cons: Limited hours, pseudo pricey and no delivery and no booze license (but allows to bring your own)

Update:

As of 11/11 - Enjoy Happy hour every M-W between 1 & 4 pm. This solves the pseudo expensive per slice problem. Get your 2 slices and a can of soda for $6!

Quality continues to be excellent. Great selection, fresh ingredients and GIANT slices. Pie for the People is a great addition to our local cuisine and makes a trip to Home Depot mid-week more palatable (pun intended) with the new "happy hour".

Previous review mentioned "only game in town" which isn't exactly true. Sam's Pizza is available but pales in comparison. These are fresh not mass produced pies and I for one can tell the difference!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frimbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    61
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Not just delicious for Joshua Tree but delicious for home too. We only stayed in the area one night and went here for dinner. We customized our pizza toppings and it was excellent. We took left overs back to our hotel and ate them later. Lots of folks seem to BYOB and there is a liquor store across the street. They have indoor dining and patio dining. I will be eating here again without a doubt.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank polaroid-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Thin-Crust Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is an informal restaurant (order at the counter, they bring it to the table) with indoor and outdoor tables and fantastic thin-crust pizza. Lots of variety tending toward the gourmet. We had the caprese and it was one of the best pizzas we’ve ever had. No alcohol, so if you want a beer or some wine, bring your own.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MBTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutter Creek
2 reviews
“Better to be had but only game in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Overpriced pizza. Nothing different to offer. Like everything else in joshua tree it tries to be hip and artsy and doesn't live up to it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pizza that rocks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Some of the best pizza outside of New Yiork City - perfect crust, great toppings. Eating out on the patio is much nicer than indoors which can be noisy. Plus you must get the cannolis if they are available - deliciousssss!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pie for the People also viewed

Joshua Tree, California Desert
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 
Joshua Tree, California Desert
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 

Been to Pie for the People? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing