We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 3 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Most Amazing Weekend”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My family and I had the most incredible weekend at Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway. The property is an artists dream, and it backs up right to the back entrance of Joshua Tree. It's off the beaten path and so incredibly peaceful -- no one wanted to leave.
The room is so clean, cute, open and comfortable. Anything you would want, you have in your cottage.
AMAZING EXPERIENCE. Love them!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
152
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I found Spin and margies on tripadvisor, and hoped that all the positive reviews were right; and they were right on!! We stayed at the desert hideway for 8 nights, and found the setting, the room, the outside space and the owners equally delightful.We stayed in #4, a large room, with a kitchen and a GREAT bathroom, and private outside area, and found it well designed, charming, and really the best thing in Joshua tree. There are many outside spaces to relax in, lovely plants, even in February, birds, and a well maintained grill area; a first, in our experience! The grill was clean, and ready to use, and we did; when the weather is warm it is wonderful to be outside at night.
A few bits of advice. Pick up food, and your first nights worth of dinner, before you get to joshua tree( yucca valley, or before) as there is not much there, and its best to relax and not have to drive out again once you are there. We ate in 4 nights out of 8, as it was easier and more relaxing not to go out again. Breakfast in is a must, with such nice places to hang out outside.
It would be a great place for two or three couples to go, for the company.
It can be hard to find the road in at night; remember some land marks, and street names, so you can find the road .
"Spin and Margie" are delightful people, and make every effort to keep their guests happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayseak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The adventure of finding the place (not difficult, but not "Exit Whatever" off the interstate either) adds to the discovery experience. And what a discovery. I felt like desert sojourners of yesteryear might have felt when they came a cross an oasis (without, of course, any attendant "despair"!!!).
The look of the compound as you drive in immediately says "unique & interesting" and locating your waiting, open-door accessible unit speaks volumes about the gracious, trusting, open-hearted hospitality of its desert owners. Our unit, #1, was not only delightfully furnished, it was gleamingly clean and thoughtfully appointed to meet guests needs: complete kitchen ware, including condiments — we even found a small canister of good coffee awaiting us! Attractive attractive serveware and glasses from tumblers to flutes! Plenty of towels, shower amenities, plus comfortable beds and a generous array of extra warm blankets — with delicious heat, timed to kick in before you need it (no shivering on cold high desert mornings!). The unit (again, #1) we stayed in features a king bed in the main "studio" area, with a small adjoining bedroom, separated by a door (actually a pair of flat panel wooden doors that close shutter-style). For anyone who travels with and needs separation from someone who snores: trust me, the set-up keeps the peace between you and your travel partner! Altho the door seemed possibly too light, they actually were substantial enough, and the shared (adobe) wall is thick enough to allow undisturbed sleep. This was a wonderful experience. We feel like geniuses to have found it, and applaud the owners for creating this artful expression of hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

clean and open. full of all that your would need to cook. you can be warm or cool. the parking is close. it is a bit hard to find the sandy road but well worth it. great cable. outdoor spaces to sit. it has only 5 places so it is quiet and full of lovely folks.

Room Tip: our room was like a very large one bedroom apt. in NYC. it has everything you would need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggycosgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed in Room 5 which i believe is the newest one? It was modern and really comfortable, down to the details like nice soap, bathsalts, local photos on the wall, hilarious guestbook, note pad and pens... i like all these little things as they make the difference.
One suggestion, i found it quite hard to find the little road/driveway. It's really small and hard to spot when your driving 65 on the main highway it's pretty tricky to spot. I recon a bigger sign would make a big difference. Apart from that it was flawless!

Room Tip: Room 5 doesn't have a kitchen but it has a fridge and a coffee machine, as well as lots of extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LockwoodLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Spin and Margie’s is a quaint, comfortable and secluded Inn that is truly “hidden” away and quiet. It was the perfect place to stay and one of the highlights of our week long trip to Joshua Tree National Park at the beginning of January. We are from Alaska and this was our first visit to this amazing area. We chose Spin and Margie’s based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The Inn definitely lived up to the five star ratings and positive reviews left by others. We stayed in Suite #1 and my husband and I and our two teenagers were totally comfortable. The Suite was cutely decorated and had everything we needed. We had plenty of space and appreciated the well stocked kitchen, as it allowed us to cook when we didn’t feel like eating out. The Desert Hideaway grounds were also amazing –obviously a labor of love. We were so busy exploring the park and surrounding areas, we did not have a chance to relax in the courtyard or sit in front of the fire pit and gaze at the stars –next time. What we appreciated the most about Spin and Margie’s, though, were our hosts. They gave us a lot of valuable information and advice about the area, restaurants, reservations, etc. prior to our arrival. They left park maps and other information about the area for us in the room, and they checked in more than once to see how our trip was going and if we needed anything. We look forward to returning to this amazing place and I would highly recommend Spin and Margie’s to other travelers!!

Room Tip: If you have kids, stay in Suite #1. We were looking at a smaller room initially, and Mindy suggeste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bg0udreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Spin and Margie's. Welcoming, comfortable, cosy, beautifully appointed, well stocked, secure, private, great views, lovely grounds, .....can't say enough! and can't wait to come back again. It is well located, easy to get to. We felt completely at home there. There are many individual, personal touches in this well cared for hideaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
10.0 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
8.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
10.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
11.8 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway

Property: Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Address: 64491 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-5203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spin and Margies Desert Hideaway a hi-desert hacienda with four stylishly decorated suites and a contemporary stand alone cabin on five acres. Relax in the enclosed courtyard filled with native desert plantings and a soothing fountain. Just 5 minutes from the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. This is the vacation you have always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spin And Margie`s Desert Hideaway Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing