We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spin and Margies, what a great experince!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 3 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spin and Margies, what a great experince!”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We flew into Seattle from Stockholm for 3 weeks of work. When we where finished we headed down to LA for 2 days and rented a car and drove into the desert!!! As we started to drive up the mountain from Palm Springs we couldn't believe our eye's, what a landscape. As we drove through Joshua Tree for the first time we felt as we had gone back in time, a friendlier and nicer time! When we drove up the dirt road to Spin & Margies we were surrounded buy the warm colors of the buildings that make up the compound. We were greeted by Margie herself with great warmth and humor. We loved our own little building with a very private backyard with a fantastic view of the mountains. The room was just great with fantastic colors and all the right details, great bed, perfect little kitchen, Dvd player/ flat screen TV, internet that worked and very nice bathroom!
We quickly started to explore the fantastic Joshua Tree National Park with some great tips from our hosts. The park was fantastic for light hikes and easy climbs to very serious outings that we will have to try when we come back. There was good food shopping in the near by towns so we were able to have a few nice dinners back at Spin and Margies where we had a great Barbeque grill. There was a good selection of restaurants in and around Joshua Tree. We also found time for a some local shopping. We can't wait to go back and stay with Spin and Margie again.
Larry and Ann, Stockholm Sweden.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBoyStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
154
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We enjoyed staying here. Easy access to the park, food, etc but not located in the middle of the action itself. Very comfy room with lots of space to spread out. Tiny kitchen allowed us to make our own breakfast and eat in our pj's while watching the hummingbirds bathe in the little fountain in the middle of the patio. The network was down when we arrived but the owners got it up and running quickly. We could have used some housekeeping attention but also appreciated the absence of intrusion; I guess you can't have both.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2010

What a find! My girlfriend and I spent a week in Joshua Tree and found the accommodations spectacular, along with the rest of the natural beauty that surrounded us. The landscaping and cactus gardens are beautiful, and the rooms were clean, well appointed and charming. Inn keepers Mindy and Drew, seemed to have put a lot of love into the place, which is evident by the atmosphere they've created with color and decor of the rooms, to the quilts, blankets and towels, to name just a few of the unique and comforting amenities. Highly recommended; was the perfect base camp for our time in such a beautiful desert setting.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkjhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

First time in California and whilst planning our road trip from San Francisco to LA, we decided we needed some chill-out time and wow! did we get it! Nearly missed it as it's so hidden away. We were the only visitors during our stay and the memories of sitting around the table, eating and chatting in the darkness and silence of the desert was magical! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I have stayed here 3 different times and have been thrilled each time. The only bad thing to say about Spin and Margies is the accomodations are so great I sometimes dont want to leave for my excursions into the park. I sometimes end up just sitting outside and relaxing or reading. This is a great place to stay if you want unique, clean and comfortable accomodations just a couple of miles from the entrace to the park.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesLeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stay here - its a beautiful place. Rooms are tremendous, the folks running it are real nice, the gardens are just amazing, and its in a great
spot. Can’t go wrong! Whole trip was a much needed break from our hectic lives.
P.S. Joshua Tree National Park, in case you’ve never
been, is a wonder! Check it out.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This is the second time our family has visited this wonderful desert hideaway. We come out to the west coast every December to visit family around this time of year and a return trip to Spin and Margies was the one thing that everyone wanted or I should say demanded we do. This time we rented out three of the suites for our extended families and we had a blast. (FYI: #1, #2, and #4 - still can't decide which is our favorite.) We had a horseshoe and bocce ball tournament and sat outside every night around the firepit. As always the rooms are really really lovely, big, and clean as a whistle I might add. We all love this place ! Spin and Margie thanks again “We will be back” but you already know that.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elcaminonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
8.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
613 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
9.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
306 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
10.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway

Property: Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Address: 64491 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-5203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spin and Margies Desert Hideaway a hi-desert hacienda with four stylishly decorated suites and a contemporary stand alone cabin on five acres. Relax in the enclosed courtyard filled with native desert plantings and a soothing fountain. Just 5 minutes from the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. This is the vacation you have always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spin And Margie`s Desert Hideaway Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing