We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Joshua Tree”
Review of High Desert Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Desert Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overnight in Joshua Tree”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The motel is very close to west entrance to Joshua Tree Nat'l. Park. Though outside looked rather tired, room was clean, had usual amenities including refrigerator. Shower pressure was great... nice after dusty day in the park. A bonus: motel provided coupons for local eateries and we had the best pizza we've ever had (and we live in NJ!)... Pie for the People... Be sure to go!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Candace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    84
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
87
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We've stayed here several times, most recently in April, 2013, and have been pleased every time. This laid back hotel is a wonderful base for exploring Joshua Tree. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and the convenience and value are unbeatable. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkilgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREMONT
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Thanks to other reviewers we decided to try this place...had a spacious king bedroom...desk, chair, small table, 2 chairs, small couch, microwave, refrigerator. Very modest...no fancy furniture but very clean. It is on the highway so if you have a room near the road, the noise might bother you. We kept the air on low so the noise drowned out any road noise.

This place is priced half the price of the big chains so if you are on a budget and are not fussy about fancy drapes, wall decor, etc. try this place out. Oh...if you get a second floor room you have a nice view of the mountains. Location is central and not much in town for restaurants, but Yucca Valley is only 5 miles up the road and there is every kind of restaurant there. We ate at a Sizzler.

For us, cleanliness is the most important factor and we were very satisfied here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNMARIESFREMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Visited there two years back. Great location, clean hotel and the rooms are very spacious! Not far from the shops downtown and you get a great view from the surrounding desert. Can't really complain, especially for the price. Everything was a bit dated but definitely didn't mind considering it was so clean. Wifi works great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Very basic. Very clean. Very convenient. Great value for money.
Can't agree with the worst place ever comment. No undesirables to be seen!
If you need groceries travel towards Palm Springs a little way there is more variety.
If you have the chance try a burger at the Joshua Tree Saloon. "The best burger ever" according to my husband.!

Room Tip: Not a quiet place as on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Don't go here if you can avoid it. Definitely stay over the road, or anywhere else in Joshua Tree. If like us, you book late, and everywhere is full, then a) have a shower before you go, b) bring a lot of extra clothes (it is freeeeeezing and our heater just blew cold air), c) don't drink the coffee they leave in your room. The bed is hard, the covers are manky, the TV worked intermittently, and so on. Otherwise, brilliant.

Room Tip: Somewhere else, probably
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FasterCyrusKillKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Worst place ever! Do not stay here! Go down the street and get a better place. You might as well pay an extra 10 dollars and go to a different motel a couple miles down the road. I will not recommend this place to anybody. Worst experience ever...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterockaholik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
12.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
610 reviews
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
423 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
77 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Yucca Valley/Joshua Tree Nat'l Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Desert Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Desert Motel

Property: High Desert Motel
Address: 61310 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-1906
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — High Desert Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your High Desert Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing