We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and totally decent motel”
Review of High Desert Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Desert Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap and totally decent motel”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in a suite (larger room) in February 2014. The decor is not the newest but the place is clearly maintained and cleaned to a very high standard, and the suite beds are huge and comfy. We weren't disturbed by the highway noise, and enjoyed a good night's sleep.

If you're loking for dinner, try Sam's next door for a surprisingly good Indian.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    81
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
84
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is the quintessential American motel, like you see in movies with an upper and lower deck and all rooms facing the same direction. No swipe cards here but an actual plastic motel key for your room (retro! haha). For $65 a night, I thought it was great. Nothing fancy but all needs are met and we didn't have any complaints. We spent 2 nights here over the New Years Eve holiday and it was surprisingly quiet.

This is a great place to lay your head if you're planning Joshua Tree adventures as it's located very close to the park entrance. In fact, I think it might be the closest lodging to the road that leads into the park. Also, it's 1/2 mile from Joshua Tree Saloon (great bar), Crossroads Cafe (my favorite food in JT) and Natural Sisters Cafe (healthy breakfasts). Also, it's right next to a liquor store/mini mart which is convenient.

The staff were nice and they seem to care about the place, it showed in the upkeep. It's true, the beds might not be the softest and the fixtures are a little outdated and dingy, but open your door and you've got a sweeping view of the most beautiful desert landscape in the west. There is even a little pool (not in use during our stay as it was December). I would stay here again, as it's good for the budget traveler. The shower was great, everything was clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andromeda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had planned to stay in 29 Palms but the gate into Joshua Tree NP was closed, so we decided to stay in Joshua Tree
This is a great place to stay in town.
Right on the main road but very little traffic noise
Nice spacious rooms, very clean, fridge, microwave and free WiFi
You couldn't be much closer to the entrance to the park and there are some nice eateries close at hand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The motel is a nice place and conveniently located to Joshua Tree. Our room had a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and dining table which was a nice perk, and a huge bathroom. The room was clean and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is your very basic motel, nothing fancy but there was a fridge and microwave in the room and even a small swimming pool in the back. It did feel strange talking to the receptionist with a plexiglass wall between us, didn't think Joshua Tree was that dangerous, but he was friendly and efficient. Good place to stay when you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuckyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Joshua Tree is a very special place, and you'll want to experience its unique natural beauty as well as its crunchy-granola rock climber's lifestyle. When I come here (often), I stay at the High Desert Motel. It's right off the highway yet quiet, very clean and comfortable. A bargain, well-run and very much a fitting place to stay when you are spending your days among natural wonders and just want a simple, unfussy place to sleep. A block away is a fairly well-stocked convenience store, a super Indian restaurant and a smoke shop. Across the street is a terrific Thai place. You'll find it convenient, peaceful and a good bargain. I'll be there again next week!

Room Tip: I like the second floor, have even stayed in the room right a tthe top of the stair and it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
492 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights. The room was very clean and spacious. However the TV was very small and the pillows were thin and insufficient. They also regulate their ice machine and charge 50 cents per room bucket. They do provide you with tokens for one free bucket per night stayed. Half the ice misses the bucket so you end up with very little ice and a lot of annoyance. Nothing special but sufficient if you are passing through and need a place to shower and sleep.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gustav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
12.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Yucca Valley/Joshua Tree Nat'l Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Desert Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Desert Motel

Property: High Desert Motel
Address: 61310 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-1906
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — High Desert Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your High Desert Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing