We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just basics, but not bad!”
Review of High Desert Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
High Desert Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I like to go out to JT a lot, and we've stayed here a few times. This place really isn't that bad. It's just basics, a bed, a small tv, and a fridge, but it works. It's also the best price on that part of the strip. Yes, the heater is obnoxious and loud-but it works! No frills, noting special-but NO BUGS! Also, make sure to check out the Joshua Tree Saloon down the street, they have great food and drinks!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bre333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2009

You don't come here for a luxury night away. But for the money it was basic, clean and a comfy bed for the night before exploring Joshua Tree national park. The guy who checked us in was very friendly and gave us discount vouchers for a few local places to eat. Their internet was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fattima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

i booked based on the good reviews on tripadvisor. first the good, it is impeccably clean and basically right next to joshua tree nat. park. it was cheap at $75. free wireless internet.

however, the rooms are spartan to say the least. the wall unit heater was really loud and either made it too hot or did nothing at all. there weren't enough blankets to stay warm. when i asked for more blankets they gave us a sand-papery camouflaged tarp, something you'd cover your horse with. when in france... my wife sat down on the "couch" in the room and almost cracked a vertebrae because it was made of fabric thinly covering plywood. to put it nicely, the rooms could use a makeover, but at least they are very clean.

the guy behind the desk hides behind bullet proof glass and was rather cold and unhelpful.

if you're on a tight budget this is a good choice. if you can afford to pay a little more i'd stay down at the new Holiday Inn express in 29 palms.

the indian restaurant around the corner was okay (considering you're in the middle of the desert).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trickito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

The biggest risk with budget lodging seems to be that "budget" can end up meaning "cheap", as in low-quality. Not the case here.

Make no mistake: this is very basic lodging. The rooms have an almost institutional feel, with cinder-block walls and commercial carpeting. There aren't any frills, and design is minimal, to say the least.

But the rooms aren't skimpy. In addition to what you'd expect - a bed, a table or two, a bathroom and a small TV - there are nice additions like a small refrigerator, a small microwave and a coffee maker. The bed is comfortable (other than the too-thin pillows, which is a problem even expensive hotels have), and the rooms are quieter than expected given the materials and being right next to the highway.

Best of all, they're clean and maintained. Nothing in my room was broken, and everything looked like it had been properly cleaned before my arrival.

Location is good, with only about a 10-minute drive to the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. If you're not going to camp in the park, and you're looking for basic, economical lodging, the High Desert Inn is a safe bet.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tef5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I have spent one night here in Jan 09. I didn't have a booking, but I suspect that if you show up not too late in the low season (and midweek) they'll always have rooms as they are the biggest motel in town.

Rates were very low (U$ 49 for a single), room was clean, with big bathroom, fresh towels, microwave and complimentary coffee. They also advertised in-room internet access, although I didn't get to try.

You may get some traffic noise as it's close to the road, but then, most motels in town are. You're about 15 minutes drive from the park's entrance here.

All in all, very good value, and a no-hassle experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rafkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2007

Stayed here for one night in September 2005. All you need for a comfortable overnight stay. We booked this motel through a ---.com. via the internet as we could not find availability anywhere else at this time. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised as the rooms were clean and well presented equipped with microwave, mini-fridge etc. all for approximately $52.00/night. Good local restaurant/bar just down on opposite side of highway. Good area for climbers. Would recommend anyone take a look!

Don't be put off at the reception/lobby as the owner may take a little while to answer the bell.....

Stayed: September 2005
3  Thank DJRangoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FrancescaM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
12.7 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
672 reviews
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
6.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
448 reviews
15.2 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,241 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Desert Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Desert Motel

Address: 61310 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-1906
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range: £41 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — High Desert Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your High Desert Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing