We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay near Joshua Tree N.P.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Not sure why but the vibes from this basic hotel were wonderful.
Rooms were very clean, soft white paint, and king beds extremely comfortable.
Maybe it was the soft demeanor of the owner, Ravi.
In any case, highly recommended for a relaxing place to stay near J.T. Natl. Park.
Very very reasonable.
We stayed 3 nights.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

As a long time outdoor photographer I visit Joshua Tree National Park often each year for a very long time now.
I'd stayed at a few places in the earlier years and found that my brief trips and quick access to the park were not working that well for me. Only by chance did I find the Safari Motor Inn as a result of shopping around for what I needed. As a I result I contacted Ravi & his wife the owners of the Inn and I have remained a loyal customer of theirs since that date. They are both extremely friendly folks to all visitors.

I have always found the motel very clean and quiet each time I've been out in that area. The easy national park access, only a block from the Park Blvd., is a necessary item for me to complete my timely work in the park during sunrise and sunsets each day I'm there.

If you're looking for a nice place to stay during your trip to the area I've found this works best for me all around.

Room Tip: I've stayed in almost every room there at one time or another, all work just fine for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stay here every year. The place is clean, safe and well managed. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Not the "Ritz" but simply an affordable, great, comfortable place to stay. Excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshuaTreeNPfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Knew it was going to be interesting when the check-in included passing info between bullet proof glass... The room was dingy and dirty. The sirens of ambulances going to the nearby hospital fortunately diminished as the night wore on. I dont think one would plan a visit here... But the pickings are pretty thin and the best part was they didnt gouge on the nightly rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayPays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

This is your traditional older "motel" that has been patched and repaintef many times. Likely built in the 50's with light green and black tiles in the bath and other decorations of that era. It is "Indian" owned. The check in was fine, the owner was very nice. If you are just looking for a bed, shower and roof over your head near Joshua Tree NP, then this place will do just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCFOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We can only agree with most reviews here already posted: a super clean and comfortable place to spend the night on a low budget. Owners are wonderful, friendly, dedicated and attentive. Save yourself a drive to go look any further and enjoy a great night sleep in comfortable king-size bed. As mentioned by others, it is dated regarding furniture and looks, but everything works and is clean. Flat-screen TV (we did not use, though...) and wifi. Parking in front of your door. Walking distance to several eateries, such as the Saloon, which has very good & fresh food.
If you like good food and coffee, this little funky town has more to offer than Twenty-nine Palms! Check it out...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here based on recommendations from Tripadvisor and it's as described by others. Very basic, but clean and comfortable. The owner was indeed very helpful suggesting places to eat and recommended a sunset visit to the park. It turned out it was a great idea to see things at sunset as the dynamic is pretty impressive. We would not have done it if he had not recommended it, but sure glad he did. We stayed on a Monday evening, and the room rates were somewhat "negotiable" from the listed rates - YMMV.

We'd gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morris91030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
11.9 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
668 reviews
7.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
447 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
317 reviews
15.7 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree

Address: 61959-29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range: £43 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEAREST Motel to JOSHUA TREE National Park w. Entrance & visitor center,(Only 1 block)LARGE POOL (summer). All Rooms are ground floor.FREE coffee & wifi in rooms. Friendly service.Free local town map for restaurants.Open 6.A.M. To 11.30 P.M.Arrangement for guests late night arrivals.We have 8 restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motor Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Motel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing