We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING SERVICE! Only place in Joshua Tree I'll ever stay again (other than camping in the park)!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Ravi, the proprietor of this establishment, is the best host one could ask for. Very courteous and goes out of his way to help you out. The price for a room is also the best in town (at least that I could find). So close to the west park entrance, Crossroads, etc....what more could you ask for. I'll definitely be staying here again. Oh, and very climber friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2009

I have stayed at the Safari Inn, a classic roadside motel, many times while building a house in Joshua Tree. Friends and relatives visiting the National Park (only a few minutes away) have also stayed there. It's right in the "town" of Joshua Tree, walking distance to its few restaurants and the local saloon, National Park Visitor Center, etc. The rooms are plain but clean and comfortable. There is a large pool. The best things about the Safari are the proximity to the Park and the wonderful, helpful, friendly proprietors who really leave you feeling you've visited Joshua Tree. Nothing fancy but an excellent value in the hi desert.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pottree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This is my first time writing a review, and I'm doing so to basically thank the owner and his wife for their kind service. I didn't expect much for a $44 room, but I was pleasantly surprised to find the room clean and neat with a microwave, frig, and cable TV. It's obvious that the owner and his wife really put a lot of love into this place. The owner was so nice to me when I came in early. I couldn't check in early, but he put away my food so that it wouldn't spoil. I was worried that it might be noisy due to traffic, but I got a room in the back and it was pretty quiet. The location is perfect as it's only a block from the road that leads to the park entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glaciermelting, General Manager at Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Appreciated for review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This place was built in the 50's and still had the original tile in the bathroom.
The way the rooms are set up, we only heard noise from the hwy.
We had a king that was comfortable and the room was not too small.
I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glaciermelting, General Manager at Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Mr./mrs/ms. Appreciated for your review

Ravi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

True, this is not the Ritz, and does look a bit weary from age (it reminds me of the places our family stayed as we traveled across the country in the '50's) but it is very clean, the beds are very comfortable, extremely quiet and right outside the park and we couldn't find a better price in the area. We were there to hike in the park, not stay in a resort, so for us it was great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

On arrival we knew that the building was in need of renovation and we did n't get a great vibe from the surrounding area. Boarded up Windows on the house opposite, on check in the owner was sitting behind a security partition like in a bank !! There appeared to be a mixture of tourists and long term people staying there and we were not put more at ease by guys hanging around looking through windows at the Motel. Sadly inside the Motel it did not get better, the bed covers were dirty, the phone (which was restricted to 911 and local) was sticky, the bathroom was not a place where you wanted to hang around.

It is close to the Joshua tree park entrance but when we visited the park we exited from another entrance at 29 palms. That area seems to be nicer than Joshua tree and has more eating options.

A shame that we stayed at this Motel as the Joshua Tree park is very interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

You get what you pay for. Not so clean, and refrigerator needed to be plugged in. The pool was scuzzy. But on the bright side, service was friendly and the location was very near the park entrance (though not walking distance to food or drinks).

Would have been much nicer if there were a place to sit outside.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modern_Art_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
11.9 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
672 reviews
7.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
448 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
319 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree

Address: 61959-29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEAREST Motel to JOSHUA TREE National Park w. Entrance & visitor center,(Only 1 block)LARGE POOL (summer). All Rooms are ground floor.FREE coffee & wifi in rooms. Friendly service.Free local town map for restaurants.Open 6.A.M. To 11.30 P.M.Arrangement for guests late night arrivals.We have 8 restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motor Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Motel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing