We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Booked here based on trip advisor reviews..... they were too kind to the hotel.”
Review of Joshua Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joshua Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This area has very inexpensive hotels. I booked here thinking it would be very charming as it was not cheap. Big mistake. Ok location, bad service, yard sale furniture, and dirty ashtrays everywhere. Terrible coffee and tea. The mattress was fine but the room was bare bones and the furniture pretty sad. Tv had 13 channels. Pool was nice. We would not go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ski R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtinn, Guest Relations Manager at Joshua Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

We understand.
Why stay at a legendary Inn with Zen garden, Koi pond, three acres of desert, huge pool, lounge deck and cultural history, when you could have stayed at a cheap motel?

We don't understand why you didn't switch the remote from "TV" to "Cable" for more channels,though.
Or why you don't care for freshly brewed Yerba Mate leaf tea. Or why you didn't brew a fresh pot of coffee in our dining room.

Happier Trails to You,
JT Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This motel is near the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. Staying there made me feel like I was a groupie from 20 years ago. Indeed Gram Parsons did die here, and you can pay extra to stay in his last room. The property is huge, with private patios for each non-cookie-cutter room, an area with a fire pit,a breakfast/game room, a very large pool with good-enough furniture, and a lobby with some rock n roll memorabilia. The rooms are clean and include extra towels for use at the pool. It was not very busy. Breakfast was granola bars and coffee, which was good because the nearby restaurants were not open for early breakfast. Very calming, but just a little unnerving.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CityHiker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place is very simple and wonderful. Everything is very laid back and you could imagine it was 50 years ago. It's lovely having your own patio. And there aren't words to say how beautiful the scenery is. The staff was really nice and helpful. I would love to stay there again someday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in the Gram Parsons Room 8. It was really more for my boyfriend, a musician and huge Gram fan, but I totally enjoyed it myself. The surroundings were beautiful and the pool was large, crystal clear and a great place to spend a hot day. We loved having a little private patio to drink wine and look at the stars. We borrowed glasses from the front desk - so nice of them to offer glasses when they saw us with our wine bottle! We didn't stay long, but it was a very peaceful and relaxing stay. We loved the motel style and all the history of the JTI. We hope to be back to visit soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Joshua Tree Inn is a beautifully maintained historic property near the western entrance of Joshua Tree National Park. This is not a modern hotel. The rooms are small and quaint with loads of character. You will not find modern amenities like jet tubs but what you will find is a peaceful spirit and beautiful grounds to enjoy. The staff is very helpful and friendly. With a tiny bit of attention (for example, our mattress was a little uncomfortable) I would easily think the property would be worth five points. It is exactly as advertised...a peaceful oasis to unwind and get away from the business of life.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the room in which legendary musician Gram Parson passed away. If you are a fan I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Fox Bungalow which is 4 miles away from the JTI. When we first walked in, I was a bit deflated. The room itself is much more worn than it appears on the website, the vibe was tired and unkempt. The bed comforter had stains. There was red paint peeling off the floor. The bathroom carpet was tattered and looked unwashed. On the outside porch, the furniture/cushions were strewn everywhere. And, I would guess the porch had not been swept for at least two months.

When I called down to the JTI to ask where the room safe was and the front desk woman told me, "we don't have safes for valuables. If you want a safe there is a Walmart down the road. You can buy one there." This conversation epitomized the attitude I felt during my whole stay, lack of service, lack of attention to detail, lack of caring---but with a hefty nightly price tag---hefty enough to legitimize one's expectation for more.

That said, the grounds around the bungalows are beautiful. The pool was our favorite hangout spot. If you just hang out at the pool, stare at the landscape and the stars you will soon forget you are paying over $200 dollars a night for $75 dollars a night service levels and accomodations. Don't linger too long though, the JTI charges you $25 for every hour you stay after your 11 AM checkout.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CliveJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtinn, Guest Relations Manager at Joshua Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for noting the great wilderness location,the beautiful pine-studded setting and awesome pool area.
This privately owned cabin,on the edge of the National Park,is booked through the Joshua Tree Inn at $169.00 per night (not $200.,as you stated). There are no hotel services,like a safe,because it's a wilderness cabin,not a hotel.
We are sorry that our strong high desert winds blow cushions off patio furniture and pine needles onto the porch.
We very much care about the cabins we book. We will let the owner know that the floor paint needs attention and that the bath mat needs replacement.
Happy Trails to you,
JTI Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at Garske Manor which is a privately owned vacation home booked through the inn. What a wonderful place to stay. It's pretty much a dream home. It's close to the Park entrance in Yucca Valley, downtown Joshua Tree, downtown antiquing/thrift store shopping in Yucca Valley, and close to Pioneer town and the world famous Pappy and Harriet's. This is all of course given the fact that you actually want to leave the property of Garske Manor. This place is amazing and beyond words. It's spacious with a nice open floor plan, can sleep several people, it's got a Jacuzzi, the kitchen has nice big counter top made for those who love to cook on the road, and the architecture bring you to a place of the wildest dreams. It sort of reminds me of a mini Winchester Mystery House. This is a fantastic retreat for artist, musicians, writers, friends, and those who just want to escape from it all. It has a great all around view of the high desert. When Frank Garske built this place, he sure had a true vision of beauty. You will not be disappointed! I am a regular guest in Joshua Tree and always love staying at the Joshua Tree Inn and go there for almost every vacation. There was no other place that I would want to stay until I tried this. I will be staying here again in the future. This is a place dreams are made of.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtinn, Guest Relations Manager at Joshua Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
As the booking agent for Garske Manor,we are so delighted that you enjoyed the accommodations . It truly is a unique, hand-built, artist designed vacation house like no other.
Happy Trails,
JTI Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
12.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
667 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
82 reviews
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
447 reviews
15.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joshua Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joshua Tree Inn

Address: 61259 Twentynine Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range: £64 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joshua Tree Inn, built in 1950, is a Hacienda Style inn conveniently located just six miles from the grandeur of Joshua Tree National Park. The Inn has long been known for the warmth, charm, and comfortable lodging it provides for guests visiting California's extraordinary Mojave Desert. The Inn is laid out in a square horseshoe that provides privacy for all of our guests. All of our eleven rooms are on ground level, facing our desert courtyard and large pool. Our decor is eccentrically eclectic. The Inn is the site of the legendary Gram Parsons Room, where the beloved and respected musician/songwriter spent his last hours. Room 8 still offers a quintessential "Cosmic American Experience" to fans of the father of Alt-country rock. On the peach colored wall hangs the same mirror and picture that hung in the room back in 1973. The Joshua Tree Inn features a large swimming pool, as well as our peaceful zen courtyard & koi pond, plus dining room access & gift shop. We also provide complimentary coffee, tea, & morning snacks for our guests.All of our charming rooms include: Private Patios ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joshua Tree Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing