We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We rarely stay at a place more than once, as we like to experience new finds. The Eaglenest is an exception. Just returned from a fun and relaxing time this weekend and will definitely return for another stay. This was our second time there and it was just as magical as our first. Jim and Julie are the perfect hosts, making everyone feel very comfortable and at home. Also love the dogs, the food (!) and the spotless, homey surroundings. You've got to go, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lacewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
108
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in the Spring room (top-floor room with quite a large bedroom and separate generously sized living room). It was a great, comfortable place to stay. Breakfasts were excellent -- yummy pancakes, tasty quiche, baked apples, pork or turkey bacon. The three golden retrievers are super friendly and great social icebreakers. The hosts were very warm and went out of their way to find dining options and make reservations for us. Room includes a small fridge and a DVD player with the entertainment system. Included Wi-Fi was fine. I don't see how you could do better than this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

You would think we were members of the family or being paid to exclaim the joys of Eaglenest, but we're not. Well, we DO feel we are a members of the Eaglenest family of repeat guests, but we're simply writing to share with you what a wonderful time awaits you at this premier B&B in rustic Julian, CA! Jim and Julie Degenfelder with their, now, three golden retriever ambassadors are the consummate hosts. They do it right in every way from the luxurious, microfiber towels in the bathroom to the delicious breakfasts which set a standard for other B&B's to reach for! Treat yourself by coming here for at least two nights so you can revel in the loving kindness of these fantastic innkeepers and the wealth of wonderful memories you'll create with Eaglenest as your 'base of operations' in Julian!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a wood burning fireplace, ask for the Winter Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vancelot44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the Eagle In The Pines cabin that you can rent from the owners. It is 2-3 miles outside the downtown to the east, separate from the main hotel. Very cozy! Clean, two wonderful bedrooms and attached bathrooms. Beautiful furnishings and tile. Small but fully equipped kitchen that is perfect for making meals to eat at the nice dining table. Nice view from the front deck. Very private. Just a wonderful stay! Perfect for two couples, but reasonably priced for just one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalosVerdesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

One night stay early November after a very enjoyable and educational visit to the California Wolf Center just a few miles away. Jim and Julie are excellent hosts who provided an exceptional breakfast in very comfortable accommodations filled with sweet treats and three lovable golden retrievers who are friendly and considerate. Located very close to the center of town yet still very relaxing. The wood burning stone fireplace in the Winter Room was setup so that it was very easy to start and maintain. Each room has a binder with extensive information regarding the surrounding area. Jeremy's on the Hill is a very good for lunch or dinner, a short drive away.

Room Tip: In colder months, the Winter Room is hard to beat. For space and comfort, the Spring Room but it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AggieRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our family enjoyed this lovely bed and breakfast in Julian for the first time last week-end. We were not disappointed at the setting, views, and common areas. Especially great in my opinion for families. We filled the house and were welcomed by Jim and Julie with such warmth, you would think we were long lost friends coming home for a reunion. There are just 4 rooms. Comfortable beds, fireplaces, private decks and lounging. Wonderful barbecue area and swimming pool. Twas not the season for the pool this time, but I can certainly see a return visit in the summer months. One last hint for you.....the food is exquisite! Best that we have enjoyed for breakfast in Julian.

Room Tip: the common area and one room is on the second level. All rooms are nice, named by the seasons. Easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluewatergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place is a great escape. Jim and Julie make it a great experience. The Winter room has a real fireplace they ready everyday and is a real treat. My wife had a massage and really enjoyed it on the porch.

Jim and Julie make a great breakfast and will do anything to make it a great stay.

If you have been to Idyllwild and been disappointed, Julian will make it a true country experience.

We will not go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Winter Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Same K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.1 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
84 reviews
18.0 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2609 D Street, PO Box 2513, Julian, CA 92036
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Victorian Bed & Breakfast home in the Historic Town Site of Julian, California, just one block up from Main St. Four Bedroom suites offer privacy and comfort, all with full baths, entertainment units, coffee and tea service, and comfortable seating. The rest of the home and property is yours to enjoy, the living room, dining rooms, decks with views, Pool and Hot Tub, and a number of wonderful outdoor spaces. A full country breakfast is served every day, and fresh baked desserts are provided during your stay also. Resident Golden Retrievers set the tone for a fabulous stay in Julian! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing