We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversay Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Anniversay Getaway”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The Wikiup Bed and Breakfast was such a special treat. We did the Rub, Tub, and Grub. It was amazing. We were treated to a carraige ride in town, then a very delicious and romantic meal at Jeremy's on the hill. Then we went to breakfast. Linda had set a beautiful table and her food was amazing. Linda is a amazing cook. Both Lee and Linda were great. They went out of their way to help my husband get flowers and cards (he forgot his) for me on our Anniversary. They really helped make it special. It truley was a amazing and relaxing trip. We plan on bringing our parents here soon. You will totally enjoy your stay here. All of the rooms are different. We plan on staying in each one of them. Thanks Linda & Lee for making our trip so wonderful.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
114
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a lovely find this was!!! I had stumbled on Wikiup after my first choice of a B&B at Julian did not have any available rooms for the weekend. But I (and the other 2 people in my party, my son and my boyfriend) are SO glad we ended there instead! Peaceful location, comfortable themed rooms, accommodating hosts, delicious breakfasts...Wikiup must be experienced again and soon!

Lee and Linda, the proprietors, were excellent hosts. Linda's breakfasts, served on beautiful china, were a feast to the eyes and to the stomach. They were a delicious way to start your day exploring Julian or just simply relaxing on the peaceful premises. We stayed at the spacious Southwestern-themed Pueblo room---gurgling fountain at the entrance, sunken bathtub, and a Native Indian fireplace made the room feel very cozy at night (the weather got a bit nippy after the sun went down). They even placed an extra bed to accommodate my son who came to join us for one night during our stay. The room was full of wonderful little details, from the little knick-knacks which completed the Southwestern atmosphere, to the more practical: wonderful fresh ground coffee for your use and a mini-fridge for storing that delicious Julian apple pie you're bringing to the folks back home. Perfect!

It was a sudden decision to head to Julian that weekend, but all events just seemed perfect for it: my son, a student at USD, just finished his last exam, my boyfriend just returned from a work conference in DC, and it was Mother's Day weekend (hint, hint). We decided on one activity to do together, one which starts and ends at Wikiup (think convenience and fun)----llama trekking. The llamas are on the premises for you to feed and look at, but I'll have to say that the real experience was in going on a trek with them! We each had one llama to handle and it was hilarious to find out about what they can do and experience their little amusing idiosyncracies! Let's just say Scottie (one of the llamas) was my guy!!! Lee was a fantastic guide and such a base of knowledge about Julian's then and now! We are still talking about the trek and recommend it highly for a different experience in Julian.

We're all planning a return trip very soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good---just would depend on the mood you're in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinnaJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelan, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in the Stargazer room. Very cute and unique. It was very private. The breakfast was wonderful and very filling! We didn't need to eat lunch! Linda is a wonderful cook and hostess. The great room where you gather to eat is very beautiful. The property is very beautiful and green. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. You will have a wonderful and relaxing time. We will be back.

Room Tip: Stargazer room is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLoriP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I agree with the person who said this B and B should be rated number one. It is very, very clean and decorated in a way that made you feel at home. Our room, which was the Pueblo, was spacious, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. I don't think the pictures do the B and B justice. They just can't capture the feeling of the place or it's atmosphere. The best word to describe it would be tranquil. We had all the beauty of nature around us while also being totally pampered with great food at breakfast and tasty cookie and cake treats in the afternoon. We highly recommend a visit to Wikiup!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miamiy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What a wonderful place Linda and Lee have! The rooms are cozy, romantic and well stocked.
The llamas are fun to feed and are well cared.
But.......
The breakfast is just out of this world! In the beautiful common area dinning table Linda served home cooked french toast and a bacon and vegetable frittata with savory coffee and sweet juices.
The after meal conversation very enjoyable.
My family and I want to return soon.
Don't miss out on Wikiup.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VicenteGPrimero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have stayed in many B&B's, and Linda and Lee are by far the best innkeepers anywhere!

The Wikiup is unique, each room having it's own theme and decor. Our room, Garret's Stargazer, is cozy and comfortable, with a great fireplace and a jacuzi just outside the door. The room had a coffeemaker, microwave and small refrigerator, too.

The breakfast was superb, and there was always a supply of fresh baked goods (cookies, cheesecake, etc) available for guests.

Best of all, we arose Sunday morning to a fresh snowfall! The snowfall was beautiful, and added to the great experience of being in the mountains.

We had to delay our departure for a few hours because of the snow, and they helped us shovel snow to get our car back on the main road.

The weekend was really a refreshing get-a-way, and we will definitely return to the Wikiup.

Kimberly & Greg Schramm

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Excellent service very nice place. Owners are really awesome. Great room with private wood fired hot tube. We loved this place and are already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAEAConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
17.3 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
20.3 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
17.1 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
16.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wikiup Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1645 Whispering Pines Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julian, California's very romantic and secluded Wikiup Bed and Breakfast is located on four wooded hillside acres in a relaxed, rural setting. While at the B&B, enjoy the country life, only a mile from the historic mining town of Julian. However, the bustling city of San Diego is only an hour and 20 minutes away.Five wonderful guest rooms include all the amenities of a fine hotel, including large in-room spas or private out door hot tubs. Full and delicious breakfasts are your innkeeper's specialty. Awaken to scrumptious "country gourmet" feasts and enjoy a different creation every morning. Afternoon desserts are made available in the common area daily. Enjoy the breezes and shade covered decks by day, or unwind in the comfort of your hot tub or spa under the star-filled night skies. Walking paths, a restful swing, as well as fountains and a pond, encourage you to linger on the grounds and relax. The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedule. Llama feeding, swings, and the dreamy silence of the forest night make the Wikiup a favorite vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wikiup Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing