We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night, and I really wish we would have done the two night stay instead. This is our first B&B experience, and I'd say the bar has been set pretty high. Property was super easy to find, and in every interaction we had with Lee and Linda from initial reservation, to goodbye they demonstrated that customer service is paramount to their business being successful.

We stayed in the Stargazer room, which is one of the most private rooms on the property. The room theme is fun, and the LCD fireplace gives a perfect romantic touch for the summer when you don't want the extra heat. The layout in this smaller room is designed perfectly. The grounds offer some space for walking, and lots of places for sitting and soaking in the peace of the country.

Jacuzzi was ready when we got there, and really every detail was taken care of so we never felt the need to ask for anything. Breakfast was delicious, and well balanced, so you go away feeling full, but not stuffed.

The only potential negatives, and these depend on your viewpoint:
The mattress was a bit firm for our taste, and the WiFi does not really reach that room. Lee was very up front about this. The qualifier applies especially to the last one as I don't think most people go there to be on their laptops or cellphones.

Overall it was a wonderful experience, and helped to make this one of our best anniversaries to date. Any chance for quality couple time is always appreciated, and Wikiup seems like a place built for maximizing these times. It's like a playground for your soul's, built for the special purpose of strengthening the most important relationship you'll ever have with another person.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NuttBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at Wikiup Bed and Breakfast and we couldn't have been more pleased! Lee and Linda were amazing hosts, they were extremely friendly and just all around great people. They really made us feel at home! Linda cooked some awesome breakfast and her french toast was simply amazing! If you can, at least stay Saturday to Sunday because Sunday mornings is when she serves the french toast, and you really don't want to miss it!

We stayed in the Shady Lady room and LOVED it! It was so romantic and private! We had our own private hot tub which was fantastic. It was heated by a fire, and once you get it just right, the water is amazing!

We can NOT wait to make our way back up to the Wikiup for our next "life break".

Thank you so much!
The Grimm's

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsGrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wikiup over Memorial Day weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday. We had never stayed at a B&B before so we didn't really know what to expect. We also stayed in the Stargazer room, as the previous review mentioned, it had lots of nice little touches (especially the private hot tub under the stars!) The best way to describe our stay was it felt like we were staying with family in their home while having all the amenities of a hotel. I loved how quiet and private the property is and the fact that there are only 5 rooms makes the experience very personalized.

Lee and Linda were wonderful hosts and helped make our stay in Julian so peaceful and relaxing... exactly what I was looking for in a birthday getaway! The breakfasts are absolutely to die for, my favorite being the french toast, poached pears and apples, and potato pancakes. We were so full we usually skipped lunch or just had a slice of apple pie in town to tide us over until dinner. Drifty the Mountain Dog and Kemosabe the Cat would join in after breakfast was over to greet everyone and say hello. My husband especially loved feeding the llamas and playing with the dozen or so hummingbirds that flock over the porch going back and forth between a few feeders. I had never seen so many hummingbirds all at once before, it was very cool.

If you are ever in the Julian area or just looking for an awesome B&B experience for a weekend away, check out the Wikiup! We would return again in a heartbeat!! :)

Room Tip: The Stargazer room is the most private if you're looking for seclusion, but every room has a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Actingbug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Upon arriving at Wikiup, you are greeted by the resident Newfie, Drifter, as well as Lee and Linda your hosts among a beautiful landscape of flowers and decks. We stayed in the Stargazer which has everything planetary, other worldly and starry related - right down to a moon phase light that was perfect for night time. Just outside this room is a wonderfully private and inviting hot tub. This room in particular is very quiet and private located at the far end of the home and nestled among the surrounding trees.

In the morning, Linda offered a variety of egg soufflés that were delicious along with fresh fruit and a sweet muffin to compliment the fresh coffee and variety of mixed juices. Linda was kind and gracious offering many insights into the area and sharing about the B&B.

Also on property on llamas which guests are encouraged to feed from the special food offered in the check in area. The llamas were eager to come see us once they heard the bag shaking. If you have not experienced llamas up close this is a great way to do so.

I would return to the Wikiup for it's peaceful setting and the warmth that Lee and Linda lend along with their resident pets; there was a wonderful cat who joined at breakfast as well!

Room Tip: Each room is themed, so pick one that entices you as I am sure they are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

An excellent B&B. Beautiful, peaceful location, very friendly and accommodating staff. When the hostess learned I was going to miss the usual breakfast time, she made sure hand-delivered a muffin, juice, and fruit the night before.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkogut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We very much enjoyed our visit and stay!! Our room was Kate's Shady Lady for two nights. We were comfortable with the room and location. The view from the room and outdoor porch area is very nice. Loved the wood-fired hot tub too! The main room next door is warm and lovely. Lee and Linda are wonderful hosts!! Linda had little candy dishes out, which I liked.. I do the same at home. She also put out a variety of sweets/desserts in the main room, which were yummy. Breakfast both mornings was unique and wonderful :). The table delightful :). We warmed right up to their pets on the property. They have one dog... wait til you meet Drifty!! There are two kitties and three llamas... we enjoyed them all!! Their property is beautiful. It was nice to visit with Linda and Lee during our stay.. felt most comfortable around them!! We want to visit and stay again.. :))

Room Tip: All (5) rooms are different and unique! Make sure to check them out online before confirming your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Wikiup B&B over Veteran's Day weekend to celebrate our birthdays. Our stay was wonderful! If you've never visited Julian before, GO - the town is quaint and charming and the countryside is just beautiful. We chose the Wikiup because of its location and rave reviews on Yelp and TripAdvisor. We were glad we did! It's about a mile or so outside of the main town - a very quick drive. Main street gets very busy and we felt like we had our own private retreat in the woods, far away from city noises.

The grounds are so peaceful and beautiful complete with a couple of resident kitties, a newfoundland, and a few llamas which you can feed and pet. Lee and Linda were very warm and welcoming. We stayed in "Klondike Kate's Shady Lady" and loved it. It isn't the most private room as the deck is right next to the main house entrance, but you can pull down the deck shades and poof - it's private. Or try the Stargazer - it's probably the most private room and it too has a hot tub on its deck. The hot tub on our deck was really nice on a cold night and had wonderful views of the property, and the fireplace in the room really kept things toasty! Hopefully you'll wake up with an appetite...breakfast is to die for! On day 1 we enjoyed caramel french toast and frittata, and on day 2 it was "inside out caramel apple" with egg souffle and an assortment of freshly made breads.

We'll be back for another visit!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Brina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
1.0 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
132 reviews
17.3 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
496 reviews
20.3 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wikiup Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1645 Whispering Pines Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: £133 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julian, California's very romantic and secluded Wikiup Bed and Breakfast is located on four wooded hillside acres in a relaxed, rural setting. While at the B&B, enjoy the country life, only a mile from the historic mining town of Julian. However, the bustling city of San Diego is only an hour and 20 minutes away.Five wonderful guest rooms include all the amenities of a fine hotel, including large in-room spas or private out door hot tubs. Full and delicious breakfasts are your innkeeper's specialty. Awaken to scrumptious "country gourmet" feasts and enjoy a different creation every morning. Afternoon desserts are made available in the common area daily. Enjoy the breezes and shade covered decks by day, or unwind in the comfort of your hot tub or spa under the star-filled night skies. Walking paths, a restful swing, as well as fountains and a pond, encourage you to linger on the grounds and relax. The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedule. Llama feeding, swings, and the dreamy silence of the forest night make the Wikiup a favorite vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wikiup Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing