We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a romantic, relaxing getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic, relaxing getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

Wikiup B & B is utterly charming-- from the whimsically landscaped grounds to the lovingly designed rooms. Its woodsy setting is a calm antidote to our busy suburban life. The extra little touches and amenities are delightful and Linda's fabulous breakfasts make us feel so pampered! Lee and Linda welcome guests like family. We've stayed with them at least 6 times and Wikiup is our favorite place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucillyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
113
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Wikiup on Valentine's Day weekend. We had an excellent time there, and even had some great conversations with other guests during breakfast. Everything was wonderful from the beautifully appointed room (with extra touches, like personalized champagne glasses with our names printed on them) to the nice private hot tub, to the delicious breakfast that Linda cooked for us (Try the egg soufle; it's to die for!).

We had a great time and I would recommend this place to most everyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang2008sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We stayed here for a night in October...it was a last-minute getaway, and we had SUCH a nice time. We stayed in the Shady Lady room (Bordello-themed!) and the room and bathroom were spotless, warm, and comfortable. The room also had a private deck, with a private hot tub. Fabulous.

The owners are so friendly and helpful, and every detail of the entire place is so thoughtful and loving. Breakfast was delicious, and the animals were fun to play with! When we chatted with the other guests at breakfast they all were having a great time at the Wikiup, and a few of them were repeat customers.

I highly, highly recommend this place...we can't wait to go back (and stay longer!).

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erichs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

We checked in for a quick romantic getaway. We got Rose's Cottage, which is a Victorian styled room. Everything that can be rose themed, is. It had a small, two-person hot tub and a little cafe table on the tiny patio. The hot tub was nice, if a bit hard to get in to (you have to climb up a few narrow stairs that curve around). We took that room because it was the only one with a king sized bed (pretty much the only king sized bed in Julian!), but got the chance to peek into the other unoccupied rooms before we left on Monday afternoon. Each one is themed, and has slightly different amenities. Next time I want to stay in the Willow room, though I will miss the king sized bed, which was topped with a feather bed and VERY comfortable.

It's a pet friendly B&B. They have Newfies and Llamas that you can visit, a parrot in the common room and a couple of cats. So it's probably not a great place if you have severe allergies to animals, though I never saw fur nor smelled any animal smells in the rooms or the common areas.

The food was wonderful, and we enjoyed talking to the proprietor and the other guests over breakfast. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating.

I want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_iambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego CA.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2007

Never have I known a bed and breakfast to be as accomodating and as beautiful as the Wikiup. The proprietors of this particular establishment were both generous and understanding. My lovely girlfriend and I had made a special booking of two sererate suites (one for each night we were there) several weeks in advance to commemorate our anniversary. You understand that this is a rather unique situation for our innkeepers for now they would have the unenviable task of preparing two rooms for one party. Not only did they do it , but the helpful staff made it as comfortable as possible to move from one room to the other and did it with gusto! They went through all the description and pleasantrys as they would if it were our first time at the Wikiup.
The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedual. Llama feeding, tree swings, horseshoes and the dreamy silence of the forrest night make the Wikiup for my new favorite vacation getaway. Relaxing in the hot tub was one of my personal favorite attractions to this place. The warm water was a nice contrast to the cold mountain air and made for ideal snuggling once back in the cabin. With the delicious country breakfast, cozy rooms, and friendly service, i would without a doubt refer everyone to this beautiful bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — The great service and beautiful atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Cranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2007

For our one year anniversary, Greg and I decided to go for an adventure not too far away from our own home. We decided to head to Julian and stayed at the WIkiup for 2 nights. Upon arrival, we were greeted by our charming and informative innkeeper, Linda Stanley. She gave us all the info on what was available, what we should holler for if we needed it, etc. She even went out of her way and put an extra bottle of apple cider in the room for Greg with a nice card. (At my special request)

The rooms were well-appointed and included a fridge, microwave, coffee, tea, gourmet creamers, and even a Torani Italian syrup. The bathroom came with an amazing jacuzzi tub for two and some bubble bath on the side. All the amenities you'd find at a four star hotel were available.

We wandered around outside. INCREDIBLE views surrounded us, including a well-mannered dog, some cats, wise llamas, and the beautiful local Manzanita tree. There was a pond, a jacuzzi on a wooden deck, a covered hammock chair for two, and at night, the most amazing view of the stars that one could ever wish for.

Bed was comfy, room was good, breakfast was divine. Linda really went all out and provided the best meal I'd ever had at a B&B. She really whizzes around in the kitchen along with her husband Lee. We had well-balanced meals that included all food groups in good proportion. The local fruit is to die for.

Sound was never an issue. Tempertature, either. The building, as she told us, is built into a hill, therefore falling in the subterranean category. It never gets too hot or too cold, as a result.

The best part about the stay was definitely the big tub, the food, the view, and the animals. We fed the llamas every morning and they were the most unexpected delight.

The worst part was that I didn't want to ever leave.

One note: If you're allergic to cats, take an anti-histamine before eating breakfast. I had to eat breakfast and get out for some fresh air soon afterwards because my nose started running both mornings. Nothing severe, but you can tell that the cats have carved out their little niche in the common area.

  • Liked — The absolute detail of the decor. The room had personality in spades.
  • Disliked — The breakfast room's allergy-unfriendly cats.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homerkimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2006

This Bed and Breakfast was relaxing, peaceful, and enjoyable. The owners were friendly and inviting. The property was beautiful, with pets that made it even more special than it already was. There are 4 rooms decorated with different themes. Two of the rooms have in room jacuzzi tubs big enough for 2 people. It is romanitic and would be wonderful for honeymoons or anniversaries. The gourmet homemade breakfast was absolutely delicious. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Liked — The theme room with the in room jacuzzi tub, and fireplace.
  • Disliked — none
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann42-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
17.3 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
20.3 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
17.1 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
16.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wikiup Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1645 Whispering Pines Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julian, California's very romantic and secluded Wikiup Bed and Breakfast is located on four wooded hillside acres in a relaxed, rural setting. While at the B&B, enjoy the country life, only a mile from the historic mining town of Julian. However, the bustling city of San Diego is only an hour and 20 minutes away.Five wonderful guest rooms include all the amenities of a fine hotel, including large in-room spas or private out door hot tubs. Full and delicious breakfasts are your innkeeper's specialty. Awaken to scrumptious "country gourmet" feasts and enjoy a different creation every morning. Afternoon desserts are made available in the common area daily. Enjoy the breezes and shade covered decks by day, or unwind in the comfort of your hot tub or spa under the star-filled night skies. Walking paths, a restful swing, as well as fountains and a pond, encourage you to linger on the grounds and relax. The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedule. Llama feeding, swings, and the dreamy silence of the forest night make the Wikiup a favorite vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Wikiup Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing