We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsure about next trip...”
Review of Tucker Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tucker Peak Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 December 2010

My wife and I are very spontaneous and on a Saturday afternoon decided to take a drive. We packed an overnight bag and then of course her suitcase of shoes and makeup. Five and half hours later we arrived in the very charming town of Julian California. Again, not planning this trip we didn’t have a place picked out to stay so we looked on our GPS for hotels. We called a few and decided on this $115.00 a night “B&B”. It’s not a typical B&B witched we liked because you’re not in their house or at least it’s been so remodeled that you actually feel like you’re in a lodge type hotel. The Innkeeper neglected to tell us on the phone they only accept cash or check, so we had to drive back into town to get money. When we returned she was gone and remained that way for approximately 40 minutes. After we stared into the darkness and looked up at the stars for that time; she arrived with a regaling story of her drunken friend who caught up with her in town and how poor he’s doing health wise because he smokes three packs a day and drinks 24 cans of Pepsi a day. Once in our room we noticed that the bathroom is located about 6 feet from the bed and didn’t have a door, only the saloon type swinging shutter doors. Again, we’re married but c’mon… I went downstairs and asked for a different room maybe one I saw on the flyer that had a Jacuzzi tub and a more accommodating restroom, and expressed my concerns with the bathroom setup and was asked “Why? You don’t want to hear her fart?” Unsure how to respond I quietly backed out and went upstairs… The décor and room were nice but again, the bathroom privacy thing was a little off putting. After a decent night sleep I went outside to see a spectacular view that made the check in fiasco so much more bearable. I went inside to see the free “continental” breakfast; MAN OH MAN what a surprise. I was greeted by the same surly inn keeper that was fresh out a bed with a less than delightful smell and socks with holes in them. The breakfast was nothing more than Costco and or Sam’s Club muffins and danishes (still in wrappers) the milk and apple cider was left out and at room temperature so I decided that we go out for breakfast. Knowing what I know now: because of the cleanliness, the view and the quaint room (bathroom excluded) I would stay there again but in a different room and plan on eating out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coxx110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

We liked that the Tucker Peak Lodge is in a beautiful location, and the innkeeper was very friendly. Unfortunately there was not much else positive about the experience. The room carpet was very soiled and worn. There was an inside-out bathrobe hanging on the back of the door (left behind from another guest?). My bath towel smelled bad and no soap was provided for the shower. Open shampoo bottles from previous guests were offered! The continental breakfast was quite skimpy and of poor quality. This lodge is definitely not worth $155 + tax/night. I was also very disappointed to have to either pay cash for the room or pay $30 more! The owners appear to be very frugal. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erosenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

me and my wife had our second wedding anniversary and have never been to julian so we got the tranquility room at the tucker peak lodge we have never stayed at a b&b so we did not know what to except but when we got there the inn keepeer marie was so great she made us feel so welcome the room was big and so beautiful it was just what we were looking for it gave us that cabin feeling we will be coming back soon

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandlelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed in the Mountain View room and the view was just gorgeous. We could even see deer walking on the mountain. The room was very spacious and the hostess was sweet. I would definitely stay there again. It was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l8rcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My fiancee and I decided on a weekend get away. We are fairly big on wine tasting and decided to stay in Julian. While we planned the get away last minute we expected more for our one night stay at $160 inc. Tax. We were told over the phone there was a restaurant open onsite til 10pm.

When we arrived, there were several cars atop the hill and no place to park; very poorly managed space. The lobby with the pool table was unavailable (and we were not told in advance of this). Room was musty smelling. Mattress was uncomfortable.

Recommendations:
1. Update hideous flower, bear, holly hobby decor.
2. Update website with current info.
3. Remove towels that smell like cigarette smoke.
4. Buy a new mattress.
5. Improve customer service. (Esp. For that room price! - if you charge $70 a night then fine)

The view was gorgeous and this location has potential, but in the meantime we do not recommend it. Sorry to the funny innkeeper lady who was helpful.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oskiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We went to Julian, california for 1 night to attend a wedding. That weekend was particularly busy, and with most of the bed and breakfast places requiring a 2 night minimum stay, we were happy that we found Tucker Peak Lodge for 1 night stay in their Tranquility suite for $215 (without tax). What I like about the property is that the host was friendly. The location of the lodge was on a hill with a great view of the surrounding park. Our room had a fire place and jacuzzi and was spacious in size with a children's playroom.
There are, however, many aspect of the lodge that I had issues with. When we first entered our room, it was freezing cold and with one window heating unit, it took hours for us to warm up, even with us desperately trying to start a fire in the fire place. The jacuzzi was large and beautiful, however, we did not use it because the lodge did not have enough hot water to even fill the tub half way. I ended up taking a barely lukewarm shower. I also have some issues with the sanitation of the room: first of all, the shower came with regular size bottles of shampoo and soap that were used by previous guests as well as a shower loofa that had been used. There were a couple of small sized soap bottles from other hotels in the shower as well. I was happy that I brought my own soap and shampoo. Secondly, when we were sleeping in the bed, the comforter smelled like it has not been washed in awhile, very musky. The breakfast was really disappointing considering the rave reviews I read about other bed and breakfasts. It was cereal, stale pastries bought from the market, coffee, and juice. Overall, I expected more from a place where I spent close to 250 dollars for a night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
20.1 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
487 reviews
2.0 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
261 reviews
3.0 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucker Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucker Peak Lodge

Address: 3975 Eagle Peak Road, Julian, CA 92036
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: £93 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tucker Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucker Peak Lodge, A California Hideaway Whether you are looking for that perfect romantic getaway, quality family time of some much needed rest and relaxation, come enjoy natural, simple beauty in the tranquil mountain atmosphere of Julian, California. Surround yourself with the wonderful sights and sounds provided by nature. We invite you to leave behind the busy city noises and restore your sense of calm by enjoying a spectacular view of the countryside from 5 wooded hillside acres at Tucker Peak Lodge, nestled in the beautiful oak and pine covered mountains of Pine Hills. We are the perfect place to escape for a birthday, Girls Night Out, an anniversary of "Just Because." Enjoy the quaint, turn-of-the-century gold-mining town of Julian and begin the start of this charming adventure with your stay at Tucker Peak Lodge. Memories Are Made Here... Yours Awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tucker Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucker Peak Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing