We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY beautiful place to camp”

William Heise County Park
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Julian
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“VERY beautiful place to camp”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great time at this campground. The sites are all very nice, and to close together. We were in site # 71. Lots of room to spread out. Very scenic with the trees, bushes and surrounding green hills. When they say quite time is between 10pm and 8am, they mean it. Everyone abided by the rules, and it was super quiet. The rangers drive around and wave at you, but they don't stop and check up on you. We went Easter weekend and the place was full. There are hiking trails right at the park. The creek and pond we hiked to were dry, but it was a nice hike anyways. The bathrooms are a little bit of a walk from most sites. The bathrooms in the upper tent camping area are clean. There are two woman's showers and two men's showers, and they were also very clean, but you have to pay 50 cents for 5 minutes, and the water was hot. We went down to the bathrooms and showers near the main entrance, and they are free. Inside the bathroom area, there are 3 showers, and then there's two "family" shower rooms on the outside of the bathroom building. It's just a little larger area with one shower inside each small room. Good for kids and moms, etc. The water went from cold to hot, cold to hot, depending on how many people were taking showers out of that building. All and all, we loved the campground, and loved the area, and love that it is pretty close to Julian. About a 15 - 20 minute drive to town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rvrratjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting to see the forest renewing itself”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We walked around one of the shorter trails. It was lovely, taking in a range of different types of forest that had been badly affected by fires 10 years before. Signs clearly explain how a forest regenerates after a fire and help you to understand what you are seeing. I'm sure it was amazing before, but it is still lovely, although a bit desolate now. A nice place for an afternoon's walk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Camping for the weekend”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Wonderful camp sites, beautiful oak trees. Great surrounding area to visit - Julian and Santa Ysabel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Park Is Worth A Visit...”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at a B&B just east of Julian (one mi). We wanted to find a place not too far away where we could be in nature and do some hiking. William Heise State Park was just the place! It's a big beautiful park in the mtns with some hiking trails to enjoy. I think taking pics is a must... as you are surrounded by beauty and nature! It is a State Park.. not a free park. I think we paid $5 or $6 for day use. I like the park very much and will return for a visit and hike the next time we stay in or around Julian.. :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dian_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Went camping here for 2 nights in August. The bathrooms were clean, the showers had spiders in them and were coin-operated (bring shower shoes!) and the campground itself was clean. We had a nice campsite away from other big family groups (we were traveling as a couple so were looking for a little more peace and quiet) but for families it's great! There are a few hiking trails right by the campsites that lead to spectacular views of the mountains. All in all, a great vacation. Nothing better than escaping the city noise and being woken up by birds every morning :) Also, I wouldn't recommend going in the summer as it was pretty hot! I imagine in the fall it's nice, especially because it's apple season in Julian at that time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank omgmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William Heise County Park also viewed

 

Been to William Heise County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing