We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red beans and rice..MMMMmmmmmm....”

The Rongbranch Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 27 Restaurants in Julian
Restaurant details
El Cajon, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Red beans and rice..MMMMmmmmmm....”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Drove my cousin and mother up to Julian for a Sunday excursion. Stopped at Rongbranch for lunch. Cousin and I ordered red beans and rice which comes with grilled hot link and crackers. Mom ordered the pulled pork sandwich and it was all good. Dolores was our server and is a very good marketer for the restaurant. Very good at promoting deserts, etc., but...we declined. Too full. :-)

This is one of my favorite places in Julian.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genevax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    25
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 6 Contributor
776 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Lunch was diner fare”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Wanted something different but we didn't find it here. The food was okay and the service was very good, just not really what I wanted. Menu selections were fair and priced the same as other restaurants in a tourist town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“An alright lunch”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Ordered the buffalo burger, the bacon was raw not cooked at all. Did not ate the bacon, but just looking at it made my stomach upset

Helpful?
Thank titojaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious pulled pork sandwich!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Went here for the first time yesterday. My friend and I shared a pulled pork bbq sandwich with fries and cole slaw. It was delicious! The service was very good. Everyone was friendly. The price was right. No complaints!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamaduck131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“OK for quick lunch”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Went here for a quick lunch based on their advertised $6.99 weekday special. Had a fair Caesar salad with a satisfactory 1/2 turkey sandwich on toasted sour dough (lettuce and tomato). The place was nearly empty but the service was OK. Doubt I would select this place for dinner, but the lunch was a pretty good deal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Rongbranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing