We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cozy and beautiful home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Oak Cabin

Black Oak Cabin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Oak Cabin
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A cozy and beautiful home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and me had booked this place for the Independence Day weekend. The owners Ed and Dawn are wonderful people and were very helpful throughout our stay.

The house has everything one could need in a cabin, everything you could think of! Well stocked with all the utensils, spices, bbq tools, linen etc. Good collection of CDs/DVDs and a lovely piano for whiling away your time.

They made sure our stay was comfortable,including our friends who joined us a day later. An awesome getaway in Julian!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshaHegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We just returned from a wonderful weekend in Julian; made all the better by staying in the Black Oak Cabin. It was immaculate and .stocked with everything that one might need.
Dawn and Ed were most hospitable and helpful, it is really like staying in someones delightful home with really great neighbors.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

My husband and I stay at private cabins quite a bit when we travel, because we like the privacy and ability to prepare your own meals. BOC has pretty much the best array of cooking gadgets, utensils, and necessities we've seen to date anywhere we've stayed. We have come not to even expect a wine bottle or can opener, but we couldn't think of a single item we were missing. It was wonderful to be able to cook whatever we wanted.

The cabin is also really cozy. We enjoyed using the pot belly stove to have a fire every night (we were there in early January). We definitely would like to return.

The ad says it's in walking distance to downtown, but this is not so in the winter when the days are shorter, since there are no lights on the roads.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Glen, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I booked the Black Oak Cabin at the last minute for an impromptu getaway with my husband. It's a little pricier than I would have liked but it was truly a wonderful little place to stay. Ed and Dawn were wonderful, thoughtful and helpful but not obtrusive, and the cabin was just wonderfully cozy and comfortable. Very, very clean and appointed with everything you need to be comfy. The bed was wonderful. (Just a hint: If you're planning on making any of your own meals, bring your food with you as the nearest decent grocery store is 22 miles away, although there are a couple of markets in Julian that have the essentials.) The decor is homey and comfy (altho the couches in the living room have sloping issues -- one tends to slope toward the front and the other toward the back, but they weren't uncomfortable by any means), and the wood stove is a really nice touch. Even though it wasn't cold when we visited, we lit a fire anyway for the ambience (and then opened the slider!). The back neck is wonderful, complete with a very nice barbecue; the outside swings are nice, and the hammock is a great touch. Beautiful, woodsy, contained-but-wild landscaping with herbs and irises galore. Perfect place if you (a) want privacy and (b) don't mind making your own bed. No housekeeping services but that just made it feel more like "our" place for the weekend. Definitely would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue-Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

We celebrated our 32nd anniversary by staying 3 nights at the Black Oak. It's a little pricer than some of the cabins, but worth it. We've been coming to Julian annually for 25 years and we have stayed in many cabins/homes. I have to say this one is the cleanest and has everything that you need for a pleasant stay. They have coffee, tea, hot cider and hot chocolate available and also some microwave popcorn to enjoy along with your favorite movie (they have a nice selection of movies). The cabin is nicely decorated and the bed is quite comfortable. There is lovely patio furniture (and a hammock) available for relaxing outside.

We also enjoy that it's close enough to town to walk in (only about a mile). We need to walk to help burn the costly calories of the fabulous chocolate malts that we get at the Julian Drug Store & Miner Diner. Yum!

The owners, Ed and Dawn, are delightful. This was our 3rd stay at the Black Oak and we'll be back again.

Sue & Don Butler

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueDonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

My daughter and I stayed here Sept 18, 19 and left on the 20th .. This cabin is so cozy, warm and homey. The folks Dawn and her husband were so friendly and helpful just like visiting family. The cabin is fully furnished and soooo clean . they have everything but your food and clothes there. It's just like visiting with family. They even have a guitar there that my daughter (she is special needs) played morning , noon and evening and I was a little worried but dawn said to let her go ahead and play with it.. it is air-conditioned and has wood burning stove and regular heat so was cool, and pleasant at night .. I also want to thank them for the wild turkeys acrossed the street on Sunday am :O)

thank you both again for a wonderful weekend Pauline & Breann

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2007

If you value your getaway time and appreciate sincere, genuine hospitality, the Black Oak Cabin is an experience you will treasure. Owners Ed and Dawn have bent over backwards to ensure that nothing has been overlooked to ensure your stay is spent in down-home comfort and serenity.

This charming cabin possesses all that you'll ever need, from the spacious front porch complete with swing, an ample dining-living room, completely equipped bathroom and comfortable bedroom. The view of the trees,visits by birdlife unique to the mountains at 4000 ft., and frog concerts at night made the return to the city a dreary prospect. Every room is equipped with everything one would ever need for a relaxing trip.

If tranquility, peace, and natural beauty are valuable to you, the Black Oak Cabin is just the ticket. It is one of Julian's best kept secrets. Owners Ed and Dawn have poured their hearts, souls, and lots of blood and sweat in the small touches that will make the Black Oak Cabin a lifelong memory for all those who make their stay here.

Paul & Susan

  • Liked — peaceful and serene
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paul92656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
19.9 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
3.5 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 11 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
16.4 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Oak Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Oak Cabin

Property: Black Oak Cabin
Address: 2284 Sunset Dr, P.O. Box 517, Julian, CA 92036-9447
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Oak Cabin is a one-bedroom/one-bath cabin located in the Whispering Pines neighborhood approximately one-half mile from downtown Julian on a half-acre gently sloping wooded hillside. It has a fully equipped kitchen, wood burning stove, propane BBQ, queen bed in the master bedroom and a full size sleeper sofa in the living room and can sleep up to four people. Amenities include linens, cookware, dishes, coffee, popcorn, firewood, bathrobes, hairdryer, cable TV, VCR, DVD, CD player, extensive video library available, free WiFi, books, games, guitar, and offstreet parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Oak Cabin Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing