We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pristine B&B tucked away in the wilderness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Hill Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pristine B&B tucked away in the wilderness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here for one night to celebrate my birthday. Orchard Country in is tucked away in the hillside surrounding Julian and it's a nice, quiet way to get away from it all. It is the most pristine B&B I've ever stayed in. They've managed to capture that old B&B charm and homey-ness, but you don't feel like you're staying at grandma's house. We stayed in the Black Gilflower room and really enjoyed the whirlpool tub. My 6'3" fiancee was even able to fit comfortably in it. The room was immaculate and had all the comforts of home. The board games in the room made our night! The only suggestion I have for the room is to perhaps add a stand-up shower (don't know how feasible this is) The whirlpool was fun but would have preferred a shower in the AM.

We ate at the restaurant, and although the food was tasty, the portions were small. The restaurant service was also a bit slow, but the servers and hostesses couldn't be nicer. We enjoyed meeting everyone and I liked having luxury accomodations in the heart of the wilderness.

Room Tip: Spring for the detached cabins-xtra romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stickie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    29
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
202
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed in a cottage, which I recommend. Room was georgeous and well appointed - what a great surprise for small moutain town. Large marble bath with whirlpool tub. Loved the fireplace as it was a bit chilly. Cushy chair was nice to relax on while the other was getting ready. Chauo Chocolates on pillows - my favorite! Free happy hours were pleasant and relaxing. If don't leave room early in day, be sure to schedule maid service for later.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohci, Owner at Orchard Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Thank you for your observations of our guest rooms and the cozy and relaxing environment they created for your get-away to Julian. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

The owners of this beautiful hidden gem are Pat and Darrell Straube and have proved to be an extraordinary husband and wife team when it comes to the care of their guests in every single way. During their evening orderves, I had the chance to congratulate them on providing my mother and me with a trip we would never forget. Lodge room 5, took us back in time with its rot iron bed and cozy furnishings. The elegance of our room and bathroom exuded the feeling of a country/beach house retreat and was spotlessly clean. We relished in relaxing peacefully and enjoyed our favourite films which we handpicked from the Orchard Hill's extensive library. In the morning, piping hot coffee over breakfast was truly mesmerising as an added pleasure to the lodge's longish wooden room which overlooked the stunning scenery of pine trees and greenery surrounding Julian. Wild turkeys roam freely around the lodge and there is a beautiful area to walk in and explore while breathing in the peaceful surroundings of this hidden village in the mountains. The experience of staying at the Orchard Hill Country Lodge will forever remain in our minds as charming, special and a place we will undoubtedly return to again. It is magnificently unique and positively perfect in every single way thanks to the pride and care of these marvellous owners.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohci, Owner at Orchard Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
We very much appreciate you noticing the details at Orchard Hill and we’re delighted that they served in creating a special place for you to visit. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, OHio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

The Orchard Hill Country Inn is a quiet and comfortable place of cheerful rooms and cottages with a lovely lounge that invites guests to meet each other. The service is excellent and thoughtful. The location, too, allows for day- excursions to the remarkable Anzo-Borrego Desert State Park as well as other state parks. It's only an hour from San Diego and so is a wonderful option.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohci, Owner at Orchard Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
We’re glad that you took the opportunity to visit Anza-Borrego Desert Sate Park – an incredibly beautiful place to explore. Anza-Borrego is close enough to Julian to be the place for an adventurous day trip. Thank you for sharing your experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Driving up to the Inn was beautiful, when we drove up it was early evening we were able to see the grounds and all the beauty the area had to offer. My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time and we can not wait to come back!! Everything was perfect from the cottage we had "The Gladstone" to the relaxing hammock we enjoyed after our breakfast the next morning..

If we had to make a suggestion on anything at all about our cottage it would be that the fireplace flames were very low and the timer used to turn fireplace on and off was very loud and took a bit of the mood away having to hear it.

All in all we were very happy with our stay and hope to paln another trip soon and stay a day or two longer.

Thank you
Dirk and Cyndi

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirkncyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohci, Owner at Orchard Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
We’re so glad that you enjoyed the natural beauty around you while visiting Julian and Orchard Hill. We do hope that you return for more exploration and relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

It was perfect, beautiful, simple, yet elegant and goregous! Twinkling lights around the fireplace, the room all decorated for the holidays! It was a dream!

Thank you Orchard Hill. We'll be back very soon!

Sincerely, Ken & Michelle Lee

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleLee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohci, Owner at Orchard Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thank you for choosing Orchard Hill as the location for such a special occasion!! We wish you a wonderful life of joy together. We will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We had planned this trip before but due to an illness in the family, we kept postponing it but after our loved one passed away, we were in such need of an escape from the city and just quiet relaxation which we found at the Orchard Hill Country Inn, we stayed in the BESS POOL cottage and It was just the perfect view of the Manzanita creek with a great balcony and from the whirpool tub you can see the wild turkeys! I love that the Inn is secluded fromt the main street but just a short walk from all the action. Dinner was delicious and worth it every penny, the restaurant is beatiful with great service and just so romantic. We will return as soon as we can escape again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohci, Owner at Orchard Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
We appreciate you sharing your experiences at Orchard Hill during such a difficult time. We wish you the very best and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.1 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
19.6 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
18.0 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Country Inn

Property: Orchard Hill Country Inn
Address: 2502 Washington Street, PO Box 2410, Julian, CA 92036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Hill Country Inn is a AAA Four Diamond inn located in historic Julian, California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Country Hotel Julian
Country Inn Julian
Julian Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing