We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Hill Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
1 review
“Wonderful getaway!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My Wife and I recently celebrated our 38th Wedding Anniversary at the Orchard Hill Inn. Like others, I wasn't sure what to expect, but both my Wife and I were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the Valmore Room (absolutely beautiful!) for 2 days and were treated like royalty. Dinner was very nice, a 4 course meal ($38) and was prepared very well. Unfortunately, if there is a "draw-back" it is that the restaurant isn't open nightly but there is breakfast each morning and they do it quite well! We had the pleasure of meeting the owners who were very gracious and warm! We enjoyed the town of Julian and had a wonderful time exploring! I HIGHLY recommend this fine establishment for anyone looking to get away with their loved one!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    30
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
206
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 after purchasing a Living Social voucher. I wasn't sure what to expect but I was quite pleased with our stay. The breakfast was amazing (omelette was delish as was the apple bread). My husband loved the homemade granola. They have an afternoon happy hour which includes 2 glasses of wine and a selection of cheeses, veggies, nuts, and fresh fruit which was very tasty and fresh. Dinner was good but a bit pricey in my opinion. We paid an extra $100 for a cottage room and it was a very nice , spacious cottage. The town is really small- not too much to do there but we took a day trip to anza borrega for some hiking which was a lot of fun. The drive itself was beautiful albeit the roads are very windy!

The people who work here were very gracious and welcoming. We met the owners, Pat and Darrell, the night we had dinner and they were very friendly and interesting. They clearly put a lot of time and love into this inn and it shows.

Overall we had a great time and would definitely recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rab101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This place was awesome...why?
1) The staff provides excellent service.
2) Dinner was delicious - 4 course meal ($38) was reasonable. Pork chops was so succulent and the apple galette was good finish to a great meal. Bad news - dinner is not available every night.
3) Breakfast - freshly baked scones, apple bread, eggs ole, apple bacon, homemade granola. YUM!
4) Rooms are large, comfortable & clean. We didn't need to use the heater much, but if you do (gets awfully cold in the winter) it is extremely noisy and it doesn't have a thermostat.
5) The grounds is good for relaxing - bring your wine glass & brie/crackers...sit by the pond & if you're lucky a wild turkey will come by.

Julian is famous for pies and will most certainly not disappoint. During the off-season, there isn't much to do here and with the exception of restaurants, the town is done for the day at 5 PM. Not too many choices for dinner. We were here for 2 nights & would have been happy to have had dinner here both nights but unfortunalety that was not an option.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srv2sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Orchard Hill Country Inn is the epitome of quaint mountain cottage. It's warm, comfortable, endearing, and simply lovely. The staff are gracious, welcoming, and always available for anything you may need. The rooms are surprisingly spacious for a B&B, and the added welcoming touch of chocolates on the pillows with a printed note welcoming us by name won us over right away. The property has hiking trails, a pond and little babbling brook with Adirondack chairs for relaxing in good weather, and is only a 5 minute "hike" from town. The common room is beautifully decorated and dimly lit at night, which makes for an intimate, cozy feel - especially in winter, when the fireplace hosts a merrily crackling fire. My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary here and were positively enchanted. We are already planning our return!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beckymahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We would have never known about this lovely place if we hadn't received a gift certificate to stay there. You really don't expect accomodations like this so close to downtown Julian. From the moment we checked in, we were so incredibly pleased with the service. It started with a great spead of food and cocktails from 4-6pm. They then provided coffee and tea throughout the night. Breakfast the next morning was great! The scones were absolutely delicious as were the freshly made pancakes and bacon! The inn is set back from Main St., up a hill, so it is very serene and quiet. One of the nicest things was being able to sit on their back patio at night and look up at the stars.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge room 5, which I definitely recommend. Nice soft blue palate on the walls, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 00nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here (along with at least 2 other couples celebrating their anniversaries- popular idea!). We were so happy with our choice!

The property is right in downtown Julian, yet it feels miles apart because of how the Lodge is set on the land. One fun feature is a small brook/pond with adirondack chairs - a perfect place to unwind.

From the moment we arrived we felt special. We were greeted by name, told about the Inn and its amenities and then escorted to our room. We thoroughly enjoyed the social hour and the breakfast both. We also had our dinner there that evening for an extra charge. All the food was tasty and service so friendly.

We can't wait for another chance to stay here.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JT4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSoto, Illinois USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife and I had a belated annivesary celebration at the Orchard Hill Country Inn, staying there from June 18 through June 21, 2011. We booked a summer package, whcih included staying in one of the cottages, as well as dinner one night and a picnic lunch on one of the days of the stay. All very much worth it! The setting of the Inn, which is located on a hill overlooking the town of Julian, California, is very peaceful and calming....which is what we were looking for! While we did not book this stay for the food, it was excellent and beyond our expectations! Since this is a Bed and Breakfast Inn, you do expect a good breakfast, but, the breakfasts were beyond good--especially the oatmeal apple pancakes (one day) and the scones and apple bread (most days). The one dinner we had there was also excellent and the Orchard Hill Country Inn provided a very nice and laid back recognition of our anniversary. (don't worry, no singing at the table!~). The relaxing part of the stay included lingering on the patio of the main building after breakfast to read (or in my wife's case, to stitch). Clearly, if you want to go out and about, there is a lot to see and do....the weekend we were there, there was a blues festival at a nearby winery. There is also the Anza Barrego Desert National Monument a short drive away, and other great sightseeing. But, we did not go to Orchard Hill to run around, we came from Illinois to unwind. It is great for both running around and to unwind, but, the Orchard Hill Country Inn was MADE for unwinding! We recommend it to you highly and without reservation!

Room Tip: Book one of the cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.1 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
19.6 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
84 reviews
17.5 mi away
Viejas Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Country Inn

Property: Orchard Hill Country Inn
Address: 2502 Washington Street, PO Box 2410, Julian, CA 92036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Hill Country Inn is a AAA Four Diamond inn located in historic Julian, California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Country Hotel Julian
Country Inn Julian
Julian Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing