We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Quaint”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Junction City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trinity Canyon Lodge
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfy and Quaint”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We stayed at Trinity Canyon Lodge this past weekend for a mini getaway. We picked Junction City as base camp for exploring the area and hiking in the Trinity Alps. The drive to the lodge is beautiful and it's not far from Weaverville if you want to grab a bite to eat or pick up some groceries. The owners were very friendly and even let us borrow some of their dvds to watch in our room at night. Our room was cozy and clean and had a mini fridge and coffee maker. In the evening when the wind blows there's relaxing wind chimes outside. There's also christmas lights lining the trim outside that add to the charm. Adorable dogs on the property too. The only downside I can think of is that there's no wifi...but it's not a big deal. It's affordable too! We felt very comfortable and relaxed there and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planitgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I've been to the Trinity Canyon Lodge many times in the past 10 years for fishing trips, family reunions, river rafting, hiking in the Trinity National Forest, and just to decompress. I've stayed in most of their room and cabins and all are clean and comfortable. With the exception of a trip that had to be cancelled because the property was surrounded by a forest fire, all of my stays have been pleasant. The suites closest to the river have private patios that overlook the water.

Superb and relaxing vistas are guaranteed, especially as you watch the midsummer sunset down the narrow canyon with the persistent babel of the wildly winding river.

In addition there is a private beach for guests that runs the length of the property. It can be used as a launch or take-out for rafts, kayaks, canoes, and smaller boats. The owners are more than accommodating and have provided a shuttle service to both pick-up and drop-off cars for my family and I when we take river trips for either fishing or for the white water.
The area is a little remote, 10 minutes from the closest store and gas station, and 30 minutes from the town of Weaverville which has the closest supermarket, a handful of quirky restaurants on the historic Main Street. Modern conveniences are few and far between, but that's been perfect for my needs. There's plenty of activities that don't require a constant WI-FI connection and the best part is that all the scenery is in HD

Room Tip: The cabins on the property have full kitchens with pots, pans, utensils, the whole works so planning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxSCRAMjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

These folks made us feel welcome and well cared for when we became stranded by a snow storm while heading east along route 299 from Eureka. We stayed in a rustic pine-paneled room with an eat-in kitchen and bathroom. The bed was clean and comfortable.

They identified us as unwary, unprepared travelers, and generously offered supper: turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, and gravy. We heated it up in the microwave and enjoyed using the built-in booth for our dining experience. Limited television reception, but who cares. There were old, but interesting magazines in the room and we had brought books to read.

Northern California requires chains in the mountains for passage during bad weather. Our rental car didn't have any and there were none available within 50 miles. There is a mandatory inspection station where you are required to pull over and park or turn back if you don't have them. People who blast by are fined $1,500 by the CHP unit up the road. Staying at the Trinity Canyon Lodge was a far nicer option.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BQQKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Trinity Canyon Lodge has got to be one of the nicest spots adjacent to the the Trinity River. The cabins are clean, very affordable, the area is quit, the beds are cozy, and the air conditioning is ice cold. The staff (especially Jennifer) really helped make our time at the Trinity Canyon Lodge a blast! It's a shame this place is up for sale. I hope the new owners are as thoughtful as the current ones. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes to come back to a nice clean cabin after a day of fun on the Trinity River. If your day is planned along the Trinity, then this is the palce to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Junction City
5.8 mi away
Strawhouse Resorts & Cafe
12.5 mi away
Indian Creek Lodge
Indian Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Douglas City
111 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Whitmore Inn
The Whitmore Inn
#1 of 1 in Weaverville
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Old Lewiston Inn
The Old Lewiston Inn
#2 of 3 in Lewiston
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Canyon Lodge

Property: Trinity Canyon Lodge
Address: 27025 Highway 299 West, Junction City, CA 96048
Region: United States > California > Junction City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Junction City
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing