We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place in a Great Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of June Lake Villager

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
June Lake Villager
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place in a Great Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were only able to stay for one night, but we found the hotel to be great. The rooms were extremely clean (the bed sheets and comforter seemed brand new) and well maintained. The hotel is just across the street from a bar/restaurant with good food at decent prices. Everyone in June Lake seemed very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tr4vler256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junelakevillager, Manager at June Lake Villager, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in June Lake. Thank you for noticing our new beds and bedding and thank you for the kind review. We hope you are able to come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    58
    34
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
75
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We made this reservation after seeing a picture of the rooms online. We even upgraded to a superior queen bed. Well, there was no view of anything, except for the back alley and the sides of other buildings. The room had a very strong odor which was burning to our throats. The bed linen appeared clean, but did not feel clean when we laid in it. When the toilet was flushed an overwhelmingly strong foul odor of sewer seemed to come through the floor and fill the room. It was nauseating! Also the tv was mounted over the sofa and not within view of the bed. The sofa had a strong urine smell, thus we never sat on it!
The experience was terrible and we felt deceived from the photo of the room online.

Room Tip: This room was 112, on the bottom floor, tucked almost in an alley way. Horrible conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junelakevillager, Manager at June Lake Villager, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
It is a huge disappointment to see this poor review. We have recently worked very hard to make all of our rooms more comfortable and enjoyable for our guests. We have all brand new pillow top mattresses, brand new bedding, new flat screen tv's, new black out drapes, and also new decor.
These guests arrived very late at night and left before the office opened in the morning. We have a phone # posted on the office door should any of our guests need anything at any time of night or day...They did not alert us of anything dis satisfactory otherwise we would have gladly moved them to a different room of their liking. We did receive an email the following day from these guests complaining that we had falsely advertised the room and that they wanted a refund.
The room is not falsely advertised as we have more than one superior queen room and each one has a slightly different layout. This unit is ground level and does have a mountain view from the bed room and the living area. We actually have many people who love this particular room and we receive requests to stay in it often. We have never had a complaint of foul smelling anything in it before so this was also a surprise. I, myself, went down to inspect this room after these guests left and found no such odor even after flushing the toilet.
It is unfortunate that these guests did not like our accommodations. We are no Ritz hotel but we do strive to provide our guests with a comfortable, clean, and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I can't recommend the June Lake Villager enough. It has comfortable and nice rooms that make my wife happy and is a great deal which makes me happy. It is across the street from the Tiger Bar and just down the road from June Mountain which makes both of us happy. The rooms have new beds and TVs but still have a nice rustic feel. It is clean and has character and does not feel like a "motel." You will enjoy your stay here and will want to come back.

Room Tip: The motel rooms were perfect for my wife and I
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junelakevillager, Manager at June Lake Villager, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was at the Villager for a lengthy stay in February. You couldn't ask for better, friendlier, more helpful staff. The Villager is a June Lake classic. I stayed in room 116, which had 2 large windows in every room, with nice views of the mountain from the kitchen. The kitchen had all I needed to cook with (some new and some old but serviceable items), a brand new refrigerator, and little gas stove. The bed was brand new and I slept like a log. New curtains were installed also, and there is a great wood-burning stove. The Villager has always been pet friendly too. If you are looking for a friendly, non-fussy place to stay that is right (RIGHT) by the Tiger Bar and the town's tiny Main Street, including the General Store and Ken Willingham's great little pottery shop, you couldn't do better than to stay at the Villager.

Room Tip: Ask to see if they have a view room available! Some rooms are suites and some are mini-suites with k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junelakevillager, Manager at June Lake Villager, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! It was so nice to have you stay with us for such a long period of time. You were able to experience a lot of our up improvements first hand and it was great to have your feedback and see you enjoying yourself in our lovely town. We hope you will come back for a visit again soon. We would love to see some more of your artwork and pottery skills as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed two weekends at The Villager in June Lake and it is the best deal in the Mammoth ski area. about 1.5 miles from June Mountain Ski Area, 20 minute drive to Mammoth Mountain by way of the Mammoth Scenic Loop, and right across the street from the World Famous Tiger Bar.
The new owners an managers are making improvements weekly. New flat screen TV's, Free Wifi, new furniture and the beds are all brand new.
If you are a skier or snowboarder, you can get your stick (Snowboard) waxed at Ernies Bait & Tackle while you have breakfast at the Tiger Bar. .
The Sierra Club is also down the street and there was a live band with great dancing music and lots of two steps and waltz's.
I am looking forward to staying at he Villager again soon.
Best bargin for the price in Mammoth Ski Area.

Cowboy Tom

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junelakevillager, Manager at June Lake Villager, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you, Tom , for writing such a nice review for us. It is always a pleasure to see your friendly face in June Lake. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed all of the upgrades we have been making so far. We only plan to continue making improvements to our rooms and our property. Can't wait for your next stay with us so you can see for yourself...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Place was great, friendly staff, awesome cabin, bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Solid WiFi close to good eating. We went there to ski and relax and this place fits the bill. It is quaint and quiet and close to resorts. No restaurant on property but right across from property is everything you'd need. perfect vacation!

Room Tip: Stay here you won't regret it. Super cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junelakevillager, Manager at June Lake Villager, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you, Ron, for your great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel is located right next to everything so you can walk every where the manager was great, we stayed there for three nights and rented the 2 room cabin with a kitchen in the back we had problems with the water heater and the front desk lady kindly came and lit the pilot when ever it went out and the last night they gave us the house for the same price .
Overall great stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brycebuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junelakevillager, Manager at June Lake Villager, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you kindly for your nice review. Our goal is to make all of our guest's stay here with us as enjoyable as possible. We hope you can come back soon to see firsthand all of the improvements we have been making. New beds, bedding, flat screen TV's, blackout drapes, and new improved wifi! All for the same low rates!
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.6 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to June Lake Villager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about June Lake Villager

Property: June Lake Villager
Address: 2640 Boulder Dr., P.O. Box 127, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — June Lake Villager 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your June Lake Villager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel June Lake
Motel June Lake
June Lake Villager California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing