We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”
Review of Gull Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gull Lake Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 January 2013

we have stayed during the Xmas holidays. I was little reluctant after reading the review, but booked it anyway. Very beautiful place. From mammoth to June lake it took us only 25 min and nice drive. It is a one bedroom apartment basically. Very spacious for a family. Very clean and kitchen has everything you needed for cooking. Kim at the desk was very helpful during our booking. We had a large group of people and everyone had a great time. We will stay there in the future too. Kids had a great time.

Room Tip: If you are allergic to pets, book the upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in the cabin over Christmas 2012. The overall stay was great. Cabin was clean, couches in the living room were not super comfy, but that was ok. A few places on walls that need touch up paint. Beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was adequate. It might not be for big group of people, but for my husband and I, it was fine. You could fit 6 people in the cabin, four would probably be more comfortable, as there is only one bathroom, and the kitchen is small. Stayed at Knoll Haus right around the corner last year, and the view from this place is amazing comparatively. You see beautiful Sierra peaks right out the front window. We skied right from the front porch. Water pressure in the bathroom was too strong!!! Usually it's the opposite, and you can't adjust the pressure, so the hot water gets used up quickly. The one thing that seemed rather strange, and that we did not like is the way that they procure payment. I had to give a $200.00 deposit almost two months before our stay. That is more than one night of lodging. That wasn't so bad, until they informed me that they charged the balance 3 weeks before we stayed. I can't believe that is legal, and seems very desperate. It may affect our decision to stay there in the future. I did not authorize for them to charge for the rest, and it made me mad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Clean and close to town. Furniture is "rustic" but adaquate. Tub and shower in bathroom but not a lot of storage. Pretty area with mountail views.Really just a motel, a little pricey but so are most of the motels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumberjack2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We arrived early in the afternoon and were given our keys by the young lady in the office. We unloaded our stuff and settled in for a week at June Lake. The room was comfortable, not plush by any standard but this is June Lake not Las Vegas. There was plenty of room to spread out and relax for the two of us and our dog. The kitchen appliances all functioned as required and there were enough utensiles to allow cooking without any hassle. They provide small gas BBQ's and they worked just fine for our needs. The king size bed was firm and comfortable but the pillows were nothing to write home about. The bathroom was large and newly renovated by the look of it. The maid staff changed towels every day, vacuumed the carpet and emptied the trash which is all we really expected for our extended stay. Gull Lake Lodge works fine for us and we will more than likely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLDJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We couldn't decide between 3 and 4 stars, given that the Gull Lake Lodge met our needs and execeded them on some fronts, but was one of the oddist places we've stayed. We arrived in the evening (before 8pm) and there was a key waiting for us. We wanted to ask some questions about the area, but saw no one who appeared to be working there for the 3 days/2 nights we stayed. We declined housekeeping (via a note left on the desk) but wanted to exchange some towels, which wasn't possible give no one was at the desk and no one answered the phone that was there to call someone. We would have liked new towels since there were only two places to hang towels, even though our room slept 4 people. The king bed in the beroom was nice and comfortable and the kitchen area had a nice large table. The futons in the living area for the other two guests were adequate for our daughters to sleep in, but nothing to rave about. Our unit was clean and the full size refrigerator was a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a two story building with no elevator and no room phones. The rooms are sparsely furnished and the mattresses appear to be old and soft. The bathroom only had a small shelf over an open toilet (no toilet seat cover). The sheets and bedspreads were all dark colors, which can mean they are hiding dirt.
This may be a nice place if you have several children and a large dog. It is inexpensive for the area, but I feel it would have a hard time qualifying as average lodging. The parking lot was very noisy in the evening with children running about and someone with their diesel pickup idling right outside our room for several minutes. In the morning I picked up a couple of beer cans and bottles in the parking lot.
Based on the ratings that others gave for this motel, I feel TripAdvisor needs to provide some guide lines for rating lodging. This was one of the few places available in June Lake when we made our reservations and since some customers had rated it excellent or very good, we decided to try it. This was a BIG mistake; of the 12 hotels/motels that we stayed at during our 22 day road trip this was the worst; it did not even compare with the lowest rated Best Western motel.

Room Tip: I can not recommend this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ello0491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We weren't expecting luxury but the only positive thing i can find to say about this lodge is that the bathroom had been recently renovated and the towels were new and changed daily.   Even so there was no lid on the toilet.

Overall impression is depressing.  A dark brown, uncomfortable sofa.   Dark brown bedlinen, supposedly new but of a very strange quality.   The pillows are terrible and should be thrown away.   We stayed 3 nights and the beds weren't made up once !   Very strange as someone had clearly been in the room to change the towels.  

We didn't use the kitchen which was very shabby with the oldest gas stove I have seen in a long time.   Utensils equally old.

The antique hot air heater had been switched on and the pilot light made an annoying flickering noise audible all the time in bedroom and living room.   We asked twice for it to be switched off - once via the phone (we never found anyone actually in the office) and once by leaving a note which was removed but not actioned.

Better to look elsewhere to stay if you want some comfort and some sort of a view.

Room Tip: We emailed a request for an upstairs room, as recommended by others, and were given a downstairs one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vienna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
9.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
106 reviews
2.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
621 reviews
2.4 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Lake Lodge

Address: 132 Bruce St, June Lake, CA 93529
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range: £116 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gull Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you were to build the perfect vacation spot, where would you put it? How about wedging it between two terrific trout lakes, across from a secluded ski area, adjacent to stunning wilderness and smack dab in the middle of three great Eastern Sierra attractions: Yosemite, Mono Lake and Mammoth? We’re a short walk from June and Gull Lakes in a residential neighborhood, sure to make you feel at home. We’re also close to June Lake Village and only a stone’s throw from the June Mountain Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Gull Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gull Lake Hotel June Lake
Gull Lake Motel
Gull Lake Lodge June Lake, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing