We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Gull Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gull Lake Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glendale, California
2 reviews
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Gull Lake Lodge because Mammoth is so crowded. Very peaceful and the view is amazing. They accept dogs which is a plus. Good maid service. Very clean and very nice space. Overall very comfortable and easy location for site seeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    56
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I've been here 3 times and planning a 4th trip, coming to this area annually for the spectacular fall colors and the great hiking in the Eastern Sierras. I come to Gull Lake Lodge in particular as I've stayed in Mammoth, Lee Vining and in Bridgeport similarly priced properties and there's no comparison to what Gull Lake Lodge offers.

For those who have given low ratings to Gull Lake Lodge I suspect they did not do their homework.

If you want a resort or spa experience, by all means look around. Alternatively if will be very well served by staying at Gull Lake Lodge if you:

Are planning on exploring this incredible area and spending the majority of your time enjoying the outdoors (hiking, fishing, photography, visiting Mono Lake, etc),

Value the opportunity to prepare and eat some non-restaurant meals,

Appreciate no road noise (this is tucked into a small neighborhood area well off the main road),

Are travelling with a canine companion,

Prefer staying in a place that offers a family oriented rather than transient-tourist atmosphere. Kind and accommodating owners and staff.

Roomy accommodation, Plenty of place for you and your friends and things to spread out, Great Water pressure, Clean!

I almost want to give this 5 stars because for what they offer, they do it very well. I'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Dont know what was worse, the holes in the walls, the dirt in the bath tub, the pail that collects the water from the broken sink trap, or the dead bugs. But they did give me 10% off to bring it down to 135. My wife called it the Bates Motel, but the Bates would be the Ritz compared to this. Next time, i'll sleep in the car.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaveIt2Stever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monosupe, Owner at Gull Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
We believe that this review is a cyber-bullying attack. We do not believe that this person ever stayed at our establishment. We do not have holes in the walls (outside of some errant nail holes) and we have no buckets under any of our 30 sinks(I personally checked this this morning). We keep our rooms very clean, as noted by many other visitors and our guests that we feel are extended family. Please read our other reviews and decide for your self.
It is a sad day for me when a great tool like trip advisor is not used for it's intended purpose, but used instead to make a personal attack.

Thanks You,
The Magee's, The Bauer's and staff at the Gull Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We love Gull Lake Lodge. We have been going there for over 20 years now and have many wonderful family memories. The cabins are clean and comfortable. The owners/managers Mike, Vicki, and Kim are always helpful. Josafina is the best maid you could ask for. Even though our "Grandpa Fish" is no longer with us, we will treasure the memories and wonderful fishing that his two grand daughters enjoyed with him over the past 20 years and plan on coming back for the next twenty years. Thank you Mike/Vicki/Kim and Josafina!

Room Tip: Room 15 has a view of Gull Lake
See more room tips
Green Features: Family owned and run give it that personal touch. They make sure tat water conservation is in effect and only wash towels as needed.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our room at the Gull Lake Lodge is growing on me..!! June Lake is a Fisherman's Paradise during the summer and I can see why a room at the Gull Lake Lodge would be great for an extended stay.

The Gull Lake Lodge is really only a motel, but...it's dog-friendly, which is important to us.

We booked an upstairs "king" at $100+ (no pet fees), and got ourselves a small apartment. A living room, a full kitchen, a bedroom and a surprisingly nice bathroom. The "apartment" might not be the most luxurious place in the world, but it's hard to beat for functionality. Personally, I doubt that the fishermen care. They were all out on the lake by 6:00 AM looking for the "big one"...:)

If you're looking for "action" June Lake might not be for you. June Lake is small and quiet. Tiger's, a hamburger-type of joint, is well known and has been around for years. The Carson Peak Inn further out on the June Loop is probably your best bet for finer dining.

The City of June Lake consists of a string of lakes...June, Gull, Silver and Grant lakes. The best known mountain in the area is June Mountain with a ski lift.

Some people might only rate the June Lake Lodge as a 3 = average, and I understand that. However, I'm adding a fourth star because of the functionality issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

we have stayed during the Xmas holidays. I was little reluctant after reading the review, but booked it anyway. Very beautiful place. From mammoth to June lake it took us only 25 min and nice drive. It is a one bedroom apartment basically. Very spacious for a family. Very clean and kitchen has everything you needed for cooking. Kim at the desk was very helpful during our booking. We had a large group of people and everyone had a great time. We will stay there in the future too. Kids had a great time.

Room Tip: If you are allergic to pets, book the upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in the cabin over Christmas 2012. The overall stay was great. Cabin was clean, couches in the living room were not super comfy, but that was ok. A few places on walls that need touch up paint. Beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was adequate. It might not be for big group of people, but for my husband and I, it was fine. You could fit 6 people in the cabin, four would probably be more comfortable, as there is only one bathroom, and the kitchen is small. Stayed at Knoll Haus right around the corner last year, and the view from this place is amazing comparatively. You see beautiful Sierra peaks right out the front window. We skied right from the front porch. Water pressure in the bathroom was too strong!!! Usually it's the opposite, and you can't adjust the pressure, so the hot water gets used up quickly. The one thing that seemed rather strange, and that we did not like is the way that they procure payment. I had to give a $200.00 deposit almost two months before our stay. That is more than one night of lodging. That wasn't so bad, until they informed me that they charged the balance 3 weeks before we stayed. I can't believe that is legal, and seems very desperate. It may affect our decision to stay there in the future. I did not authorize for them to charge for the rest, and it made me mad.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
1.4 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#3 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Lake Lodge

Property: Gull Lake Lodge
Address: 132 Bruce St, June Lake, CA 93529
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gull Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you were to build the perfect vacation spot, where would you put it? How about wedging it between two terrific trout lakes, across from a secluded ski area, adjacent to stunning wilderness and smack dab in the middle of three great Eastern Sierra attractions: Yosemite, Mono Lake and Mammoth? We’re a short walk from June and Gull Lakes in a residential neighborhood, sure to make you feel at home. We’re also close to June Lake Village and only a stone’s throw from the June Mountain Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Gull Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gull Lake Hotel June Lake
Gull Lake Motel
Gull Lake Lodge June Lake, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing