We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to return soon!”
Review of Gull Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gull Lake Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at the lodge during the first week of September.We were given a complimentary upgrade to room with king-sized bed at check-in!Visited the June Lake area for some trout fishing and a little R&R.The unit was very clean and comfortable.The kitchen was well stocked with pots,dishes,etc...,bed was comfortable for a good nights sleep.Furnishings in the "living room" area were a bit "spartan",but comfortable.The bathroom was large and newly re-modeled,I think.Gull Lake Lodges and grounds are well kept with B.B.Q.,s for it's guests.The housekeeping staff was friendly and did a fantastic job.The Lodge on Bruce St.,is not only located in an area for some great trout fishing,but centrally located for some breathtaking adventures up and down the Eastern Sierras!Our dog Cleveland(as well as his masters)loved that they're pet friendly so he could share in all the fun.Thanks to owners and staff of Gull Lake Lodge for a great stay!
Chet,Sylvia,and Cleveland

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 665Chet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Celebrated our 18th Anniversary on 9 September here because we had been here 2 years ago and just loved it. Close to the lake and town. Great service from Kim! Met a lot of nice people at the lodge. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisaorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Gull Lake Lodge because Mammoth is so crowded. Very peaceful and the view is amazing. They accept dogs which is a plus. Good maid service. Very clean and very nice space. Overall very comfortable and easy location for site seeing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I've been here 3 times and planning a 4th trip, coming to this area annually for the spectacular fall colors and the great hiking in the Eastern Sierras. I come to Gull Lake Lodge in particular as I've stayed in Mammoth, Lee Vining and in Bridgeport similarly priced properties and there's no comparison to what Gull Lake Lodge offers.

For those who have given low ratings to Gull Lake Lodge I suspect they did not do their homework.

If you want a resort or spa experience, by all means look around. Alternatively if will be very well served by staying at Gull Lake Lodge if you:

Are planning on exploring this incredible area and spending the majority of your time enjoying the outdoors (hiking, fishing, photography, visiting Mono Lake, etc),

Value the opportunity to prepare and eat some non-restaurant meals,

Appreciate no road noise (this is tucked into a small neighborhood area well off the main road),

Are travelling with a canine companion,

Prefer staying in a place that offers a family oriented rather than transient-tourist atmosphere. Kind and accommodating owners and staff.

Roomy accommodation, Plenty of place for you and your friends and things to spread out, Great Water pressure, Clean!

I almost want to give this 5 stars because for what they offer, they do it very well. I'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Dont know what was worse, the holes in the walls, the dirt in the bath tub, the pail that collects the water from the broken sink trap, or the dead bugs. But they did give me 10% off to bring it down to 135. My wife called it the Bates Motel, but the Bates would be the Ritz compared to this. Next time, i'll sleep in the car.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeaveIt2Stever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monosupe, Owner at Gull Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

We believe that this review is a cyber-bullying attack. We do not believe that this person ever stayed at our establishment. We do not have holes in the walls (outside of some errant nail holes) and we have no buckets under any of our 30 sinks(I personally checked this this morning). We keep our rooms very clean, as noted by many other visitors and our guests that we feel are extended family. Please read our other reviews and decide for your self.
It is a sad day for me when a great tool like trip advisor is not used for it's intended purpose, but used instead to make a personal attack.

Thanks You,
The Magee's, The Bauer's and staff at the Gull Lake Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We love Gull Lake Lodge. We have been going there for over 20 years now and have many wonderful family memories. The cabins are clean and comfortable. The owners/managers Mike, Vicki, and Kim are always helpful. Josafina is the best maid you could ask for. Even though our "Grandpa Fish" is no longer with us, we will treasure the memories and wonderful fishing that his two grand daughters enjoyed with him over the past 20 years and plan on coming back for the next twenty years. Thank you Mike/Vicki/Kim and Josafina!

Room Tip: Room 15 has a view of Gull Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our room at the Gull Lake Lodge is growing on me..!! June Lake is a Fisherman's Paradise during the summer and I can see why a room at the Gull Lake Lodge would be great for an extended stay.

The Gull Lake Lodge is really only a motel, but...it's dog-friendly, which is important to us.

We booked an upstairs "king" at $100+ (no pet fees), and got ourselves a small apartment. A living room, a full kitchen, a bedroom and a surprisingly nice bathroom. The "apartment" might not be the most luxurious place in the world, but it's hard to beat for functionality. Personally, I doubt that the fishermen care. They were all out on the lake by 6:00 AM looking for the "big one"...:)

If you're looking for "action" June Lake might not be for you. June Lake is small and quiet. Tiger's, a hamburger-type of joint, is well known and has been around for years. The Carson Peak Inn further out on the June Loop is probably your best bet for finer dining.

The City of June Lake consists of a string of lakes...June, Gull, Silver and Grant lakes. The best known mountain in the area is June Mountain with a ski lift.

Some people might only rate the June Lake Lodge as a 3 = average, and I understand that. However, I'm adding a fourth star because of the functionality issue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
9.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
106 reviews
2.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
621 reviews
2.4 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Lake Lodge

Address: 132 Bruce St, June Lake, CA 93529
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range: £117 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gull Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you were to build the perfect vacation spot, where would you put it? How about wedging it between two terrific trout lakes, across from a secluded ski area, adjacent to stunning wilderness and smack dab in the middle of three great Eastern Sierra attractions: Yosemite, Mono Lake and Mammoth? We’re a short walk from June and Gull Lakes in a residential neighborhood, sure to make you feel at home. We’re also close to June Lake Village and only a stone’s throw from the June Mountain Ski Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gull Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gull Lake Hotel June Lake
Gull Lake Motel
Gull Lake Lodge June Lake, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing