We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED Our Stay at the Heidelberg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heidelberg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heidelberg Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOVED Our Stay at the Heidelberg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We spent a week at the Inn, and absolutely loved it. The accommodations (in our case, the one-bedroom) were very comfortable and the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The central lobby area is charming, and the Inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shops and the lake. It's also conveniently located for day trips! We went to Mono Lake, Yosemite, Mammoth, and Bodie - and the "commutes" from the Heidelberg were very convenient.

Only a couple of things kept this from being a 5-Star review. One, while there are washers and dryers on site, they can't be used by guests until after 4:00 p.m. typically. The other issue was that our bedroom windown looked out over the back parking lot and was literally just a few feet from where people were coming and going, chatting and smoking, etc. There wasn't a sheer drape over this window like there was over the "living room" window, so it was an all or nothing situation with the drape. The window was also within a few feet of some sort of electrical box that buzzed all night long....a bit of a buzz kill when one has traveled hundreds of miles to get "into nature". :)

Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Heidelberg and would definitely recommend it to others - as well as stay there ourselves again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JaneceHerrington44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for you review and my apologies for the delay in responding. The draperies have been replaced and all of the units have sheers as well as black-out curtains. There are rooms that are closer in proximity to the parking lot than others, and it is a matter of request and timing when making those room assignments, but it sounds like you enjoyed your stay regardless. The electrical box actually belongs to Edison and is not associated with our building, it just happens to be fixed on our property and yes, it does make noise which can be heard when the windows are open in the unit. We do try to take into consideration the length of your stay when assigning rooms, and save the rooms on that side of the building for one or two night stays.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    37
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This isn't a luxurious resort but it is very nice and clean. The staff is great and very helpful. We stayed here as part of a timeshare exchange and visited many places in the area (Yosemite, Mammoth, Bodie, Mono Lake, etc.)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Califcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
This is not a luxurious resort and it does not claim to be. It is however, clean, quiet and unique in comparison to the timeshare properties within Wyndham Vacation Resorts. We recommend that guests considering staying here do their research to minimize or hopefully eliminate any potentially unexpected or negative aspects of their vacation experience. While there is a lot of information out there on the internet, the best way to find out what we offer is to call us directly.

Thank you for your response an we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Our two 15 year old grandsons loved the old fashioned comfort, the town small enough to wander about, the hot tubs, talking to "interesting people." We took day trips to Bodie, Mammoth Lakes, and Obsidian Crater, all fun and interesting.
We felt comfortable letting them roam....around town, down to the docks, over to the grocery store, a
freedom they don't have so much at home with their parents in San Jose.

Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms and grounds were clean and well-kept. Good selection of older movies which we played in the room easily. TV reception was good.

Other comments: Tiger Bar across the street tends to get noisy around midnight and the one bedroom unit we had was really a bed- alcove with no window. If we were to go there again, I would make sure of the bedroom situation. Dishwasher was loud. Wi-fi was sporatic in the evening in the room - but tolerable, and ok during daylight hours.
Couldn't figure out the bar-b-ques, but we're not really into that anyway, and the staff did offer to help. Adequate storage and closet space. Ground floor room with balcony and little view of Lake was fine.

We had a great time, and would definitely consider staying there again on a repeat visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
June Lake is a place where you can give the kids a little more freedom than they have in the city. The Tiger Bar continues to be a minor irritant, but paradise is not perfect and we work with them as much as possible to keep the noise under control. The unit that you stayed in is a little different than our other units in that the bedroom does not have a window, thus it cannot have a solid door, thus the louvered folding doors and alcove feel. The internet service is currently undergoing upgrades both on our end and in the general area, so that will behave better some time soon. The BBQs receive heavy use and the ignitor buttons wear out quickly. We keep manual lighters and extra propane tanks handy and are ready to assist when necessary.

Thank you for your response and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarrawonga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

step back in time with movies stars of the 40s great old photos on the walls!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Absolutely! Long time local residents will confirm that personalities such as Betty White, Frank Capra, Charlie Chaplin, Bob Hope and others visited and/or stayed here. June Lake was and still is a popular filming location. Our lobby walls are decorated with photos of these memorable movie legends.

Thank you for letting others know about our star-studded history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

I have just checked into the Heidelberg Inn and am very dis satisfied! I have been coming here as an owner for 20 years and these last 4 to 5 years they have done nothing to make me happy. This is a beautiful place to visit but the accommodations get worse each year. The dues go up but the service and everything else gets worse! I really think they cater more to the rental market where they can make more money that to owners.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 56203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I understand your frustration with your most recent visit. A room request is not a guarantee that you will receive that room, regardless of your ownership status. In checking your stays with us over the past ten years, you have received your room request more than half of the time, and those times when we did not have that specific room available for you, we gave you a comparable room, i.e., one with a a view and a balcony. I have actually had guests fighting over rooms while waiting to check in, so I understand the importance of a request and the difference it can make in your vacation experience.

We do our best to give the owners preference in room assignment, and in this case, we were not able to get you into your favorite room until the day after you arrived. This was due to a late booking by our rental division, and that room was the only unit available for that reservation. Room assignments are like a giant puzzle, and sometimes the pieces will only fit a certain way in order to get everyone in here. Unfortunately for you, it did not fit perfectly this time, but we worked it out. Yes, we should have contacted you to let you know what had happened so you knew what to expect when you arrived.

The maintenance fees have not increased more than 3% each year for the past five years, yet we have managed to make tremendous improvements in the facility without any special assessments. In fact, for 2008, the assessments increased 1%, and for 2010 there was a 0% increase. Here is a list of what we've done during that time: unit and lobby bathroom remodel, office remodel, major plumbing and structural repairs, parking lot replacement/resurfacing and re-striping (including lighting and handicap upgrades), lobby carpet replacement, deck replacement, BBQ replacement, deck furniture replacement, exterior building re-painting, spa upgrades (heaters, pumps and filters), soft goods remodel (this includes draperies, all upholstered furniture, bedding and carpeting, currently in progress), and our new ice machine was installed today.

This is an 80 year old building and she needs a lot of love. Often we do not realize

Our rental program was set up to recover lost revenue from delinquencies due to time share owners who default. As you can imagine, all of our resorts are experiencing a higher than normal delinquency rate due to current economic situations affecting time share owners everywhere. We do not "cater" to renters, however, we welcome them since they make it possible to keep your annual assessment from increasing. Yes, we do take "walk-in" renters and we consider ourselves fortunate to be in a location where we have that opportunity. Those rooms would otherwise sit vacant with no revenue to support them.

Thank you for being a concerned and contientious timeshare owner. I appreciate your comments and am proud to have you as a long time Heidelberg owner. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

When we arrived in mid-June the lobby was warm and stuffy, as was our room. We were told there was no a/c on the property but we could use a window fan. Our room was on the ground floor, which turned out to be a bit below ground level as the building is on a hill. The parking lot was just a few feet from our room so we could not open our window, for privacy , noise and air quality reasons. Fortunately the front desk person (who was extremely nice) found us a room on the second floor where we could use a fan; since the temp cooled outdoors at night, we were able to sleep. But if you want A/C, stay elsewhere.
**NOTE that there are no services here. The front desk closes at 10pm and no one is available after that, even for emergencies. There is no on-site maintenance person. The advertised activities are minimal (ex: 2 nights are 'movie night' where you pick a dvd and play it on the large tv in the lobby) and there is no swimming pool even tho the website says that there are 2. Instead there are 2 jacuzzis (and a sauna). The rooms vary a lot in size, so be sure to ask for a large one. Kitchens, bathrooms and carpets are new.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better; downstairs take front of bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GelatoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

I recently traveled with my 3 year old granddaughter to June Lake, CA where we stayed at the Heidelburg Inn. This place is awesome! I felt like I was staying with family and friends. The ladies at the front desk were so personable. They were always pleasent to talk to and helpful with anything I asked about.
We had a wonderful visit.
This place is beautiful. The huge fireplace in the middle of the lobby keeps you warm at night, and I loved reading to my little one while sipping on hot coco.
There are plenty of movies to rent, games to play with and something going on just about every night.
There are several resturants located just across the street or the rooms are equipped with everything you need to cook yourself up a great meal.
I love the bathtubs! They are deep and comfortable to soak in on a cold day.
The fall colors were beautiful, and the town is full of wonderful people at all the establishments I visited..
The pictures on line do not justice to this place. It is beautiful. I will be going back next year and can't wait.
Thank you for helping make my vacation a memorible one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan8532037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you had such a memorable stay. You are correct in stating that the pictures on line do not do this resort or the June Lake area justice. It truly is something you have to see for yourself. We had a gorgeous fall and are having a spectacular winter. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
12.4 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#3 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gull Lake Lodge
Gull Lake Lodge
#2 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Property: Heidelberg Inn
Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heidelberg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake
Heidelberg Inn June Lake, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing