We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Heidelberg Inn Is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heidelberg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Encinitas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Heidelberg Inn Is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We just returned from another amazing two weeks at the Heidelberg Inn.
The staff members at the Heidelberg are a team of real pros led by Karen O'Keffe..
Their top priority is "guest services". and they create a climate at the Heidelberg that makes it easy for guests to relax and unwind and really enjoy their stay.
We enjoyed the daily coffee and hot chocolate bar, the Sunday Continental breakfast, The Monday welcome social and the Thursday floats and Sundaes night. The Bavarian style architecture, the spectacular fireplace, the "olde time" photos and the classic and historical decor of Heidelberg make it an exciting place to stay..
We appreciate the complimentary mid-week cleaning. The housekeeping staff led by Cecelia see to it that guests have clean linins and plenty of towels. kitchen and bath related items.
Bottom Line the Heidelberg Inn is one of our most favorite places to come each year with family members in order to have a terrific vacation
Our hats off to the pros at the Heidelberg for a Job Well Done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We enjoy hosting you and your family every summer. Your passion and excitement for the Heidelberg and June Lake are what keep us motivated to provide outstanding service. Thank you for your wonderful review and for mentioning our often overlooked housekeeping staff. They are the hardest working members of our team. We will see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    37
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Papillion
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. Built in 1928 and has that old time charm yet the rooms are all newly updated. The lobby has a huge fireplace and it also has a Jacuzzi and amazing views of the lake and mountains. Small little town but fun place to stay. We were afraid it would old and not fun to stay in but the staff was amazing the rooms were great with a kitchen and table and living room area. I highly recommend this place and I hope to go back someday. Oh, there were movie stars that have stayed there in the past such as Bob Hope and many others. Their pictures are all on the walls in the lobby! Fun!

Room Tip: All rooms were good. We didn't get the lake view but the other mountain view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
You did not have a lake view, but you still enjoyed what we have to offer. That is refreshing to hear, as we would love to give everyone a lake view, but unfortunately, we cannot. We encourage our guests to get out and use the deck area and explore other view points in town to get their fill of the natural splendor. Yes, the building is old, constructed in 1927, but we are continually making improvements and upgrades as our budget allows. Thank you for your response and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We had a one-night stay here to visit Yosemite as a leg of our Lake Tahoe trip. Still was an hour or so to the park entrance at Tioga Pass, but it beat driving all the way from Lake Tahoe with no rest.

The staff here was great! They called me to make sure I would be arriving before the front desk closed at 10pm. I got there around 9:40. They went out of the way to help us get dinner, though all of the restaurants were practically closed when we arrived.

Our room was a 2-bedroom, one bath. Immaculate and nicely decorated. The building has a nice, "old" feel. The pictures that I saw on the celebrity wall in the lobby were all black-and-white. I saw Clark Gable, and Greta Garbo. Room keys were actually keys. Heater was wall-mounted. Lots of wood is used in the lobby decor. Notes around our room about how to use the towels and appliances were a little quirky.

The whole area has the feel of a village. We left at 7 the next morning for Yosemite, so our stay was VERY brief. Probably need to stay more than one night to get the full feel for this place.

More of a lodge than a hotel. Pricing reflects that.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 415SecondStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Quirky is definitely how we describe some of the aspects of the Heidelberg as well as June Lake. Small towns and 86 year old buildings do not always fit the normal expectations of our visitors. Thank you for your review and please visit us again when you can spend more time in June Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 2 reasons: it's close to yosemite and the rooms have a kitchenette.
We've been happy: the common areas are cozy, the room big and clean with a fully furnished kitchen, the staff is nice and the athmosphere is relaxing.
Location is good, walking distance to June lake, 20 mins driving to mono lake tufas, 40 mins from Yosemite eastern entrance and 2.5 hours to Yosemite village (went on a day and it's worth it!).
The reason why I'm not giving 5 stars is the quality of sleep: the bed was too soft and the walls thin so the noise from hall, neighbours (probably going fishing at down) and parking lot woke us up several times.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Your information about our location and proximity to area amenities is certainly helpful to other guests. It is rare that we hear comments about noise from room to room, but things can be very quiet here in the mountains so it very well may be the case. The rear parking lot is in close proximity to the building, so be sure to advance request an upstairs unit or a room with a lake view. The beds are pillow top mattresses and some of our guests find them a bit on the soft side. Come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is an out of the way place to visit. It's perfect for relaxing or fishing or being in the mountains. The four-sided fireplace is warm and inviting. And huge! It takes up much of the common area space. One thing I really liked is how small the place was, less than 50 units. That gave you a warmer and more personal home like feel.

These are two room units with a kitchen and dining and living are in one room and a bedroom with a queen size bed. The sofa is a pull out and four people could stay together, but it would be cozy. The kitchen has burners, but no oven. Other than an oven, it pretty much has every needed that you might have in your own kitchen. But it's tiny.

There are plenty of thing to see in the area, but you will need a vehicle. For example, there's Mono Lake, Devils Postpile Monument, Bodie Ghost Town (Gold Rush from the 1880's), Yosemite National Park (although the entrance is only 30 minutes away, the village is a two hour plus drive) and Kings Canyon National Park is two hour drive to the south.

Room Tip: 1. This is not about the room, but he altitude here is 7,500+ feet. Beware of altitude sickness. Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Our rooms are on the smaller side, about 460 sf in the one bedroom units and about 610 sf in the two bedroom units. If you will be using the sofa bed, then the living/dining area is reduced quite a bit. The kitchens do lack a conventional oven, however, a two burner range and microwave are provided. The front office can also provide a crock pot, electric skillet or toaster over for your use. There are also two BBQs located on our deck, great for cooking your catch of the day, even if it's chicken and burgers.

Thank you for responding, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is at 8000 ft which can cause altitude dizziness for some people, me included. Rooms are small suites with kitchens. Well equipped with nice bathrooms. Queen size bed which is a negative for us. Good value as the walkin rate with tax was $110.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
The altitude is certainly a factor in your experience with us. Some folks feel it immediately, while others feel no effect at all. If you do feel it, it's not fun, like having the flu. We recommend drinking water before and during your visit, and giving yourself time to acclimate by stopping in Bishop or one of the other towns on your way along Highway 395 for lunch or shopping. Our beds are no larger than queen size, due to the size of our rooms, so things may get cozier than you prefer.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Nice staff, clean rooms, breathtaking views from #15, 1-br, large fireplace in grand lobby. Walk to bars, restaurants, laundry (free wash and dry) laundry soap if you forget to bring your own is $1 each.

vending on site
weekly ice cream social half hour 7:00-7:30 Thursday evening

Drive the whole loop, see the waterfalls and come back to your home away from home.

Close to Mammoth Mountain and Mono Lake. Lots of sight seeing.

Be sure to hike Obsidian - the trail is to the right of the parking lot, just keep going, like a corkscrew up the side of the dome. It is like another world up there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Sounds like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the amenities we had to offer. Ice cream night is still the most popular weekly activity that we offer, even in the winter!

Thank for for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
13.2 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.1 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#2 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Property: Heidelberg Inn
Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heidelberg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake
Heidelberg Inn June Lake, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing