We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this place is a hotel, NOT a resort!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heidelberg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heidelberg Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this place is a hotel, NOT a resort!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We exchanged our timeshare in vistana village Orlando FL for a week at Heidelberg Inn Resort. We checked in on 9/1/13. If you are used to staying at nice resorts, prepare yourself for big dissapointment. The presidential 2-bedroom unit was the size of a large hotel room, extremely small for the 4 of us. There's no way you can comfortably have 6 people stay in this unit. There's only one bathroom. There's NO air conditioner. Their advice; "leave your windows opened". Not fun when it's 95 degrees inthe high desert. June lake is beautiful though.

This place is not a resort, this is an old hotel being called a resort. We only stayed one night. Called interval and told them the accomodations were not acceptable, and got our week back to use at a later time. We were more comfortable staying at navy lodge hotels around the state.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetPea32226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    37
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I were here for the first week in July 2013. It was superb. The rooms were very comfortable, the public areas well managed and relaxing, and the situation the best in JL, but above all I would pick out the staff for special mention. We had problems on arrival with a cancelled flight and so arrived at 4.30am driving from Reno. Karen had this covered with absolutely no difficulty and keys were arranged. We then had no bags 'till Tuesday but Janice was totally in control and helped us here until they arrived on Tuesday - thanks Sheila for your help here too. I do hope we can come again at some point in the future although California is a long way for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyholidaymaker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
It is great that you did not let your airline difficulties spoil your experience. Thank you for mentioning our staff members by name as they strive to provide the best experience possible. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylmar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I have never experienced a better vacation than what we had at Heidelberg Inn this past week,I would like to single out The Trout Slayer (Sheila) for her helpful-ness and attitude in making this a very pleasurable vacation, The area has so much to offer we try to extend our stay even tho we had stayed 7days , unfortunately they were book no surprise there, so we are going to try and book again next year with my favorite in-law's so that they have a great experience as we did.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curtis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We aim to please, and it sounds like the "Trout Slayer", a.k.a. Sheila took care of that for us. Our staff members are passionate about June Lake, each in his/her own way, and it is great when they can share that with our guests. Fishing, hiking, skiing and the natural beauty of the area are the reason why they are here, and the reason so many of our guests return year after year.

Thanks for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We just returned from another amazing two weeks at the Heidelberg Inn.
The staff members at the Heidelberg are a team of real pros led by Karen O'Keffe..
Their top priority is "guest services". and they create a climate at the Heidelberg that makes it easy for guests to relax and unwind and really enjoy their stay.
We enjoyed the daily coffee and hot chocolate bar, the Sunday Continental breakfast, The Monday welcome social and the Thursday floats and Sundaes night. The Bavarian style architecture, the spectacular fireplace, the "olde time" photos and the classic and historical decor of Heidelberg make it an exciting place to stay..
We appreciate the complimentary mid-week cleaning. The housekeeping staff led by Cecelia see to it that guests have clean linins and plenty of towels. kitchen and bath related items.
Bottom Line the Heidelberg Inn is one of our most favorite places to come each year with family members in order to have a terrific vacation
Our hats off to the pros at the Heidelberg for a Job Well Done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We enjoy hosting you and your family every summer. Your passion and excitement for the Heidelberg and June Lake are what keep us motivated to provide outstanding service. Thank you for your wonderful review and for mentioning our often overlooked housekeeping staff. They are the hardest working members of our team. We will see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. Built in 1928 and has that old time charm yet the rooms are all newly updated. The lobby has a huge fireplace and it also has a Jacuzzi and amazing views of the lake and mountains. Small little town but fun place to stay. We were afraid it would old and not fun to stay in but the staff was amazing the rooms were great with a kitchen and table and living room area. I highly recommend this place and I hope to go back someday. Oh, there were movie stars that have stayed there in the past such as Bob Hope and many others. Their pictures are all on the walls in the lobby! Fun!

Room Tip: All rooms were good. We didn't get the lake view but the other mountain view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
You did not have a lake view, but you still enjoyed what we have to offer. That is refreshing to hear, as we would love to give everyone a lake view, but unfortunately, we cannot. We encourage our guests to get out and use the deck area and explore other view points in town to get their fill of the natural splendor. Yes, the building is old, constructed in 1927, but we are continually making improvements and upgrades as our budget allows. Thank you for your response and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We had a one-night stay here to visit Yosemite as a leg of our Lake Tahoe trip. Still was an hour or so to the park entrance at Tioga Pass, but it beat driving all the way from Lake Tahoe with no rest.

The staff here was great! They called me to make sure I would be arriving before the front desk closed at 10pm. I got there around 9:40. They went out of the way to help us get dinner, though all of the restaurants were practically closed when we arrived.

Our room was a 2-bedroom, one bath. Immaculate and nicely decorated. The building has a nice, "old" feel. The pictures that I saw on the celebrity wall in the lobby were all black-and-white. I saw Clark Gable, and Greta Garbo. Room keys were actually keys. Heater was wall-mounted. Lots of wood is used in the lobby decor. Notes around our room about how to use the towels and appliances were a little quirky.

The whole area has the feel of a village. We left at 7 the next morning for Yosemite, so our stay was VERY brief. Probably need to stay more than one night to get the full feel for this place.

More of a lodge than a hotel. Pricing reflects that.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 415SecondStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Quirky is definitely how we describe some of the aspects of the Heidelberg as well as June Lake. Small towns and 86 year old buildings do not always fit the normal expectations of our visitors. Thank you for your review and please visit us again when you can spend more time in June Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 2 reasons: it's close to yosemite and the rooms have a kitchenette.
We've been happy: the common areas are cozy, the room big and clean with a fully furnished kitchen, the staff is nice and the athmosphere is relaxing.
Location is good, walking distance to June lake, 20 mins driving to mono lake tufas, 40 mins from Yosemite eastern entrance and 2.5 hours to Yosemite village (went on a day and it's worth it!).
The reason why I'm not giving 5 stars is the quality of sleep: the bed was too soft and the walls thin so the noise from hall, neighbours (probably going fishing at down) and parking lot woke us up several times.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Your information about our location and proximity to area amenities is certainly helpful to other guests. It is rare that we hear comments about noise from room to room, but things can be very quiet here in the mountains so it very well may be the case. The rear parking lot is in close proximity to the building, so be sure to advance request an upstairs unit or a room with a lake view. The beds are pillow top mattresses and some of our guests find them a bit on the soft side. Come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
12.4 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#3 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gull Lake Lodge
Gull Lake Lodge
#2 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Property: Heidelberg Inn
Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heidelberg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake
Heidelberg Inn June Lake, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing