We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for us”
Review of Heidelberg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heidelberg Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

3 of us stayed here 2 nights in October. Our room was the perfect size with a bedroom for me and my wife, and my brother in law had the sleep sofa. Very clean. Wifi could have been better. The main lobby area is very big, open, and kind of charming. We cooked dinner, kitchen was stocked ok, just remember there's no oven, just a microwave and stove top. No elevator, so be prepared to carry your stuff up a long flight of stairs.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank HowardFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your response. The elevator and the wifi continue to overshadow all of the other wonderful things we have to offer, and at the moment, only the wifi is something that we can improve. Our local service provider has been working to improve the area-wide service, and we are making upgrades to our equipment to improve our signal strength. An elevator is not likely to be installed soon if ever, due to the impact on the historical and aesthetic properties of the building. Most of our guest don't mind the climb up the stairs, because the view is worth it!

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Heidelberg Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived without any reservations late in the day. While the greeting could have been warmer, the walk-in rate was very reasonable, and once we had introduced ourselves, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The suite was spacious, clean, and well appointed, the location fine, and everything went smoothly. We are pleased to recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveAndKarenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We are glad that we could accommodate you and thank you for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Two weeks of another amazing stay at the Heidelberg Inn. They have a lot going on here if you want to attend such as: Coffee Bar Daily at the Lobby Bar. Sunday is Continental Breakfast. Monday is Welcome Social for meet and greet with other quests. Wednesday Night is movie night on a big screen TV. Thursday is my favorite, Floats and Sundaes night. Friday is again Movie Night at the big screen TV in the Lobby. They also have a game room with pool table and ping pong table.

For a Hotel built in the 1920’s, the rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms have been updated nicely. The lobby has a huge fireplace and many old time photos back from the 20’s and 30’s are hanging on the walls. Very classy place and they keep it that way.

For you fishermen, they have a fish cleaning station plus a freezer to store your catch. If you’re here in winter they have lockers for your skis or snowshoes’.

The best part of staying here is you’re in the most beautiful place in the mountains with breathtaking views. June Lake Loop is one of the most gorgeous places to stay and makes a good central location for visiting other places. You’re close to Yosemite, Bodie, Mammoth Lakes and many trails and lakes are close by.

The negatives are few. No elevator for the second floor, so get a ground floor room if stairs are difficult for you. Wi-Fi was a bit slow, but they told me they will be updating to a better system later this years.

But why this place rates a 5 star are the people who work here. From Karen O’Keffe, Janice and Sheila (The Trout Slayer) and housekeeping, the staffs here are great! They take care of you. What more can you ask for!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wshawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review and for sharing with others some of the amenities that we offer. We are always striving to improve the facilities and services, and the internet is a work in progress. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We exchanged our timeshare in vistana village Orlando FL for a week at Heidelberg Inn Resort. We checked in on 9/1/13. If you are used to staying at nice resorts, prepare yourself for big dissapointment. The presidential 2-bedroom unit was the size of a large hotel room, extremely small for the 4 of us. There's no way you can comfortably have 6 people stay in this unit. There's only one bathroom. There's NO air conditioner. Their advice; "leave your windows opened". Not fun when it's 95 degrees inthe high desert. June lake is beautiful though.

This place is not a resort, this is an old hotel being called a resort. We only stayed one night. Called interval and told them the accomodations were not acceptable, and got our week back to use at a later time. We were more comfortable staying at navy lodge hotels around the state.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SweetPea32226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I were here for the first week in July 2013. It was superb. The rooms were very comfortable, the public areas well managed and relaxing, and the situation the best in JL, but above all I would pick out the staff for special mention. We had problems on arrival with a cancelled flight and so arrived at 4.30am driving from Reno. Karen had this covered with absolutely no difficulty and keys were arranged. We then had no bags 'till Tuesday but Janice was totally in control and helped us here until they arrived on Tuesday - thanks Sheila for your help here too. I do hope we can come again at some point in the future although California is a long way for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyholidaymaker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

It is great that you did not let your airline difficulties spoil your experience. Thank you for mentioning our staff members by name as they strive to provide the best experience possible. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I have never experienced a better vacation than what we had at Heidelberg Inn this past week,I would like to single out The Trout Slayer (Sheila) for her helpful-ness and attitude in making this a very pleasurable vacation, The area has so much to offer we try to extend our stay even tho we had stayed 7days , unfortunately they were book no surprise there, so we are going to try and book again next year with my favorite in-law's so that they have a great experience as we did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curtis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We aim to please, and it sounds like the "Trout Slayer", a.k.a. Sheila took care of that for us. Our staff members are passionate about June Lake, each in his/her own way, and it is great when they can share that with our guests. Fishing, hiking, skiing and the natural beauty of the area are the reason why they are here, and the reason so many of our guests return year after year.

Thanks for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We just returned from another amazing two weeks at the Heidelberg Inn.
The staff members at the Heidelberg are a team of real pros led by Karen O'Keffe..
Their top priority is "guest services". and they create a climate at the Heidelberg that makes it easy for guests to relax and unwind and really enjoy their stay.
We enjoyed the daily coffee and hot chocolate bar, the Sunday Continental breakfast, The Monday welcome social and the Thursday floats and Sundaes night. The Bavarian style architecture, the spectacular fireplace, the "olde time" photos and the classic and historical decor of Heidelberg make it an exciting place to stay..
We appreciate the complimentary mid-week cleaning. The housekeeping staff led by Cecelia see to it that guests have clean linins and plenty of towels. kitchen and bath related items.
Bottom Line the Heidelberg Inn is one of our most favorite places to come each year with family members in order to have a terrific vacation
Our hats off to the pros at the Heidelberg for a Job Well Done.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We enjoy hosting you and your family every summer. Your passion and excitement for the Heidelberg and June Lake are what keep us motivated to provide outstanding service. Thank you for your wonderful review and for mentioning our often overlooked housekeeping staff. They are the hardest working members of our team. We will see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
10.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
840 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
90 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
603 reviews
10.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range: £137 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heidelberg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake
Heidelberg Inn June Lake, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing