We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heidelberg Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
June Lake Villager(June Lake)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Mountain Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Austria Hof Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
US$500
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gull Lake Lodge(June Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
June Lake Pines(June Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
June Lake Motel(June Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
50
40
7
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
40
7
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge fireplacetime sharemammoth lakesmono lakesleeper sofabedroom suitebob hopetwo burner stoveupdated bathhot tubparking lotenjoyed our staycoffee providedtioga passsmall townrustic lodgejune mountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As many of the others have noted this is a great little spot in a oh so small town which makes it better than the crush in Mammoth Village for people like us. We grilled salmon in the shared deck and watched the sunset. We visited in June (days about 72 but the nights were in the 40's) the room was very warm during the day, better if you leave your front door open to catch a breeze. They have fans but with no A/C it could feel very warm for the sensitive. Great historical photos everywhere.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom upper corner with a partial lake view over the streets of the town. The views are better from the shared deck space.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We often have visitors from areas where the temps reach into the 90s, and when they hear we have no A/C they tend to freak out a little bit. The rooms can be warm during the day, especially those units on the side of the building that receives the majority of daily sun. The evenings are cool here as you stated, so most of our guests find themselves closing the windows as the sun goes down. This is the great outdoors, so we expect you to get out and enjoy it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I wasn't expecting much from this 2-1/2 star inn. The pictures are not updated on their website either, so I was surprised to find that the room was pretty much new. We had a 1 bedroom for about 100/night. What a deal! It had a little kitchenette with everything you can think of except an oven. The beds were comfy. The only thing is the shower doesn't run that strong, but I mean for the price.... I can't complain. The location is perfect... right in town! They have a fireplace downstairs, an activity room, a fish cleaning station, a hot tub and they'll let you borrow robes, but we didn't take advantage of that. It was quiet and resort-like. The whole place felt warm and inviting! I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiaganon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I'm not sure where your 2.5 star rating came from, as we have a 4 star rating from Trip Advisor and are rated the number one June Lake hotel on their site. Nevertheless, we are glad that you chose to stay with us. The photos on the various web sites range in time, and they really do not do the place justice. There are numerous deals out there or you can walk in off the street and we will take care of you. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you do your homework this hotel will more than meet your expectations.

OK the area is a little isolated, but June Lake is stunning, and the hotel has an old word charm, with a beautiful open gas fire, and gallery above the lobby and very comfortable seating area.

Reception staff very helpful and friendly, even calling to check road conditions for us.

Rooms are more than adequate, comfortable, effective heating (No air con, but how often will you need it at over 7,000 feet?) and have everything you need. Washing and drying is available at the hotel, free, as is the wi-fi.

Car parking is right outside, and they even provide a light breakfast (free) on one morning. Tea and coffee is always available in the public area, free of charge.

I would definitely stay here again, cannot fault it at all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaymaker9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for an accurate description of what folks can expect when they visit. Our resort is cozy and homey, no frills but the basics are taken care of with a few little surprises thrown in. Even a normal snow season is light on local services during the week, perfect if you are looking to relax and be left alone. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A serendipity find this week while traveling northbound 395 to San Francisco. Extremely helpful staff, clean, clean, clean one bedroom until with cozy well-equipped kitchen. Free laundry, coffee bar an event every evening. Seemed like home-town America circa 1955. Tiny village, limited services in spring, but a wonderful respite from places more touristy like Mammoth Lakes and Death Valley. Do not travel much further on 395 north, there are almost no other overnight accommodations available especially before the 'season' begins later in the spring. We found only Monitor Pass was open so it was a long trip into SF from June Lake. But, gorgeous.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EljayNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback and a wonderful description of our little village. That time of year can be tricky, especially with the less than spectacular winter we had this past year. Many of the local businesses are very seasonal, and when the season fizzles, they may close their doors until late spring/early summer. From your photos, it looks like you had a wonderful time and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a lovely Inn nestled in the quaint town of June Lake. No need to trot up those steps to the entrance unless you want to. It's good exercise and fun to do once. But if your room is upstairs and I hope it is, then prepare for a view and some more steps. Such a beautiful place. It has a large patio for BBQing. You can also dip in the jacuzzi. We took hikes, canoed, drove around and took in the breathe taking views. It snowed a little. What a surprise and beautiful to see on a fall day early October. Watch the altitude if you go hiking, it's breath taking as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

The altitude is certainly breathtaking - even for those of us who have lived here for a while. I still have to pause to stop and catch my breath after climbing those stairs. Nevertheless, anything worth while is worth working for, like our magnificent view. The view can also be enjoyed from our sun deck, ground floor, no stairs! Thanks for the great review and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews