We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable condo accodations”
Review of Heidelberg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heidelberg Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Heidelberg Inn. Although it was a condo, it was really like staying in a hotel. The lobby has the old world, 1920s ski chalet character and the guest suites are modern. The woman at the front desk was efficient but not very welcoming, Our suite, 110, was nicely appointed, with a nice, spacious tile bathroom. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything, so we had ate breakfast there two mornings. Breakfast is not served and there, and are no restaurants on the premise. The hotel was very quiet at night. Since we were on the first floor, which meant that we were cautious about sleeping with the windows open at night. And right at street level proved to be very noisy in the morning. AC wasn't needed because it drops to about 50 degrees at night. There were two bed rooms, which were very small. One room had a queen bed which was very comfortable, but didn't have a lot of floor space and felt crowded for two people. The room didn't lock because the closet had sliding doors that opened to the living area on the other side. The second room had a double bed, which had more privacy then the room with the queen. The sofa bed in the living room was pretty comfortable. Overall we liked the inn, but here are some suggestions if you wish to book this hotel:
1. They advertise that they are 28 miles from Yosemite, which is true. But you are at the far side of the park. It will take over 2 hours to drive to the Valley, which is where the major sites are.
2. Request a room on the second floor, facing the lake and mountains
3. Restaurants in the immediate area are not good (see reviews for the Tiger Bar)
The June Lake area is beautiful. This would be a good hotel if you are planning to spend time in the immediate June Lake area, or ski. Bring food, especially for breakfast because there is nothing close by that is good to eat.
I felt that for the price at $200 a night, with taxes, it was a pretty good value for the accommodations.

Room Tip: Request second floor room, facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gwardbeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have to agree with your suggestions to other travelers. We take requests for room selection as far as upstairs or downstairs and views. These are on a first come, first serve basis, and due to the large volume of those requests, we give preference to our timshare owners. The room that you stayed in is a little unusual in that the closet is a "walk though" not a "walk in". It is our only unit that has that feature. Yes, the dining selection is not stellar, imagine if you had to live here! However, there are some hidden gems that are popular with locals and some new food trucks that have popped up in the last several months. Glad you enjoyed the area and the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week in a 2 bedroom unit with our boys, ages 6 and 8 at the Heidelberg Inn. We typically stay here every January (for the past 4 years) and ski at June Mountain or Mammoth. We found that summer is a great time to stay here as well. The rooms are very clean, the kitchen and bathroom are remodeled, the staff is attentive and the location is perfect. The historic building adds to the ambiance. Fishing is a lot of fun and we discovered off roading can be a lot of fun here as well, check out High Sierra Jeep Adventures.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Adriancr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. The Jeep tour is a relatively new activity here in June lake and we have heard many positive responses from guests and other visitors who have participated. Like yourselves, we hear from many guests who switch seasons and love the new experiences that they find. We hope to see you again, winter or summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I stayed here for three nights. It was BEAUTIFUL. Rooms fully furnished with real furniture not those hard just sit down for a second chairs and couches that you run across in most hotels. This is a time share property with condos in one building like a hotel. The front entrance is beautiful with this HUGE fire place. We stayed here to visit Yosemite about a two hour drive to the Valley floor SOOOOOO WORTH IT!!!!! Be Careful you can get altitude sickness at this height. Drink Plenty of water get some rest and take your time and enjoy the beautiful areas. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My brother liked it so much he chose to stay at our place for the last night. The staff was able to find he and his family a room and were VERY VERY HELPFUL.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jljclark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your rave review of the resort as well as the June Lake area. The altitude can be a problem for some folks and your advice was spot on. Drink lots of water and enjoy the view. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Heidelberg Inn is the former June Lake Lodge from the previous century with lots of Hollywood entertainment history and lore. The almost world famous four-way fire place in the living area of the lobby is one of a kind and dates back to the origination of the Inn. Its "living room" aura makes for a comfortable setting to watch a movie, read a book or just enjoy the warmth of the fire. Upstairs rooms look down over the balcony to the setting below. The surrounding walls are covered with pictures of a historical Hollywood era gone by with shots of many who have stayed there over the years. If you're in the front rooms of the Inn you get a beautiful view of both Gull and June lakes. And everything in town is within easy walking distance, from the restaurants, to the bars and art gallery and local market. Wonderful rooms and staff.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the front have the scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LAFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful description of our resort. The views are fabulous and that's what you are here for. One correction: The Heidelberg Inn is the former June Lodge, not the former June Lake Lodge, which was a different location further down the street. I know, a technicality, but a big difference to some of our historically minded residents. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

You can't beat this place for the price. The staff was helpful and the rooms are clean and have everything you will need provided.

The lake is about a five minute walk with a tackle store and a couple restaurants are directly across the street.

We will be back.

Room Tip: You can see the lake from some of the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 562Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are gals that you enjoyed your stay and are encouraging others to share your experience. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I am now a June Lake lover. A quaint town with local businesses without the massive condo projects that you will find in Mammoth. Two lakes, June and Gull sit side by side stock full of trout are walking distance from this hotel. Each lake has a marina with plenty of boats to rent. There are hiking trails to enjoy steps from the parking lot. The one bedroom units were remodeled about five years ago, the staff is friendly and washer/dryers are free. This hotel has a historical history where many celebrities stayed searching for privacy. The lobby is beautiful and rustic with an amazing circular fireplace in the center. There is no elevator but only two stories. Some rooms have mountain and lake views. The hotel deck has two jacuzzis and barbecues overlooking the mountains for the guest to use. If you are looking for the serenity, this is the place to consider.

Room Tip: As I mentioned there is no elevator. If you are handicap, request a first floor room. There are so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travelwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to respond and inform other travelers of what wonderful things they can expect to find when visiting June Lake. Our building is historic, thus no elevator, so please let us know what your accommodations may be, i.e., a ground floor room if you have trouble with stairs. We are glad to hear of you new found love for June Lake and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As many of the others have noted this is a great little spot in a oh so small town which makes it better than the crush in Mammoth Village for people like us. We grilled salmon in the shared deck and watched the sunset. We visited in June (days about 72 but the nights were in the 40's) the room was very warm during the day, better if you leave your front door open to catch a breeze. They have fans but with no A/C it could feel very warm for the sensitive. Great historical photos everywhere.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom upper corner with a partial lake view over the streets of the town. The views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We often have visitors from areas where the temps reach into the 90s, and when they hear we have no A/C they tend to freak out a little bit. The rooms can be warm during the day, especially those units on the side of the building that receives the majority of daily sun. The evenings are cool here as you stated, so most of our guests find themselves closing the windows as the sun goes down. This is the great outdoors, so we expect you to get out and enjoy it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
10.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
855 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,173 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range: £118 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heidelberg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake
Heidelberg Inn June Lake, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing