We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting the New Year off right - with a trip to Kenwood!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Starting the New Year off right - with a trip to Kenwood!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Going to Kenwood Inn and Spa is always a treat - one that most years we can't afford. We first came here for New Year's back in 2006, I think, and then for an anniversary about 4 or 5 years ago. Now, we wanted to start the new year off right - and Kenwood's spectacular staff came through. I noticed some prior reviews complained about the Highway, but we didn't notice any noise even though we were close to the road and could see it from our back balcony. It could be that the fountains drowned it out or the windows' double paning did the job, but it was not a problem at all for us. Despite being a little short-staffed thanks to the holiday flu season, it was never a problem getting in touch with staff and getting answers to any questions. The wait staff/servers were super friendly, accomodating and knowledgable, and the food was AMAZING. If I had to pick something to complain about, it was the portions were rather on the small side, very California cuisine sized. But that's only because Chef Snook is a genius and we frankly could have eaten his food non-stop. One nice thing about the smaller portions though -- it slows you down and makes you savor each bite! The wine -- CRAZY good. The spa -- I'm pretty sure I melted; Lori was my masseuse and she was very knowledgeable, sweet and RELAXING. All in all, my husband and I LOVED our time there. I wouldn't go if you're looking for something you'd find in the city; the atmosphere is refined, but relaxed and casual. So if you want the Four Seasons, go to New York. If you want a Tuscan villa with amazing food and wine, go to Kenwood!

Room Tip: Make your reservations through the hotel front desk, or you might get a room that's a bit louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    72
    40
    19
    12
See reviews for
28
497
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed at this inn with a friend and we both agreed this property was lackluster. The rate was at least $500 a night and for this price, we expected the best of the best. Check-in time was at 3pm but when we arrived at 3:30pm, the room was not ready yet. The room faced a very noisy generator that rumbled all evening.

Most of the staff were lacking, not only in their service capability but in their physical presence. An attendant for the pool area was nowhere to be found and we had to wander around the restaurant until we found a waitress to assist us.

We had requested a room on the second floor and that's what we got, but no one told us that the rooms on the second floor are priced at a higher rate. At checkout they attempted to charge us $100 extra for the "upgrade", fortunately the checkin clerk understood the mistake that was made and the extra charge was vacated.

Watch where you walk around the pool... we noticed quite a few dead bees.

We wanted martinis after dinner, but were shocked to find out this inn does not have a license for hard alcohol and therefore serves only beer and wine.

We did really enjoy the delicious food at the restaurant especially the breakfast, the cozy fireplace in our room, and the quality of the toiletry products. We also appreciated this inn's excellent and beautiful location. Definitely go to the mountain top tasting at Kunde, which is just across the street. Micah is an excellent concierge with a warm personality and an endless cache of suggestions.

We have stayed at luxury hotels before where the clerk offers you a complimentary drink at checkin, and the staff always greets you with a smile and remembers your name and preferences throughout your stay. If the Kenwood Inn was half its price, we would have been more happy with our stay, but we know that for this kind of money we can have a much better experience elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room 28 faces a noisy generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Demirjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIS, General Manager at Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Demirjian,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. I'm so very pleased that you enjoyed the exceptional food the Kenwood Inn offers, including our famous complimentary gourmet breakfast. We have a fantastic award-winning wine list, and most guests can spend days working their way through our many and varied selections. I'm sorry you couldn't buy a martini on property, as we are not licensed to serve any alcohol other than wine and beer. I'm also very pleased you enjoyed the outstanding service our Concierge Department offers. I'm not sure what occurred with your service challenges by our pool, but we always strive to give our guests five star service wherever they may be in the resort. It sounds like we may have missed the mark in your case on that day.
I welcome the opportunity to speak to you personally to welcome you back to our resort and ensure that every aspect of your stay goes perfectly for you. Lastly, we have various rates for various rooms in the Hotel, if you booked your room through a third party that would explain the difference in pricing and upgrades. We always suggest trying to book directly with the Hotel so we may best accommodate your room requests with no upgrade fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We are not strangers to fine hotels and spas coming from the NY/NJ Area. The hotel gives you the Mediterranean feel with a staff that goes over and beyond for you. The restaurant provides culinary art that allows your pallet to be pleasantly surprised in every bite. The grounds and backdrop of the rolling hills of the vineyards are breathtaking. The staff, for us, is what made this place a blast. They are made up of laid back, yet, detail oriented true Californians. Specifically, Micah and Joe- There suggestions on where to go, what to eat, and what to drink made memories we will never forget !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alilika7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Kenwood for two nights in November. Everything was exceptional - the personal level of service, the comfort of our room, and the beauty of the property far exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by Eric, the inn's concierge and we immediately felt at home at this beautiful property. He was such a gracious host and we felt like we were being welcomed by a good friend. After pouring us a glass of wine he escorted us to our room which had a lit fireplace and soft music playing. He then took us for a tour of property and made sure we had everything we needed. Everything came together - the gardens, fruit trees, water features, lighting, walkways, pools and exceptional service to create our own little paradise. The atmosphere was very romantic and serene and it was just what we needed to wind down and relax. We had dinner at the restaurant right in front of the outdoor fireplace and it was truly a night to remember. We shared a four course dinner for two and it was delicious! The inn is conveniently located near many excellent wineries and restaurants and with Eric's help, we had a great itinerary for visiting nearby wineries. We loved this inn and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We went to celebrate, and celebrate we did. Kenwood Inn was a really great spot. Great in every way. Pricy, but spectacular. We went in November and had no idea that the vines would show such beautiful Autumn colors. (The vines in the CV don't show that). The Inn was spectacular, the area was spectacular. Our main destination was Calistoga, which is a bit of a drive (35-40 minutes), but the Inn made the trek back worth every twist and turn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

December 2-4 last year was much more pleasant stay, cleaner and better service. This year at November stay was rather disappointing than good. Service became less personal, probably more people this time of the year. European style of rooms is great. Room with biggest bath is very noisy from passing by cars. Not recommend restaurant for dinner, toooo pricey for the quality and quantity. Octopus was not fresh. No coming back.

Room Tip: Better rooms on the third floor. They have one room with humongous bath and walking shower, but nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great setting, incredible staff and don't miss the best breakfast we have had anywhere on our trips. Chef Joseph really knows how to impress, don't miss his eggs Benedict and hot homemade rolls. Grounds and room were excellent plus the setting is romantic and peaceful. Best place we have stayed in wine country during our many visits, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenwood
9.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
480 reviews
7.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
13.4 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
580 reviews
8.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 10400 Sonoma Hwy, Kenwood, CA 95452-8015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sonoma County, the Kenwood Inn and Spa is the premier destination for visitors seeking gracious treatment, lush surroundings, and luxurious accommodations. Designed with hand-crafted artistry, the Inn has the allure of a Mediterranean villa enticing guests along walkways that meander from courtyard to terrace, from patio to spa to create the ultimate escape.A small, peaceful hideaway, the Inn offers 29 dreamy rooms and suites, each appointed with fireplaces, featherbeds, Italian linens for bed and bath, complimentary breakfast each morning, luxurious robes for lounging and twice daily housekeeping service.The intimate hideaway offers a dining room and wine bar exclusively for guests of the Inn, spa featuring results-oriented products and vinotherapy treatments, one outdoor heated pool and two hot tubs, and sunning terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hotel Kenwood
Kenwood Inn And Spa, A Four Sisters Inn Sonoma County
Kenwood Inn Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing