We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, modern and full of ammenities”
Review of Kernville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kernville Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Laguna Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean, great location, modern and full of ammenities”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We really liked staying at the Kernville Inn. It is located right across the street from downtown Kernville where you can look in antique shops or get something to eat and on the other side you are just across the street from the Kern River. Room 174 was very clean, spacious and had a comfy king size bed. The only downside to the room was it did not get a lot of natural light during the day, probably due to the overhang on the front patio. But the room had free wifi, a flatscreen tv w/ cable, AC plus a ceiling fan over the bed (which I love). Rm 174 also has a fireplace and a full kitchen, which we found very helpful. We would absolutly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandK2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located to the small businesses and restaurants in town. However, we found most establishments close early. The grounds are attractive, rooms furnished rustic but comfortable including a small refrigerator. Nice Adirondack chairs on porch to relax in. We rented 3 rooms for one night only, prior to a 2 day raft trip. Everything was ready when we arrived. Check-in efficient though not really friendly. Did not offer any information about amenities (probably because they only have coffee in the lobby). But they could have volunteered that there is a diner next door available for breakfast and other dining options. They seemed to be most concerned that we move all our vehicles upon check-out - reminded us a couple of times. I suppose a lot of people who go rafting want to leave their cars there when they are on the trip but we had no intention of doing so. All in all it was a decent place and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms we rented all had 2 queen beds. They were quiet, even the one nearest the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DogMom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We wanted to stay in Kernville on our way up to the Sequoias, and found this great place smack in the middle of the small western-themed town. The rooms are small, not really modern, but we like that. They were very clean and very affordable. Wooden Adirondack chairs outside each room were lovely for relaxing and sipping cool drinks. Some rooms have river views, but ours did not. However, the river was a very short walk from where we were. This was a great value, and much nicer than many of the surrounding motels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The Kernville Inn is probably the nicest place in town, both inside & out, however, the management has changed a bit & after 10 years, we won't be returning. Linda is great but the girl she now has helping her is killing their customer service. Our very large group has been staying at the K.I. for 10 years now & have looked forward to it every year. This year, one of our couples had to cancel & another couple had a room in another section from where all of us were staying so they called back immediately to ask if they could switch rooms. The girl rudely said no, they had a waiting list & someone else would be receiving that room, she had yet to call those people & tell them the room was available, the reservation was canceled no more than 30 seconds prior! The first night we stayed, that room was empty! That was just the beginning, we have ALWAYS made our reservations for the following year, the day before leaving, this time however, the "girl" stated we couldn't do so, yet another strike. I walked in the office to get a pool towel & heard the girl on the phone with a prospective customer & it was apparent the customer was asking what there was to do while in town, the girl said, "well there's river rafting, I don't know, what do you want to do?" The tone in her voice was very rude & would have made me find somewhere else to stay, such a great way to sell their quaint little town...how about fishing, hiking, boating at Lake Isabella, beautiful, scenic drives. I've been in customer service for 30+ years & that's no way to handle a customer. Lastly, the maid service was horrible, they basically make your bed, provided there are no personal belongings on top of it & change the towels, that's it! No dumping of the trash, cleaning out the coffee pot filter or changing the empty toilet paper roll. Kernville is an awesome town & we had no intention of not returning next year so we scouted out another motel & their reviews are outstanding & up to this point, their customer service is awesome, we selected our rooms & are all booked for next year! Sad to leave the K.I. but until Linda realizes the hindrance that the girl is to her business, I'm afraid they will continue to lose returning customers.

Room Tip: Just ask, you may or may not receive it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachlovers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Awful place. Overpriced not very clean pokey, and no one on reception to complain too. No cups are we supposed to drink from the jug?, Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I stayed here for the spring last year and it was so beautiful. I recommend coming in the Spring the weather is amazing and the air is so clear. Kernville Inn is right by the river, close to the town and our room was really nice. We came back this year for Whiskey Flats and once again stayed at Kernville Inn. I love this place, its my go when we go to the river.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This is our annual get a-way time when we can get friends together to all ride our Harley's and go out of the big City to relax and have some down time . We always know that we don't want to stay at any other Motel besides the Kernville Inn. our party had many rooms and were all very happy with everything, nice pool as well. very nice staff. always nice to be welcomed to a nice establishment as this one is.thank you Kernville Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harley094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kernville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kernville Inn

Property: Kernville Inn
Address: 11042 Kernville Rd, Kernville, CA 93238-9765
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kernville Inn,formerly known as the "Pala Ranches," its history reflects in the central location of the Town of Kernville. This pristine Villa is surrounded by the sprawling and contrasting countryside around the rolling hills that lead to The Giant Redwoods to the North. A stay at the Kernville Inn will be a memorable one,be it relaxation or an adventure on the Kern River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kernville Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing