We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry, but we thought it was over-rated by prior reviews” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Pines Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whispering Pines Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Kernville B&B and Inns
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sorry, but we thought it was over-rated by prior reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2006

Sorry to burst the bubble. We stayed at Whispering Pines last night.

The air conditioner in our room was terrible. It was one of those wall units and made awful noises all night. Besides our room was really hot when we got there. The owners didn't think of pre-cooling our room. . .

Also, little things like having a phone in the bathroom with the handset missing were weird.

This morning, the cook burned the bacon and put it out anyway. Other than that the breakfast was ok if you don't mind eating a Costco breakfast -- muffins, etc.

The decor of the rooms were also disappointing for a "bed and breakfast." It is ok if you really like "country kitch." We expected something more gracious - at least ruggedly elegant - to go along with the nice knotty pine celings and pillow top beds. Whomever decorated this place likes "cute."

In short it was really expensive for a motel with its name changed to a "B&B." Prior reviews set our expectations way too high.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank h20skiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    17
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2005

We stayed for 4 nights in August. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with the pool overlooking the river. Breakfast is an experience with all sorts of food I've never been offered at that time of day before! The room was lovely but we'd originally taken a room plus pull-out for two teenagers. Not a great idea as there were no curtains in the living room and no door to the bathroom! Apparently no one had ever noticed before! We took a second room and modesty was preserved.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing that stops this from being excellent is the sense that a bit more maintenance - especially for the pool - would improve it more.

Kernville was fun - rafting and kayaking both memorable as were the giant sequoias. Wow!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnneBerkhamsted_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2005

My girlfriend and I went stayed at WP for Valentine's day. We have a beautiful room with a fireplace and huge bathroom overlooking the river. It was so relaxing and romantic. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was amazing. A full home cooked breakfast. I would deifinatly go back and stay there again. I would highly recommend WP.

Helpful?
9 Thank chelseafan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2004

I made a reservation at Whispering Pines Lodge and secured my reservation with a credit card for arrival on August 13, 2004. I was even given a confirmation number. Upon arriving with my family, I was told that they had given our room to someone else. When I was finally able to find the owner and speak to her, she most rudely told me that our predicament was "too bad" and there was nothing she could do about renting our already paid for room right out from under us. When I tried to reason with her, she said I could leave right now and closed the door in my face. I understand the lodge has new owners. I urge anyone goind to Kernville to avoid the Whispering Pines Lodge and the new owners at all costs. Really bad service. Really bad business. They caused us so much stress and practically ruined our entire vacation.

Helpful?
27 Thank Love2go1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2004

We stayed at the Whispering Pines Lodge in July 2004. I had selected the McCambridge Lodge not knowing anything about the town of Kernville or the hotels. When we arrived at the McCambridge Lodge after two days of rafting the Kern River (amazing experience with Whitewater Voyages), the owner had given the one and only "cabin" that we reserved two months prior away (and to think I had re-confirmed the reservation just two days prior). We were offered a less than desirable smaller room at a slightly reduced rate for the inconvenience but were so disappointed by the way we were treated at McCambridge (and the less than desirable appearance of the McCambridge inside and out) that we opted to try our luck elsewhere. How fortunate we were to find a room at Whispering Pines Lodge just up the street. It was a bit more pricey but we had an amazing room with full kitchen, gorgeous balcony and a gas fireplace (though not needed in July, it was very pretty and romantic). The decor is perfect and the breakfast was outstanding. Service was great. After getting to know the town a little more, there are a number of quaint places to stay, but why mess with perfection? Stay at Whispering Pines. It's top notch, quiet and an ideal location. We'll go back.

Helpful?
7 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2004

Only a 1 night stay, room was superbly equipped and located. Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Try Mc Nally's for Steaks (24 oz filet mignon! - eats like butter). Wish we had booked for longer.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2004

My husband and I have stayed at WP twice. I had done a lot of research on places to stay in Kernville and decided to take a chance on WP based on the information on the website.

When we turned the corner to the resort we were pleasantly surprised. It felt as though we entered a different region - big shady trees, lots of greenery, and of course, the rapids of the river just below our deck. Our second stay was as expected - a wonderful respite from the city. As a previous reviewer wrote - do not miss the fantastic breakfast included in the room rate. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck next to the carved wooden bears and singing birds.

Keep up the good work WP!

Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy33LakeForest_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
7.0 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.9 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Lodge

Property: Whispering Pines Lodge
Address: 13745 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whispering Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing