We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Warm Place”
Review of River View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River View Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Warm Place”
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I had to run up to the area for work and I arrived at !:30 am. I thought I had died and gone to heaven when I saw this place right next to the river with its little red neon vacancy sign.

I was greeted by a sleepy but warm native named Ryan who was an attentive and entertaining host during my short stay. He gave the inside scoop on a lot of local subjects. The grounds also allowed for easy interaction with the other guests.

Aesthetically the outside, porches, and rooms are perfect lodge architecture with the bark still on the siding on the exterior and 12" wide pine planking throughout the interior. You can hear the river when you lie in your bed. Ryan said that they are the only property directly on the river. He told how they provide firewood so guests can build their own campfires on the river bank.

The room I was in was very clean and the furnishings and linens were very fresh. The bathroom was spotless. Most of all it had that kind of comfort you just never see anymore-where the owner cares so much about the place they put their own special touch on it.

I really like this place for how it looks and how warm the people are. To be sure, the place has its quirks (someone mentioned the Svenhards pastries), but these are part of the charm and in no way a problem. The River View Lodge just has a special quality about it and I am grateful for having stayed there.

  • Liked — The lodge ambience
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staylonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
17
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wesyt Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2008

This is my 7th stay at the Lodge... John & Company always take good care of me... The Rooms are alright, nothing Fancy, but I don't need Fancy... I'm Up there to Flyfish the Kern River...
The Beds are Comfortable, the Heater works and the Showers make you feel like a Million Bucks... That's all i need..

You are Close to Resturants, close to the Fly Shop and within 15 minutes driving you'll be on the River, Pitching Flies to Beautiful Rainbow Trout..

The Rustic decor of the Place is a Bonus I've come to really enjoy...

I'm always taken care of in Great fashion and Will Always stay at the River View Lodge when Fishing the Kern River...

  • Liked — Close to Resturants and the River...
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raftgod
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2008

The river view lodge is a great place to stay everyone there is nice and friendly. they are always there to help out if you need them no matter what your request. they are happy to help you book outdoor activities with many of the outfitters around town. And if you like fishing ask john he knows what he is talking about. and about the people who complained about how the hotel looks on the inside it is a very old hotel with much history. it is a great place to stay for any occasion. it has wonderful people in a cozy outdoor atmosphere. you have the river on oneside and a deli and mountain and river adventures on the otherside. definitely check out all that mra has to offer from rafting, kayaking, climbing, biking, teambuiling, camping, lake kayaking and snow shoeing and enjoy your stay in kernville california.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — didnt stay longer
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raftgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

There were dead bugs in several places on the bathroom floor. The shelf in the bathroom which held the provided drinking glasses and toiletries wasn't just dusty (like weeks of dust) but dirty. And the "clean" drinking glasses...one of them had dried toothpaste bubbles on it, like someone had used it after brushing their teeth. The shower handles dripped all night, until I woke up at 3AM and tied towels around them, which eventually became soaked and started dripping again.

The main room was small and smelled old and the carpet was filthy and stained. The door didn't quite fit the door hole and daylight was visible around the edge. The window shades didn't properly fit the windows, so you can't change in the main room at night with the lights on if you don't want to risk being seen.

Just a personal preference, but I didn't quite feel comfortable with the dark sheets and towels. I've never stayed in a motel/hotel that didn't have white linens so I didn't realize until now how much it bothered me not being able to see the cleanness and knowing they hadn't been bleached.

There really isn't a river view. Depending on your room, you'll most likely have a view of the busy/loud main drag or of the trailer park out back.

There's no smoking in the room, but people sit outside their rooms smoking, and because of the poorly fitting door, the smell of smoke fills your room, not to mention when you open your door.

Next time we visit Kernville, we'll try someplace new. Seems like a person ought to be able to expect a little more for $100+ a night.

  • Liked — Wireless Internet & Location
  • Disliked — Not Clean & Old
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank samzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kernville hotels

california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2007

I enjoyed my stay here, i found it to be peaceful and clean.. You can clearly see that the owners had taken the reviews into concideration and have made the outside and inside nice and clean.. There are pretty new quilts and i didnt find any cob webs or any frogs. I understand that everybodys stay may be different but since i have just recently stayed there i found my experience able to send me and friends back here again....

  • Liked — the courtyard area
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank m0mmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torrance
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

i have been going to the kernriver for over 40 years & i have never had a bad time, there are so many things to do up there & fishing is excellent, i would go there with my father in the early 60s, then continued after he passed, we had always stayed in headquarters camp he liked the place. well i grew up & still like camping at times, but there are also times when i would like to shower & relax on a bed. i first stayed here at the riverview lodge about 4 years ago when i came into town on my harley & the weather changed, i went to the front desk & talked to john the owner ( one of the best people on the river)i got a room & the next day the weather went to sunshine, i liked the room so much i stayed another 4 days room #9 check it out!!! or room #1 both have excellent parking, the rooms are clean, the sheets are changed out daily, the remote works, the place is green with tree's and flowers everywhere, infact you can toss a stone from your room to the river,thats how close you are. i have stayed in all the hotels in the valley, but never have i found a better place then riverview, jamie & shawn are great people too!!! on a scale from 1 to 10.......i would give this place a high 9. also they are biker friendly. now if you want a beer & some great conversation, walk across the bridge to the hut & see bama, the greatest bartender on the river & in the valley, tell her steve from Lomita said hello.

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 05harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

Stay someplace else!!!!! This place is a dump. Cobwebs and spiders everywhere. Dirty sheets and carpet. A/C not working properly. Found a frog in the room. Wireless didn't work. Staff could care less. Save your money.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank HonestReviewer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kern Riverfront Lodge
Kern Riverfront Lodge
#8 of 8 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Property: River View Lodge
Address: 2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — River View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is from "Old Kernvile" with our new little modern touches it is almost perfect. Most of our rooms are approx. 125 Feet from river. Most rooms have river views, but all have the lovely sounds of the river. With some new help, and new sheets, quilts, restored bathrooms and towels the lodge is shinning more and more everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your River View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing