We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“threadbare yet pricey; what more could you ask for?”
Review of River View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“threadbare yet pricey; what more could you ask for?”
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Lowest value room we have had in years---we paid $89 for the threadbare sheets and paper-thin walls that did nothing to shield our ears from the roar of the road and the late-night babble of the inconsiderate owner and his friends as they chattered and smoked outside our room. There was no alarm clock in our room; fortunately, the owner and his friend returned to within earshot at 6:15 to resume their nonsensical chatter. Asking for silence turned out to be little more than a snooze button; a gas powered saw and backhoe showed up at 7:15 AM. Carpet stains in our room are extensive enough to elicit speculation over what small animals may have been slaughtered here in recent times. All in all, a fantastic experience. Be sure to tell them we sent you.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank discriminatory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    15
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
17
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lakeisabella
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I have come to find this treasure in the Kern River Valley. The Riverview Lodge is a warm and comforting place to stay. And it’s right on the river! How cool is that. I have come to get to know the Owners. They have always showed the warmest regard to my family and I. Their lodge is a true reflection of the owners. If you are looking for a great place to stay with your family choose the Riverview Lodge. You will not be disappointed. Check out their website at www.riverviewlodge.net

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamestayloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

I have stayed here twice in the past 6 weeks. This is an appealing and slightly funky place that is worn but charming. The folk who run it are very pleasant, the rooms comfy and quirky and in my experience, slightly tired, but very clean. The prices are a little high, but I enjoy it and would recommend it to those who like older motels and inns with some character and history, A little sprucing up could be done at minor cost, and a few repairs would help, but I would not change this little lodge much for the world.

  • Liked — friendly, charming
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Golanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

Very disappointing…..

This is not the cozy, quaint, clean place they portray on their web site. In the lobby area the blinds were thick with dust and dead bugs. The room was somewhat clean, but lots of things
were broken. The door lock was not secure, one window screen was torn out at the bottom, and one of the windows wouldn’t even stay open. The rooms are dark, dingy, and musty smelling. They
have security lights in front of each room that shine into room at night because the window shades don’t fit properly. The long porch unfortunately is covered with cobwebs and the chairs have
dirty cushions. Not an inviting place to sit and watch the river, which is a shame as it, could be a great spot. All in all, this place is in need of major clean up and renovation. Will not stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank WangoPlacentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kernville hotels

Tehachapi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Upon arriving at the lodge, was dissapointed that it is located adjacent a (noisy) major highway - listening to emergency vehicles all night. Access to the Kern river next to the lodge was not allowed, since this land was private property with no trepassing signs posted.

Entering the room, found it to be very dirty and unkept - needing minor repairs. Hair in bathtub, mold growing in bathroom grout, some lamps didn't work, T.V. cabinet door fell off in my hands and the T.V. had poor reception. Breakfast is a cup of coffee and stale (wrapped) role served in a small transition hallway - what a joke!

With all said, attempted to make the best of the situation. That is until the evening hours rolled around. From 5pm to 7pm endured screaming kids running through the complex. Went to find staff, but they were on the Kern river bank fishing. At 10pm, until mid-night again endured very rude, noisy guests yelling and partying out in front of my room. Staff no where to be found... Checked out early (duh) and was refused a refund.

I would have had a nicer stay at a projects apartment in the Bronx. Do yourself a favor and stay away!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Filthy
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, CA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I had to run up to the area for work and I arrived at !:30 am. I thought I had died and gone to heaven when I saw this place right next to the river with its little red neon vacancy sign.

I was greeted by a sleepy but warm native named Ryan who was an attentive and entertaining host during my short stay. He gave the inside scoop on a lot of local subjects. The grounds also allowed for easy interaction with the other guests.

Aesthetically the outside, porches, and rooms are perfect lodge architecture with the bark still on the siding on the exterior and 12" wide pine planking throughout the interior. You can hear the river when you lie in your bed. Ryan said that they are the only property directly on the river. He told how they provide firewood so guests can build their own campfires on the river bank.

The room I was in was very clean and the furnishings and linens were very fresh. The bathroom was spotless. Most of all it had that kind of comfort you just never see anymore-where the owner cares so much about the place they put their own special touch on it.

I really like this place for how it looks and how warm the people are. To be sure, the place has its quirks (someone mentioned the Svenhards pastries), but these are part of the charm and in no way a problem. The River View Lodge just has a special quality about it and I am grateful for having stayed there.

  • Liked — The lodge ambience
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staylonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesyt Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2008

This is my 7th stay at the Lodge... John & Company always take good care of me... The Rooms are alright, nothing Fancy, but I don't need Fancy... I'm Up there to Flyfish the Kern River...
The Beds are Comfortable, the Heater works and the Showers make you feel like a Million Bucks... That's all i need..

You are Close to Resturants, close to the Fly Shop and within 15 minutes driving you'll be on the River, Pitching Flies to Beautiful Rainbow Trout..

The Rustic decor of the Place is a Bonus I've come to really enjoy...

I'm always taken care of in Great fashion and Will Always stay at the River View Lodge when Fishing the Kern River...

  • Liked — Close to Resturants and the River...
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
255 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
84 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Property: River View Lodge
Address: 2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — River View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is from "Old Kernvile" with our new little modern touches it is almost perfect. Most of our rooms are approx. 125 Feet from river. Most rooms have river views, but all have the lovely sounds of the river. With some new help, and new sheets, quilts, restored bathrooms and towels the lodge is shinning more and more everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your River View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing