We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty....Dirty....Dirty”
Review of River View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River View Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Reviewed 12 August 2007

Stay someplace else!!!!! This place is a dump. Cobwebs and spiders everywhere. Dirty sheets and carpet. A/C not working properly. Found a frog in the room. Wireless didn't work. Staff could care less. Save your money.

Stayed: July 2007
5  Thank HonestReviewer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for River View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2006

This place was terrible and is in need of a renovation. My friends and I went up to Kernville to go white water rafting. From the outside it looks clean and charming - but not inside. The rooms were old, dingy, and dirty. The carpet doesn't look like it has been replaced since it was built 30 some years ago. The rooms have wood paneling, which only make the rooms look smaller and darker. The bed linens didn't look like they had been cleaned. I actually found hair on the linens. The bathroom was tiny - only 1 person can fit inside and there were holes that had been poorly patched and not painted. The walls are paper thin and we could hear our neighbors every word. The continental breakfast was more like coffee and packaged danishes from Costco. I wanted to leave the same night we arrived and was willing to make the drive from a hotel in Bakersfield but it was already late in the evening and too dark for that treck. I did, however, convince my husband to leave at 6:30 am on Sunday morning after our Saturday rafting trip because I could not take the filth anymore.

The only good thing about this place is that it is across the street from 2 popular rafting companies and walking distance from downtown. Our friends stayed in a Bed and Breakfast across the street which was paradise compared to the River View Lodge. Save your money and go to a B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank cmcastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
313
Reviewed 16 June 2006

While I hate it when hotel owners lie about how dear their rooms are and that you have to book right now in order to save yourself a place (the owner said there were only two rooms left for my mid-week stay, when I got there, the place remained nearly empty), the motel was certainly a good place to stay. The room was large, the bed was snuggly with a deep cushion and soft pillows. A tiny refrigerator and microwave took up the closet. Furnished well with a sofa, desk and cabinet. The best part was the porch which wrapped around a nice courtyard and opened onto the Kern River. I pulled my laptop out there to work. Not so good - breakfast: decent coffee, no juice, granola bars and packaged danishes. A bit on the expensive side for the area, but not terrible.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kernville hotels
2.5 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
262 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kern Riverfront Lodge
Kern Riverfront Lodge
#8 of 8 in Kernville
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Address: 2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range: £84 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is from "Old Kernvile" with our new little modern touches it is almost perfect. Most of our rooms are approx. 125 Feet from river. Most rooms have river views, but all have the lovely sounds of the river. With some new help, and new sheets, quilts, restored bathrooms and towels the lodge is shinning more and more everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your River View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing