We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to explore the area”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to explore the area”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Kernville is a beautiful area and this is a great place to explore. The Kern River is just down some steps from the lodge and Pat and Keith make you feel very welcome..

The rooms have fridges, microwaves. coffee makers (excellent coffee!) and are serviced every day, There are gas-fired bbq's outside. Everything is close by, there's a store about 2 miles down the road that sells most things you might need as well as fishing tackle and freshly cooked bbq'd chicken. I really enjoyed staying here and if I'm in the area again then this will be the place I'll choose.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
58
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Excellent place, very friendly owners, great location. My room was artfully decorated (fly fishing was the purpose of my trip to Kernville), the kitchenette had all the amenities, and the bed was very comfortable with one of those over-the-mattress extra layer of fluff.
I will come back with my family for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrys_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I always go there for our yearly trip to the Kern. The Staff is great and are very caring. So peaceful there. The place is always clean and great. It's our home away from home. We love it there. My husband and I always catch fish there too. Thank you Sequoia Lodge for being a great place. Till next year.

Room Tip: Use Samon Eggs or Power Bait to catch a fish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divinity_image
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is a marvelous find along the Kern River, the place is clean and very, very accommodating, and the proprietors are very nice and helpful as they can be. I would heartily recommend this motel to anyone that is in the area. In the summer you would want to have a reservation since the Kern River Valley fills pretty rapidly, and there is only one handicapped room here, so if you need that, reserve early.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The property as well as the staff were delightful... we could not have wished for more on our halfway mark from Yosemite to Vegas. We could have driven straight through, but it would have been rushed so we decided to take the scenic route through the Sequoia Forrest and we are so glad we did. This hotel is right on the Kern River and was a wonderful place all around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the river..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekRayHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taree, australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

What a great place, convenient to Sequoia National Forest. Excellent fishing, big healthy rainbow trout waiting to be caught. Nice little garden with paths down near the rushing river. A patio overlooking the river, with hummingbird feeders where we watched the birds for hours. Be sure to have a steak dinner at Johnny McNally's, 10 minutes up the road, and don't miss the Trail of 100 Giants, just about 45 minutes away. Pat and Kieth were so friendly, we felt like we were staying with friends, rather than in a hotel. We hope to be back soon, and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosetaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My only regret was that we had not booked more than one night at this place. The location on the river is gorgeous, and the room we booked was lovely...someone has taken a lot of time to decorate, pick the furnishings and do the landscaping at this little lodge right on the river. Perfect location for fly fishing, watching the rafters float by or just to walk in the rock gardens. The pictures do not do it justice. I will definitely want to return for a longer stay some day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
5.0 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.4 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.6 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Property: Sequoia Lodge
Address: 16123 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best vacation spot on the Kern River in California. Situated between majestic mountains and just minutes from the giant redwoods, Sequoia Lodge offers you an "oasis" for your visit to the spectacular Kern River Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing