We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Friendy helpful hosts, large clean and comfortable room. There was a barbeque which we used one night and a choice of 2 eating places right across the road. The lodge was quiet and peaceful and we would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is simply the best place to stay at Kernville! Great hospitality and has a great atmosphere all around. Starting from the great glimmer in the river to the starry nights. The Seqouia Lodge is also right across the street from a great shopping store and great dine in cafe. If anyone has any doubt about this hotel then you need to experience it yourself!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DVanHeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Sequoia Lodge was our final port of call on our honeymoon and provided some much needed relaxation after Yosemite.

We met the owners on arrival who were very friendly and we were promptly shown to our room, which was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated with individual care and pride.

The location is fantastic with a wonderful set of paths laid out to the Kern River, in which we spent a not inconsiderable amount of time sitting on rocks and reading, or attempting to float down the rapids. Other residents were using the BBQ facilities or sitting on chairs in the river - fantastic.

The drive from Bakersfield was a scenic trip in itself, and the lodge was well situated for exploring the Sequoia National Forest. Also convenient was the presence of a general stores (including cooked breakfasts) and Cheyenne's restaurant just across the quiet road.

A fantastically peaceful location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_the_snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We checked into a river room a few hours ago. Stayed the night before just before Johnston bridge - pitched a canopy and slept under the stars. True, it is the 4th of July weekend, but equally true, Kernville is not a "hot" spot this late in the season because the river is low - temperature is HOT!!! - and the bugs are biting. So, here is my beef. We are paying 145+ with taxes. When ya go above $100 in Kernville , you better have working internet and something to make one fee special. The room is fine and looks like the pics.Bed is so so. Pillows really stink ( very small and not too soft), bathroom is tiny and the ceiling fan doesn't work.

Upside - the general store is literally right across the street and the rive is 75 yards or less in back of the lodge. Nice spot to throw in a tube or lure.

I'll post some pics - but I would not recommend this room to anyone at $145. The room is worth $85-$100.If they think raising the rates on a holiday is a wise move - it's not.Just warrants a so so review with blunt honesty. Oh yes , most important - the WIFI stinks! I am on my verizon 4g card right now. When I rang the front, they said to walk out side or near the front office and try and connect and then hope it stays connected after getting back to the room. Now, that's a joke.....

Wish I could a better review here - but it is what it is. Would 100% try an alternate place next time ( we come every year). Nothing here deserving of loyalty.

Room Tip: it's all the same! every room is really a river room. Don't pay extra because they tell you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasndom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Greatest of times; family groups were using the BBQ grills; friendly fishermen willing to share fishing tips and the host and hostest were the best....advice; info on dining locally......try the chatterbox; fishing was great and out the back door. Also, clean and tidy; well stocked and maintained; can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Plan a trip with friends and share cooking and dining on the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is the perfect getaway lodge in a prime location! The atmosphere was majestic and peaceful. The lodge is very easy to locate and just a stone's throw away from the Kern River. We were there for a friend's wedding nearby and could not have picked a better place to stay. The staff is very friendly and they made sure our room was accessible as we were checking in late. The room was the best part with very comfortable beds and quaint furnishings. I will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Sequoia Lodge on a Friday in late March/2013 which was a beautiful time to visit Kernville. The weather was gorgeous...sunny and mild during the day. The evening was nice and cool, perfect with a sweater/sweatshirt. The Lodge is in a great location right on the Kern River and surrounded by beautiful mountains! The views are spectacular! The river can easily be accessed via some stairs. There is also a general convenient store with a small restaurant across the street from the Lodge.

The staff, a young couple (Russell and Christi) were so friendly and accommodating! They offerred suggestions on where we could get some good food and a good beer/drink in the area (definitely check out Kern River Brewing Company for some awesome beer!) and made sure we had what we needed to have a comfortable stay. For my LGBTQ brothers and sisters, we felt very welcome there by the staff!

We stayed in a room with two queen beds. The room was clean and had a charming, rustic decor. The room also had a small, eat-in kitchenette stocked with a microwave and refrigerator, a flat-screen tv with cable and FREE wi-fi. The beds were comfortable.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Sequoia Lodge! I know I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RIWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kernville
59 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kernville
266 reviews
5 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
86 reviews
5.4 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kern Riverfront Lodge
Kern Riverfront Lodge
#9 of 9 in Kernville
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 16123 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range: £78 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best vacation spot on the Kern River in California. Situated between majestic mountains and just minutes from the giant redwoods, Sequoia Lodge offers you an "oasis" for your visit to the spectacular Kern River Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing