We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Kernville”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Succinctly and to the point:
Room clean, price fair, great location for touring the area, good restaurants in town. Restaurant prices moderate, good local market. Nothing bad to say. The best part was that the Ken River was 30 feet from our door. What a setting-Fabulous!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Live2Travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Husband and I stayed 3 nights......room was clean but small. Everytime a door shut somewhere our front window rattled!! 'Free wi-fi' did not work in our room! Very friendly hosts and reasonable rates. All rooms don't have a view of the river, I thought they did when looking on-line. Might stay there again........

Room Tip: If wanting to be nearer the river, choose rooms towards back part of lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I was impressed with the staffs Thorough cleanup on Mondays, all the drawers were taken out one by one and cleaned and more!
Also, they Cleaned the kitchen surfaces every day in the morning and late night.
Oh, they also had cooking oil and several herbs free to charge as well as tea, coffee, sugar and milk. 4 sinks, and 4 oven stoves - which made it easy for many people to cook at the same time.
Other than that it was a cute hostel, similar to other cute ones, good night sleep and free wifi.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chibban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Friendy helpful hosts, large clean and comfortable room. There was a barbeque which we used one night and a choice of 2 eating places right across the road. The lodge was quiet and peaceful and we would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is simply the best place to stay at Kernville! Great hospitality and has a great atmosphere all around. Starting from the great glimmer in the river to the starry nights. The Seqouia Lodge is also right across the street from a great shopping store and great dine in cafe. If anyone has any doubt about this hotel then you need to experience it yourself!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DVanHeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Sequoia Lodge was our final port of call on our honeymoon and provided some much needed relaxation after Yosemite.

We met the owners on arrival who were very friendly and we were promptly shown to our room, which was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated with individual care and pride.

The location is fantastic with a wonderful set of paths laid out to the Kern River, in which we spent a not inconsiderable amount of time sitting on rocks and reading, or attempting to float down the rapids. Other residents were using the BBQ facilities or sitting on chairs in the river - fantastic.

The drive from Bakersfield was a scenic trip in itself, and the lodge was well situated for exploring the Sequoia National Forest. Also convenient was the presence of a general stores (including cooked breakfasts) and Cheyenne's restaurant just across the quiet road.

A fantastically peaceful location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_the_snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We checked into a river room a few hours ago. Stayed the night before just before Johnston bridge - pitched a canopy and slept under the stars. True, it is the 4th of July weekend, but equally true, Kernville is not a "hot" spot this late in the season because the river is low - temperature is HOT!!! - and the bugs are biting. So, here is my beef. We are paying 145+ with taxes. When ya go above $100 in Kernville , you better have working internet and something to make one fee special. The room is fine and looks like the pics.Bed is so so. Pillows really stink ( very small and not too soft), bathroom is tiny and the ceiling fan doesn't work.

Upside - the general store is literally right across the street and the rive is 75 yards or less in back of the lodge. Nice spot to throw in a tube or lure.

I'll post some pics - but I would not recommend this room to anyone at $145. The room is worth $85-$100.If they think raising the rates on a holiday is a wise move - it's not.Just warrants a so so review with blunt honesty. Oh yes , most important - the WIFI stinks! I am on my verizon 4g card right now. When I rang the front, they said to walk out side or near the front office and try and connect and then hope it stays connected after getting back to the room. Now, that's a joke.....

Wish I could a better review here - but it is what it is. Would 100% try an alternate place next time ( we come every year). Nothing here deserving of loyalty.

Room Tip: it's all the same! every room is really a river room. Don't pay extra because they tell you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasndom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
59 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
265 reviews
5.0 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kern Riverfront Lodge
Kern Riverfront Lodge
#8 of 8 in Kernville
4 reviews
5.4 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 16123 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range: £86 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best vacation spot on the Kern River in California. Situated between majestic mountains and just minutes from the giant redwoods, Sequoia Lodge offers you an "oasis" for your visit to the spectacular Kern River Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing