We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodging in Kernville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best lodging in Kernville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My family and I travel to Kernville several times a year. I think we've stayed at almost every place available. A year or so ago, we decided to stop shopping around and stay at the Kern Lodge every visit, because it's really the best. The rooms are well appointed and clean. Patrick and his staff are welcoming and very kind. Our last trip we stayed in the "Big House"...not only is the Kern Lodge the best place to stay in Kernville, but the Big House is the best room in Kernville. It's really a small house. It's nicely decorated and really a home away from home. Can't wait to go back! I'll upload pictures soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagels98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    52
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
78
86
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brea, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Me and my daughter drove into Kernville late at night and could not find an open motel until we stumbled into this gem. From the very friendly owner/staff to the unexpected nice accomodations, we had an awesome stay. Upon check in we picked out 3 DVD's from their library at the front desk which were free. Then we checked into our room which ended up being a house with all of the best features: granite counters, wood and granite floors, a spa shower, lcd tv's in every room (including a 60 inch LCD tv in the living room), comfortable beds, and Wolfgang Puck coffee. The motel is in the middle of town and close to the Kern river so you can walk down to town to eat or over to the river. There is a patio at the place with huge checker and chess boards where the player pieces are approx. 1-2' that is fun and very unique. Plus it had a real nice barbeque area. The cost was very reasonable. I like to travel and have stayed all over California, but I place this fine establishment at the top of my list. I have told all my friends about this place and plan to return soon! Thank you Kern Lodge.

Room Tip: This motel has numerous size units for different size travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I'd stayed in Kernville a few years back and was unimpressed with the motel I'd booked online, so I was cautious, to say the least, when we booked our room at a new location, The Kern Lodge this time around. Our stay at the Kern Lodge was superb!! We went during a slower time of year, and the attention we got from the owner was unexpected and spectacular. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different styles of room) were very clean, spacious, decorated very nicely and we were thrilled. The next morning I sat and drank coffee in a rocking chair out our door then explored the grounds. The pool area was clean, I found super fun life sized chess and checkers boards (we have 2 boys!) that were a big hit, but when I found the BBQ pit area I was dumbfounded! It was grassy, with sitting areas and 2 propane stainless bbq's. I was just so shocked at this wonderful little hideaway and so thankful that we'd found it. The Kern Lodge is a MUST stay in Kernville. We are a family of limited funds. The Kern Lodge was easily within our means. Next time we go visit family in Lake Isabella, we'll be dialing Sue directly to book our stay.

Room Tip: Just call Sue and ask her what would be best for your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

A very good place to stay to explore Kern Valley, Sequoia Ntl. Parc and Lake Isabella. Spacious cabin style rooms for a reasonable price. Friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffHager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Four friends went to Kernville for a mountain bike trip. The room was perfect, complete with full kitchen, seperate beds and a chillout area out back. The place is a short walking distance to almost everything. There's a market or two and the brewery just up the hill; the main part of town is a couple of blocks the other way.

We didn't require much attention, but we got the feeling that if there was any issue, they would have resolved it immediately.

We had a neighbor on our last night who has been coming up to the area for about 20 years and always stays here...that's saying something.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barstow, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My wife and I and my son and his family stayed in two rooms at the Kern Lodge on September 16th and 17th. Having stayed in Kernville on three previous occasions we were not expecting much. We were very surprised to see when we pulled up how nicely the property is maintained. Check in was simple and fast and done by a very courteous desk clerk. All of the staff members from housekeeping to owners are very nice and definitely more helpful than most of the places that we have stayed including so called high end motels such as Ramada, Rennasaince, Marriot, etc.

Our rooms although a little small were exceptionally clean and we are fanatics about cleanliness. The showers again were small especially for my 350lb 6' 4" son. But they were clean and fullfilled their purpose. The bed was very comfortable and the room's decor was knotty pine wood instead of paint. The rooms were very attractive and provided all the normal ammentities. One especially nice feature to us was the fact that although the owner's have a dog that likes to mooch meals, no guest dogs are allowed and that of course means that you don't have to sleep in a bed that a previous tenant's dog has slept in! I know that YOUR dog is as clean as a bar of soap and that you love him very much, but not all of us share your adoration of your dog and some of us don't think that your dog is clean.

The housekeeping ladies were all very attentive to our needs. They all had smiles and went out of their way to get us anything we needed AND they all speak English! Which reminds me, there is a very nice bbq area with tables and swinging chairs and fire pits. The staff has gone out of their way to make it nice. On our stay, some guests the night before left it like a pig stye. I got up early to fix breakfast and because it was so early, the staff had not been able to clean it yet so I did. But folks, please remember, just because they offer housekeeping, that does not mean that you should go out of your way to leave a mess. Do the next guy a favor and clean up after yourself. And BTW: a tip for the maid is a nice touch.

The swimming pool was very nice and very clean. My family enjoyed it a lot. This entire motel really stands out from the others we have stayed at in Kernville.

If there were any cons to this place I would have to say that although the MicroBrewery next door is a nice place, the outside patrons can get a little loud on weekends. The bathrooms are a little small for big guys, and the walls are very thin so loud guests in the next room will be heard. But, these are really very petty beefs for everything else being so nice a this hotel. And remember, I was at a Harley rally and this is a river and fishing community so don't expect the Ritz, expect what the lodge is expected to be, a nice, clean, friendly staff, with clean rooms, clean pool, and nice bbq area and you will find that this place really exceeds all your expectations. I will definitely be going back next year!

Nick
nick@nickscomputerworks.com

Room Tip: Tell the staff at reservation time what your needs are i.e. quickest access to bbq, quieter side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was a great little hotel that we spent two nights at. The rooms are quaint, comfortable, and clean. Beware that at least for room #105 the kitchenette does not mean it has a stovetop. There was just a minifridge, microwave, and extra sink. Still it was better than not having it. Also the hotel is next door to the awesome Kern River Brewing Company which is the perfect place to relax after a day of rafting.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.2 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kern Lodge

Property: The Kern Lodge
Address: 67 Valley View Drive, Kernville, CA 93238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kern Lodge is located in the heart of Kernville, just minutes from the wild and scenic Kern River! We have a Pool, a Park w/BBQs and Fire Pit, a Game Room and a giant outdoor set of Chess & Checkers! Our rooms range from a single queen, all the way to a master suite! Check out website for full details! All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Kern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kern Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing