We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we're grateful”
Review of The Kern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

everything about this place seems perfect. especially the staff, which is very very friendly and understanding! we will do our best to visit this place for a longer time than this time next. let's hope it's gonna be very soon! din't miss this place

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Olivermcdaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just a quick overnight stay but think it may turn into many more. My first time to Kernville, and I guarantee anytime I go back or through this will be first on my list of places to stay. Great place w/ great service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Love the Kern Lodge for several reasons. The place has many room options to fit your needs and budget, the owner and staff members are super friendly, every room we have ever stayed in has been nice (really enjoy rooms 203 (has larger bathroom) and 204 (has cool little front yard area). The resident dogs (Rocky, and they just rescued another one, think its name is Rollin) are very friendly and just wonder around the property. And finally, I love the location. It is right next to KRBC (kern river brewing company) and right up the street from the Pizza Barn. These are the two reasons we come up the hill from Bakersfield every couple of months and have made the Kern Lodge our go to hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I've been staying here since 2007 and it is, quite simply, a great place. Clean as a pin with a couple of nice pups to welcome you, the lodge feels like home away from home. It's close to a grocery store and plenty of nice restaurants. Sue (the owner) always welcomes me like an old friend and that's pretty nice when you're 2700 miles from home. Stay here with confidence.

Mike C.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikegc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Every year for more years than I can remember a group of friends have gathered on their motorcycles at the Kern Lodge to spend a night and kick off a long weekend trip. The owner, Sue, remembers all of us, treats us like we're family and is always totally accommodating. The Inn is clean and its facilities are up to date, including free wireless access. The management even has rags readily available to wipe down our grimy bikes and gear. I recommend the Kern Lodge without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The accommodations at the Kern Lodge are excellent, and Sue and Caitlin are just delightful. They do everything possible to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. You really are made to feel at home. When in Kernville this is definitely the place to stay! Even the housekeepers and maintenance personnel are unusually helpful.

Room Tip: Suite 110 is gigantic and includes a huge living-dining room with massive fireplace, a full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night but wish we would have stayed longer! We were in the Kern River room 110. Highly recommend it. They are so accommodating and had everything we wanted or needed. There are games in the room to play. Good way to get away from technology. They have chess in the room and a big chess board outside. We had a fool size kitchen and dining room. Two rooms and two bathrooms. Their is a pool room and a nice outdoor grill area. We made dinner and breakfast there. We would recommend this place to everyone and will go back :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kernville
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kernville
59 reviews
7.2 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 9 in Kernville
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kern Lodge

Address: 67 Valley View Dr, Kernville, CA 93238-9724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range: £76 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kern Lodge is located in the heart of Kernville, just minutes from the wild and scenic Kern River! We have a Pool, a Park w/BBQs and Fire Pit, a Game Room and a giant outdoor set of Chess & Checkers! Our rooms range from a single queen, all the way to a Master Suite and a House! Check out our direct website for full details! All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kern Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing