We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par for the 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kettleman City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Par for the 5”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We left late afternoon for a short road trip to Sonoma. The 5 between the Grapevine and the 580 split is a long, boring stretch. Kettleman off ramp is about 4 hours drive for us and time for bed! We usually stop here at this Best Western (now a "plus"). First it is now very hard to find the entrance! There is road construction, but the two motels are up a small dark, unmarked road. They should add signs out on the road where to turn. We also met Becky at the front desk. She was cheery and helpful. This is not really a "plus". It does have the signature bedding. There are new flat screen televisions, however, the reception was no better than the old antenna days. We had a cheesy jacuzzi tub in our room that took up what could have been a seating area. The air was very very loud. In the morning we ate their offered breakfast fare. It is a nice "full breakfast" with eggs, sausage, toasts and cereals. Management needs to have the person overseeing the area clean off the tables. She was busy putting out food, but would disappear for long periods of time. We had to bus our own tables and the trash was building up. Remember, this is a desolate stretch of the 5. If you're looking for something nicer, take the 101 or even the 99 north. If you're tired and looking for a clean, OK place to stay, this will do.

Room Tip: Don't get the cheesy jacuzzi tub room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    140
    91
    28
    32
See reviews for
135
123
44
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at all best westerns this vacation to Death Valley. Our first night was here and a young lady named Becky made the evening worth the stay. She was informative and professional and most of all personable. We stayed here over a month ago but still felt compelled to post a comment. Being personable these days seems to be harder then most people can handle, but Becky was kind and shared a personal moment which we connected to. Thanks for a clean room and a wonderful breakfast. Back on the road with a good nights sleep. and thanks for the military discount every penny helps in todays economy. Its great to be acknowledge as a female veteran.

Room Tip: we stayed in 111a center of building bottom floor easy access to vehicle. we had a lot unload. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbw1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have consistently been staying at this particular location for over the last year on business trips and have had a very consistent level of both business and personal levels of satisfaction while staying at this particular Best Western location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

First the good: the suite which we were eventually assigned was clean, comfortable and quiet-but not soundproof as the screaming kid across the hall and the kids upstairs who pounded on the floor would prove. King bed was excellent. Wireless wi-fi was OK-but slow at times.

The 'glitches' taken individually were minor but collectively added up to a nuisance: the front desk clerk who asked us to do a review on Trip Advisor and 'mention my name'; the bathroom lights which did not work-despite protestations from the same desk clerk that 'they are fine-it is soft light-we just changed them yesterday'. The lights may have been changed 'yesterday' but they were not fine and this is not the response I expect when I report a problem; they changed the fluorescents but they still didn't work and it turns out that the ballast was shot but we were made to feel that we should just have accepted the status quo and not bothered them They moved us to a suite (nice-thank you) but the TV didn't work (they fixed that); the bathroom sink tap leaked and sprayed all over; the bedroom door closed on its own (something is not square here); breakfast was OK but the orange juice dispenser was 'out of order' and there were no sausages 'today'.

You are out in the middle of nowhere with nowhere to eat but fast food outlets; you can do better a few miles down the road in either direction. I doubt that we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just needed a quite place to stay on our road trip and we were pleasantly surprised.

The staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were quite impressed actually about the newness of all the furniture.

AC was good, room was quiet, and the breakfast met our needs and saved us time.

If you are planning out a road trip and this is in the window where you need to take a break, this place is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTSstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I frequent this hotel at least twice a month and this hotel is the best in the area. The staff is very friendly and helpful and Eva(front desk) makes sure that I am always in my favorite room. Although I prefer to stay in the suites I have stayed in the regular rooms and they are just as clean and comfy. Breakfast is fine and there is always something to grab on the go. Overall I would say for the location which is practically in the middle of nowhere this hotel exceeds my expectations time and time again.

Room Tip: The suites are perfect for a family of 4 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Found our room to be clean, small, and with a good firm bed. I made the reservation the same day and wanted to make sure that they would take our dog. We stayed just one night on our way to LA. Paid over $100 for the room and feel that we paid too much for this average room. One major disappointment was the TV and the channels available. It was a throw back to the 1980s.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettleman City
24.0 mi away
Harris Ranch Inn
Harris Ranch Inn
#1 of 7 in Coalinga
451 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Big Country Inn
22.5 mi away
Motel 6 Lemoore
Motel 6 Lemoore
#5 of 6 in Lemoore
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Travelodge Lemoore
Travelodge Lemoore
#4 of 6 in Lemoore
240 reviews
24.2 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Lemoore
24.5 mi away
Motel 6 Coalinga East
Motel 6 Coalinga East
#4 of 7 in Coalinga
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites
Address: 33410 Powers Dr, PO Box 539, Kettleman City, CA 93239-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Kettleman City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kettleman City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Kettleman City Inn & Suites! As the halfway point between Sacramento and Los Angeles, our Kettleman City hotel is a favorite for frequent travelers and road trippers. You’ll enjoy easy access to Interstate 5, an electric car charging station and a friendly atmosphere to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There’s RV and truck parking available in a gravel lot, plenty of space for your big rig or camping gear. Whether you’re simply passing through, need an extended stay or on an epic road trip, our property is designed with your comfort in mind. Business travelers especially enjoy the quick commutes our Kettleman City hotel makes possible. Oil and construction workers depend on us to be their home away from home, and our helpful staff is always available to help business travelers with their unique needs. Just because you’re in town for work doesn’t mean you can’t squeeze in some leisure time, too. With so many top destinations nearby, it’s easy to make the most of any trip. Our Kettleman City hotel also features honeymoon suites, hot tub suites and family room suites. Is a romantic getaway in order? How about a little extra space for families on their annual trip? We’re the only in and out hotel within 100 miles, and we are always pet friendly because we understand that your furry friend is a must on some trips. We’re also the only hotel within 60 miles with a pool and hot tub. Nothing’s better after a long day of work or adventure than a rejuvenating soak in a hot tub, as employees of PG&E®, one of our frequent business guests, know. Our property is also close to Avenal and Coalinga State Prison, and we welcome many travelers with business to take care of at these locations. Whether it’s a meeting, event or vacation that brings you to this part of gorgeous California, where you stay can make or break your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kettleman City Hotel Kettleman City
Kettleman City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing