We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking a turn for the worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kettleman City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've reviewed this hotel before, but I thought it important to say it is going down hill. We stayed here on a trip south, had reservations and checked in around 8:30pm. When we pulled in we noticed a large group of guys up on the second floor walkway. They were with a group that is working in the area (lots of pick ups w the company name on it). It was obvious they were "unwinding". When checking in we asked to not be put next to this (really loud and drinking) group. The hostess told us in a really snotty tone "Your room is right next to them They have a right to unwind. They've worked a long day. They have to be quiet by 10." I had to get testy and tell her we had a right to some peace and quiet and we weren't staying right next to them. She finally gave us a room on the other wing. I did email the chain and recommend they place crews near each other so they don't have to wander back and forth to "unwind". Grounds are dirty, tub was rusty and the breakfast room was filthy. We like this stopping distance and hope they get it together.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room was very quiet in spite of the motel's proximity to the freeway. I enjoyed a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed in a clean room. The free breakfast was ordinary, but that was good enough for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I hear people speak poorly of Kettleman City... well, there isn't much to see. But when I stop for business and stay at Best Western, it is like coming home. Staff is friendly, rooms are nice, clean, bed is comfy, and I like all the channels on tv. Internet isn't always so great, but it works.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DrSACM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

for a best western this is really nice. We stayed in a suite which was comparable to a holiday inn ex. New furnishings and fresh feel. Service was mediocre but this is a best western so we didnt have high expectations. The best in kettleman city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Driving from Palm Springs to Sacramento, Kettleman is a nice midway stop. The hotel is quiet and within easy walking distance of several restaurants and shops.

The pool and hot tub are small but welcome after a day of driving and no one else was using them.

AC was a bit noisy.

We felt the hotel was a bit pricey at $107.90.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIVERSTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were looking for a hotel along I-5 and this one fit our location. Clean well appointed. Glad we made advance reservations. There is no elevator so if you don't want stairs don't take the 2nd floor. It was fully packed but quite at night and a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Louise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Quick access off I 5, clean room,adequate breakfast, nice staff. Slept well. Had a little trouble with door handle, but staff got that opened, checked room for us and turned on a/c. Wall mount shampoos, soaps, so bring yours if you want something special. Refrigerator, microwave in room. All worked well. Felt safe with family here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettleman City
24 mi away
Harris Ranch Inn
Harris Ranch Inn
#1 of 7 in Coalinga
510 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Big Country Inn
22.5 mi away
Motel 6 Lemoore
Motel 6 Lemoore
#6 of 6 in Lemoore
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Lemoore
24.5 mi away
Motel 6 Coalinga East
Motel 6 Coalinga East
#3 of 7 in Coalinga
87 reviews
24.5 mi away
Laura Lodge
Laura Lodge
#4 of 7 in Coalinga
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites

Address: 33410 Powers Dr, PO Box 539, Kettleman City, CA 93239-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Kettleman City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kettleman City
Price Range: £80 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Kettleman City Inn & Suites! As the halfway point between Sacramento and Los Angeles, our Kettleman City hotel is a favorite for frequent travelers and road trippers. You’ll enjoy easy access to Interstate 5, an electric car charging station and a friendly atmosphere to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There’s RV and truck parking available in a gravel lot, plenty of space for your big rig or camping gear. Whether you’re simply passing through, need an extended stay or on an epic road trip, our property is designed with your comfort in mind. Business travelers especially enjoy the quick commutes our Kettleman City hotel makes possible. Oil and construction workers depend on us to be their home away from home, and our helpful staff is always available to help business travelers with their unique needs. Just because you’re in town for work doesn’t mean you can’t squeeze in some leisure time, too. With so many top destinations nearby, it’s easy to make the most of any trip. Our Kettleman City hotel also features honeymoon suites, hot tub suites and family room suites. Is a romantic getaway in order? How about a little extra space for families on their annual trip? We’re the only in and out hotel within 100 miles, and we are always pet friendly because we understand that your furry friend is a must on some trips. We’re also the only hotel within 60 miles with a pool and hot tub. Nothing’s better after a long day of work or adventure than a rejuvenating soak in a hot tub, as employees of PG&E®, one of our frequent business guests, know. Our property is also close to Avenal and Coalinga State Prison, and we welcome many travelers with business to take care of at these locations. Whether it’s a meeting, event or vacation that brings you to this part of gorgeous California, where you stay can make or break your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Kettleman City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kettleman City Hotel Kettleman City
Kettleman City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing