We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort? Hmmm...”
Review of Beach Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Club Resort
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Resort? Hmmm...”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The staff are pleasant enough and the buffet is decent, but the place has issues:

- Broken stuff: mounted soap dispenser fell apart in my hands, TV remote also disintegrated, towel rack almost falling out of wall
-Fluorescent bulb from 1970s was painful to eyes
- NO WATER when we woke up. By the time we were leaving, it did return but too late.
- Finally on checkout, credit card machine down and had to scramble for last minute cash.

Anyways, apologetic concierge did his best and was very kind, but for 35/night you can do better.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    141
    76
    20
    20
See reviews for
36
159
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just a block back from the beach and what Sihanoukville is.

Looked like a good pool in the brochure and it was.

The original rooms on the second floor....pay the extra and get the rooms by the pool. There is no real view upstairs that you will miss to get the convenience of a poolside room.

Front desk staff are hit and miss and were fairly staunch for low season when we were negotiating a better room and or rate. Nonetheless, one smart guy saw the reasoning and we secured a poolside room, which were larger, better appointed and an outside lounging area, which made for a much more pleasant stay.

The buffet breakfast is really good!

Pretty centrally located out of the noise of the bars on the beach.

There is a restaurant on the left as you exit the Beach Club and the second along, a young couple doing fresh seafood. Excellent cooks and delightful cuisine! Must try the barbecued scollop's for $4!

Unfortunately a tall concrete building next door with workman looking over the pool area was daunting, but moving forward after construction, there are very few balconies and or windows on that side of the building to adversely affect the Beach Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carey380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked a standard room for $25 per night not including breakfast. Our air conditioner wasn't very powerful and it started leaking lots of water. Eventually it started squirting water and making loud noises, so we had to turn it off. Luckily, there was a decent fan above the bed. We found a giant cockroach in the bathroom. The shower, while warm, had almost no pressure and we could not adjust the showerhead because it was broken. The breakfast buffet isn't worth $5.50 - you can get better breakfast down the street at the French Cafe for $2.50. The free wifi was good, though. The pool looked nice, but we didn't get a chance to use it due to the rain. The front desk staff was helpful in booking us an overnight bus to our next destination. They also allowed us to check out an hour late, as we weren't leaving Sihanoukville until 8pm that day.

Room Tip: We were in room 202 - it's a standard for $25. The AC leaked and eventually squirted water and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMWBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had the pleasure of being a guest at this hotel for 8 days in April, it was probably one of the best hotels I've been to in a long time, very sensitive people at the front desk and everyone was committed to my stay would be successful.
A nice breakfast was incl, and a nice pool room at reasonable price made ​​my stay there for a wonderful experience that is also only 400-500 meters to the beach.
Definitely coming back. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The price for the rooms are really hi for cambodia and for what u get. Rooms are plain. Best location do lots of restaurants around and not far from the beach only around 200-300m. Food in hotel is oki.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

After leaving Koh Rong a night early we had to find a place to stay in ShianoukVille at short notice. We looked up the reviews and lucky for us we decided to give the beach club hotel a go.

The reception staff were extremely welcoming and after a bit of confusion (we accidentally booked a night in November) we were shown to our room. The room itself was very basic and a bit dated. Two beds, a TV and bathroom.

The bottom level, which is where we stayed opened right out onto the swimming pool and entertaining area. The pool is big with plenty of room and lots of sun beds surround it.

Our clothes were in definite need of some cleaning and to our amazement they had them back to us within 3hrs.

We spent the afternoon playing pool and drinking 2-4-1 cocktails at the bar.

They have must have been reading some of the comments on TA as the breakfast buffet was great. There's an egg chef who makes your eggs to order and the rest of the food is exactly what you'd expect.

The hotel is within walking distance to the beach but far enough away that you don't hear any of the going ons during the night.

The beach club hotel isn't the fanciest hotel in ShianoukVille but it has everything you need for a short term or long term stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have sampled the Beach Club Hotel’s Breakfast Buffet two times in the last 6 years and both times I found it disappointing. The first time was in 2008 and the second was in January this year. The ubiquitous problem with any buffet anywhere is how to keep the brekkie choices warm without turning them into neoprene rubber.
It is the classic buffet conundrum. Especially in breakfast buffets that naturally have several egg dishes like omelets, pouched, scrambled, sunny-side up and over-easy variations for the discerning client.
It can’t be done - it’s impossible. Simply and succinctly put eggs need to be cooked fresh as needed. Which means any buffet worth its salt has to have an egg chef manning the buffet table cooking up eggs per request. Anything less is inadequate.
Both times I dined there, Beach Club went the steam table route, effectively turning their egg dishes into a kind of nondescript rubbery substance sans much flavor at all. Likewise for the pancakes and shriveled up sausages.
Sure the owner Lone is adorable, (now former owner) and she is something of an icon in the Sihanoukville expat community but truth be told the breakfast buffet was substandard.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#16 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#20 of 73 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
OC Boutique Hotel
OC Boutique Hotel
#28 of 73 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Resort

Property: Beach Club Resort
Address: 23rd Tola Street | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 20000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sihanoukville
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Club Resort, Sihanoukville is a boutique hotel and just minutes walk from Ochheuteal Beach. All rooms are fully equipped with all amenities including Air Con, En Suite bathroom with hot water, cable TV, fridge with mini bar and in room safe. The Restaurant has an excellent Western & Asian menu whilst the well stocked Bar also has free wi-fi internet. The swimming pool also features a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Hotel Sihanoukville
Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Beach Resort Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing