We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somehow we couldn't leave”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aquarium Bungalows & Restaurant
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed at Aquarium for a total of 10 nights, broken with a trip to Lazy Beach.The staff are welcoming, the food delicious and fresh, the drinks cold and the location relaxing, so if the rooms were a bit run down, we didn't mind at all.

Set at the quiet end of Sihanoukville's party beach means you are within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants without being disturbed by the noise all night. The Aquarium fronts right up to the sea, so it was barely 10 metres from our room to the water, with only the restaurant in between. There's a sliver of beach but the raised platform that runs along the front of the restaurant, with low tables, floor mats and cushions, makes it a very comfortable place to while away a big chunk of the day.

A lick of paint and some basic maintenance to the rooms would make this place perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EldestOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2011

First perceptions can be deceiving. We went to book the previous day and we thought we were booking into a lovely beach side bungalow, however when we checked in 12 hours later the area had turned into a building site. The bar/restaurant area was covered in rubble and trees, so obviously was closed and we had to clamber over building materials just to get to our bungalow.
In the bungalow itself, the door did not close properly and had holes in the walls, by the doors, windows and aircon vents and when we sat on the bed it broke. There were mosquito nets over the beds which were definitely needed but they did have holes in. The shower was just simply a dribble and impossible to wash in.
The staff were of no help at all and just said the word yes to every question asked without comprehension. We were kept awake at night by wildlife (at one point we had to shout out the window until someone came as there was a foot long lizard in a gap by the door) and woken at 7am by building works.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suprisedfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This place was just what we needed during our trip through Cambodia. After staying in town at Beach Road Hotel this place had everything our first place did not: ocean views, breakfast included, great internet, friendly staff, tranquility. We kept extending our stay because of how much we loved it. Best deal in town and the friendliest staff. Were sad to leave but look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillBelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

i stayed here a while back, had an serious emergency due to a girlfriends illness in London but couldnt get back. Was in limbo for a week or so. The guys at the bungalows were very friendly and helped me thru a hard time. Beers in the evening and good chats. The location is ideal, good for a relaxing evening but close enough for the other bars etc. the room was comfortable and had a view. food was good and everyone relaxed and friendly. I looked at other places and found this to be the best by far.
thanks Norm and Gordy etc. good times.

Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
1  Thank MattEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This was the worst place I've stayed in a year travelling South East Asia. The Cambodian staff were fine but the British/Irish managers were drunk all day and aggressively unhelpful. The room was filthy, blood from the previous occupant's mosquito bites stained the grubby sheets of the damp lumpy bed. In a Malarial prone area the room was open to bugs and the net over the bed full of holes. For this quality I'd expect to be paying around $5 a night, but this flea pit was $45. I've never been so happy to leave anywhere in my life.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMissS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

The Aquarium contains a great bunch of bungalows overlooking Serendipity Beach and the Gulf of Thailand. The views from the private verandas were simply breath taking, and the breeze off the ocean was equally refreshing. the Staff is great and the bar at night is a perfect place for a few drinks. Norm is always a great host. My only regret is that I did not have time to stay longer. I can without hesitation recommend this place to anyone and everyone...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sterno2_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We had originally reserved at Coaster's, but when we got there, they told us that they had no rooms for the price they quoted us over the phone, but that it was no problem, because they could give us a room at the property next door called the Aquarium for the same price. It was a problem, because the room was way up the hill with no ocean view which was important to us. Not only that, but the room was a dump with hard foam mattresses that killed our backs, a bare lightbulb hanging by a cord from the ceiling, and the hot water shower didn't work. And it was noisy with a capital N. Avoid this place like the plague, which you might getif you stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank wanderinggal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 75 in Sihanoukville
658 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
731 reviews
6.7 mi away
Golden River Bungalows
Golden River Bungalows
#64 of 237 in Sihanoukville
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#23 of 75 in Sihanoukville
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium Bungalows & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium Bungalows & Restaurant

Address: Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £19 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Aquarium Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing