We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find better”
Review of Sunday Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunday Guest House
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have spent three night in this guest house together with my friend in a twin room. After spending weeks in a hostels I found it reasonable to pay 15 USD for a twin room with our own bathroom. Beds were quite comfortable but seems like the cleaning service does not work there at all. We have arrived Thursday and till Sunday nobody took the trash out (a bit disguisting considering the fact you have to throw all the used toilet paper in the bin) and we had to ask for extra towels and toilet paper. The staff is extremely unfriendly and the only thing they care about is if you pay now. Located about 12 minutes walk from the beach which I found quite far.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerezaCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights and while it was cheap it wasn't good. Firstly the tv couldn't be plugged into the wall, there was no bed sheets just a fleece blanket which it was way too hot for (especially after our air con started dripping down the wall and turned itself off). Tried to get some sheets but the staff could not speak english and gave us a fitted under sheet to sleep with. They do provide a free tooth brush and soap in the bathroom and weirdly an old used and dusty comb. In the bathroom there was a big hole cut in the ceiling so tons of mosquitos were flooding into the room and there was a strange pipe coming down our wall leadin into a drain that was separate to all other plumbing in the room which was also weird. The staff aren't much use here and the lobby is often left unattended so security is pretty bad. We woke up on our second morning to the sound of people trying to get into our room which turned out to be a man with a bunch of teenagers going door to door seeing if they could get into peoples rooms. We went down to the lobbyto report this but nobody was there just a bunch of tv's that were getting repaired and a half empty whiskey bottle by the fish pond. I'd look elsewhere as im sure you'd find somewhere else safer for the same price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Myself and my partner booked this hotel as part of a group. There was 6 of us, 3 couples. We all booked the same type of room, standard doubles. Each room, although billed the same, were of varying quality, ranging from badito worse.

There were holes in the wall in our room, the bed linen and towels were shabby and old, the room was full of mosquitos when we arrived, the drain in the bathroom didnt work so we had to wade through a massive puddle for hours after we showered. No bedsheets only musty old blankets, non of the rooms were cleaned, or toilet paper replaced, or given new towels.

Our friends rooms were worse. One had a bathroom door that didnt close, the othere had a bathroom door with a massive hole in it, plugs didnt work, aircon stoped working and leaked all down the walls. One morning we had people tryingito get into all of our rooms, not staff, security is obviously an issue.

These things were all made worse by the face that the staff were unhelpful, unfriendly and often not even attending the reception, as we had to search fir 10 minutes for staff in order to check out.

I would not recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived during the day and they took us to our room in the older building. There was 4 of us so they had 4 double beds pushed together so it was like a giant slumber party. Our air conditioning didn't work at first but they got someone to come fix it. There was someone else's sandals and comb in our room and when we mentioned it, they just seemed to laugh it off. It definitely seems like the family just lives there. They don't have a restaurant or anything here. The bathroom had a horrible smell coming from it so they had opened the window before we got there which let bugs in. We couldn't close the bathroom door because then when you walked it, youd have to hold your breath because it was so bad. There was only one person who we could talk to that spoke English and when we asked to extend our stay they just said it was okay without checking anything out which was weird but it all worked out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in this place 1 night and then moved on. We stayed in the new wing which is apparently better than old but apparently not. The room was not clean, ants and cockroaches running around. wifi on and off, and few mosquitos. Also the staff cannot speak any basic English. The location is ok. There are better places around for same price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The reception feels almost like the staff's home. They sleep in the couch watching TV there, don't answer the phone, don't speak english very weel (only one of them), but if you ask specific things, they help you or call someone who can help you better. LOTS of mosquitos in the reception!! Not in the rooms though! But if you go down to use the wi-fi (which is not very good in the room), you should put mosquitos repelents before... In 10 to 15minutes walk you can reach restaurants, commerce in general and Serendipity beach, which is awsome!! We stayed in a triple room. There were 3 single beds side by side together. The room was clean, the bathroom similar to the most commom in Asia, toilet and shower together so if you take a shower, the whole bathroom is wet, including the toilet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoureiroCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by (presumably the owner) the only person who could speak english well. Friendly and helpful.

He situated us in the building which you check into on the ground floor room 'G02' which he told us was just our room for the night, tomorrow he will move us to the floor above. This room was horrible, a bit like a holding pen, quite a small room for 3 people with loads of Mosquitos, ants on the window sill and the fowlest smell in the toilet which became so unbearable we had to go and complain. They then came into the room and pumped the toilet however the smell got no better, we made sure that we were moved to the new block tomorrow as I mentioned I requested the new block on Agoda as I had seen reviews on tripadvisor mentioning this.

The new room was great, nice and spacious, marble floors, vey clean bathroom one of the largest I've had in Cambodia so this all kind of made up for the bad room the night before. It also had nice and strong air conditioning.

Towels are available only on request which if you ask anyone else but the manager then no one will understand a word your saying. In fact we spoke to the staff quite a few times and they blanked us as they didn't understand.

The wifi is only available in the lobby and can be a bit temperamental.

The hotel is about a 7 minute walk to serendipity beach and some really nice bars and restaurants. It was nice to be out of the way but yet not to far.

I would definitely stay again as long as I am located in the new block as it's a good location.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xtashadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Sand Hotel
Golden Sand Hotel
#64 of 80 in Sihanoukville
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Road Hotel
Beach Road Hotel
#59 of 80 in Sihanoukville
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#14 of 80 in Sihanoukville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#19 of 80 in Sihanoukville
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
#52 of 80 in Sihanoukville
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 80 in Sihanoukville
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday Guest House

Address: No 16 Street Sereypheap | Sangkat 4, Khan Mittaphea, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £5 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunday Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing