We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coolabah Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sahaa Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sokha Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamu Hotel(Sihanoukville)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beach Club Resort(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
US$26
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Bosco Hotel School(Sihanoukville)
US$27
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tamarind(Sihanoukville)
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legacy Hotel & Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
222
239
104
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
239
104
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsserendipity beachsmall poolnice hotelclean roomscentral locationgreat roomtuk tukphnom penhmain beachhot waterrestaurants and barsbeachesnightlifelaundrykhmerasiaotres
Filter
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We took this hotel, because good TripAdvisor evaluations.Have paid a suite,got not it.After hard discussion with Aussie owner got the only suite smelling like toilet,having mold and discomusic came the all nights througt bedroomwindow,We took for the rest of our trip on the same Sreet the White Beach Hotel, it was nice with Buffet Breakfest incl.
White Beach hotel saved our visit to Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EERO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronaSihanoukville, Owner at Coolabah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2011

Dear Mr Eero.We are extremely sorry that your stay with us was so disappointing. I am the áussie owner’ and regretfully was in Australia during your stay. Please let me verify this as you booked the suite though asked for separate beds for your wife and you. Unfortunately the suite only has a king double so we put and extra bed (not a fold-up one but a proper bed) in our balcony room as this is a more spacious room for an extra bed and is the same price as the suite. We in fact reserved the suite for you as well in case you didn’t like this option – it was not a case of the suite not being available. We were happy to put the extra bed in the lounge area of the suite the next day for you. I regret not being here to help compensate for your troubles but pleased you found a more suitable option for your needs. Please accept our apologies and we have instructed the booking agent to refund your first night’s stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Pros:
Location and great shower. Water was always hot and great water pressure.
Friendly staff. Great AC. Personally, I didn't like Oocheateal beach. A bit sleazy, but seems to be the most popular and nightlife. We preferred to have dinner at Serendity beach. Also, spend a day at Otres beach. The Cambodian staff recommended it to us, and it was beautiful, very relaxing. Thank you!

Cons:
Very noisy at night. One night, there was a party by the pool, the group sang until 3AM. The 2nd night was much better, but still had some noise from the street. Asking for one of the rooms away from the pool/street might help a bit.

Dirty sheets. I understand Cambodia is a developing country, but it was disgusting to find our sheets stained (even if they had been washed and are clean). It wasn't just a little stained, it was stained very badly. For a western hotel, it was unacceptable. We stayed at other hotels in Cambodia, and we never encountered sheets like this.

The breakfast (included) was at best, so-so.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lea_bm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We had book a 4 nights stay at Coolabah after reading the reviews but we were quite disappointed when we realized it was more a motel on a busy street than an hotel. This was our relaxation/beach break after touring Cambodia and before heading to Laos so we were ready for a nice hotel were we could just unwind for few days. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly staff and the room they give us on the 2nd floor was small - just enough space to go around the bed, there is only one window overlooking the public balcony/hallway so we couldn't leave the curtains open. Our first night was quite short since the Bar/Club/Guesthouse Utopia is next door and they play very loud music all night - I am not a light sleeper but I felt I was right in the middle of Utopia.
The next morning we had breakfast which was delicious but you almost eat on the street since there is no fence or edge from a very busy road. We spoke with Verona, the owner and she understood our disapointment and lack of sleep and told us that one of the bigger room was available in 2 days but it would be as noisy so we declined. Verona was very nice in helping us with a reservation at the Hotel La Reserve next to Victory Beach. For the same price as Coolabah ($45) we had a big room with a large balcony where we could watch the sunset every evening. And we did go to Utopia few days later but we could also get a good night sleep upon our return at La Reserve.

Louise
Canada

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise_in_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Coolabah is a basic clean and comfortable hotel which has very friendly staff. It's located in the Serendipity beach area which is popular with backpackers. Unfortunately the beach area is also popular with an abundance of beggars. This quickly leads to beggar fatigue. My advice is to take a Tuk Tuk for $3 to the public bit of Sokha beach where we were undisturbed. 
Large choice of food which was ok and reasonably priced. 
Sihanoukville itself is a cheaper end of the market location but if your intent on coming, then Coolabah is recommended as a decent option to stay. 

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplesimon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stayed here after a week long 1200km dirtbike ride around Cambodia. Two of us arrived aching, tired, hot and thirsty. A member of staff bought us each a beer whilst we checked in, by far the friendliest welcome I've ever had at a hotel! The room was cool, clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and in the main very good at their jobs and the pool and bar areas were relaxing easy places to hang out. Centrally located but quiet, the Coolabah should be high on the list for any mid-budget traveller. Excellent value and highly recommended. They do a great cooked breakfast too, if noodles won't cut it first thing in the morning...

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews